We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”
Review of Ray of Maya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ray of Maya Hotel
Ranked #7 of 202 Agra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The Ray of Maya Hotel – a hidden gem – as you pick your way over the dusty scrub land you do wonder what you have got yourself into but once inside this modern, clean, friendly place your fears disappear. Our room is fantastic, a good size, extremely clean, tastefully decorated, comfortable bed and pillows. The bathroom is a good size, extremely clean, a hot powerful shower. The staff speak great English and are very friendly and helpful. The free pickup is handy. The hotel owns the restaurant over the road and the food is tasty, hot and a good price. We could not get our laptop on the wifi but I think it was our fault not the hotels. We would recommend this hotel and will come back one February, as it is now December and we could not see our hands in front of our faces let alone the Taj Mahal – so foggy!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    159
    50
    13
    4
See reviews for
39
167
48
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Varna
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

OK, you want to tick the box and see the Taj and then get out of Agra by the quickest route possible. While you're there though, the Ray of Maya will provide you with a clean, comfortable room (superb beds), a nice modern bathroom with plenty of hot water and pleasant staff. If you're looking for a fancy reception and restaurant, you won't find it here, but if you want a great room for your buck within spitting distance of the Taj, this will do you just fine.
The friendly chai stall outside makes excellent tea and even milk coffee if you ask them nicely and the Maya restaurant (attached to the Maya hotel - more basic than 'Ray of' )across the road does quite adequate food.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lunghiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Our stay was just perfect. Very nice room with western shower (shower is separated from the rest of the bathroom). We had a little balcony with sight of the Taj Mahal. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. And for the first time we could calm down and relaxe.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siesta_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had a very pleasant three days here. Starting with free pick up from train station and very helpful guide who arranged a trip to Fatehpur Sikri at a reasonable rate in good air con car. Hotel is modern, rooms clean and bed comfy. Lots of nice cushions in room. Free toiletries. The staff ar e very helpful and it's professionally run. Some may not like the approach to the hotel down a short dirt track but the advantage is that it's set back from the road so very quiet at night. Good food at Hotel Maya across the road (sister hotel). Views of Taj from the roof and easy to walk to Taj hence avoiding rickshaw costs.

Room Tip: A room at the front for taj view. A room at the back for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geertruidenberg, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

What a fantastic place!
We were really surprised to have such a nice experience in touristic Agra.
The rooms in hotel Ray of Maya are very clean, comparable to western standards. Next, the rooms are spacious, nicely designed and comfortable, with a big shower with nice hot water and lots of towels!
The staff of the hotel is friendly and not in a fake way, they really care about your stay!!! When we ordered some hot water for tea and coffee, they also brought us new towels and toilet paper, in case we would need that also. And when we got a room with a toilet without a toilet seat, they changed the room immediately the next morning.
The hotel is located close to the west gate of Taj Mahal and has good laundry service. Be prepared that the free taxi will offer you trips in Agra, but it's not obligatory.

Room Tip: Room 4 is nice for those who like purple and room 7 if you like green :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IreneNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed in the hotel that is newly renovated, at the back of other buildings off the main street, across from the main hotel. The hotel had great communication through email before we arrived and were very helpful setting us up with a guide. However after our trip to the Taj all of a sudden there was an extra cost and it was all very shady as to who was involved (our guide? the driver? the front desk guy? the hotel manager?). We ended up getting out of the cost because we argued until they dropped it. The hotel manager came over and apologized for the situation but also seemed to be involved with the situation. The rooms were very nice, the rooftop restaurant across the street was nice and had great food, but the service at the front desk of our hotel made us feel cheated. Just be sure what costs are involved before bookign anything through the hotel (transportation, guide, entrance fees and any other extras!)

Room Tip: Be sure to inquire about all extra costs before booking an tours with them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kailey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Though, it may not be in the best of the localities, its proximity to the Taj is great. From the outside it may look best, but once inside the hotel, its great with clean & comfortable rooms. Also provides wi-fi.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sri20198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#31 of 143 in Agra
479 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 143 in Agra
1,563 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#19 of 143 in Agra
621 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ray of Maya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray of Maya Hotel

Property: Ray of Maya Hotel
Address: Fatehabad Road | Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ray of Maya Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have opposite 2 restaurants at our second property Maya Hotel& Restaurant: One A/C and one roof terrace restaurant. We do have stairs. We do have at Ray of Maya Property: 2 suite rooms: one super deluxe suite with a steam bath cabin and balcony 3200-INR, one super deluxe suite with a steam bath and balcony 4000-INR. We do allow pets and love children. We have limited parking space in front of hotel. We offer airport and railway pick up/drop service. Hotel has free high speed WiFi. At request we serve your meals and orders at your room or on our roof terrace with view of Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ray of Maya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing