We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New but average hotel, located in a trash dump area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Retreat
Ranked #30 of 146 Hotels in Agra
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“New but average hotel, located in a trash dump area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

When you look at the hotel by itself, it reminds you of a european style business hotel that you normally would find near an airport. Fine lines, dim lighting, color and decor being very modern and neutral. Rooms are comfortable. Everything is new so no damage. TV is hard to figure out. Internet access is only given for 2 hours then you have to ask them again. Breakfast is OK. Food prices for lunch/dinner are high. Service is slow. But overall, they accommodated all of our requests.

However, the street the hotel is located on is a slum. There is trash everywhere, with donkeys, pigs, cows...poor people right across the hotel in their tiny huts. No street lights so if it gets dark, probably not safe to walk there. Close to east gate of Taj mahal and the Mall, but nothing else. If they clean up that street/area, this hotel should be a good four-star...but for now, a 3-star is about right considering everything.

Room Tip: Choose high floor to be away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amitgupta2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    282
    146
    52
    26
See reviews for
205
223
43
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Lovely comfortable rooms, good WiFi, very good restaurant. Lovely modern hotel close to Taj without being in the hustle and bustle of Agra itself. Great service and really first class value for money. It looks to good to be true but photos are all accurate and it was a pleasure to stay there.
I would stay again without hesitation. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shadowmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
115 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

All in all it is just a very much average hotel. To european standards it is a 2.5 stars hotel, not more. Yes, it is relatively new and they gave me the quiet room I requested for. But that's it. There are too many cons:

- very far outside city center (about 5 km), not within walking distance at all
- very dirty environment (be prepared to stay in a garbage dump)
- looks not really very much safe at night, especially for female travellers
- Reception not really friendly, sometimes even rude
- Staff not at all helpful for travel arrangements (the did not reply to my mals, the did not really help me for getting my train tickets confirmed, they just seemed to be interested to sell their private cab to Jaipur.)
- rooms are not really properly cleaned
- tv to tricky (and didn't work at all the last day)
- magnet key card didn't work so had to go to the reception very often
- very poor breakfast (but restaurant in the evening was good)
- wifi is a bad joke - you get only passwords at the reception for two hours internet access. After two hours you have to go there again for getting a new one. If you stay for two days (what i did) you have to show up at the reception 24 times.
- no hair dryer
- perpetual noise day and night (not that much from the street, more from the hotel itself - pumps, aircondition, lift, whatever...) even if you switch off your AC you should be prepared to sleep with ear plugs only. In this hotel you feel like in the engine machine of a ship.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank netsrac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

The stay at the hotel was Great. Must visit. Very convinient .......... in the centre of the city ............. very close to the TAJ ........... the rooms are very comfortable ......... the food in the restaurant is an icing over a cake on the overall package. Must Visit.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms are good with no noise around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddhartha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Our stay was very comfortable . The hotel is newly built . Good rooms , nice lobby , great staff and excellent food ! We preferred to eat in the hotel restaurant more than any other upscale restaurants in the market . Quite close to Taj Mahal , so saves a bit of travelling time .
Fee wifi and clean swimming pool was the icing on the cake .
Overall ... great value for money ... I would stay at the same place during future visits .
Highly recommended .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shafalimittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

The stay at the hotel was very comfortable.The staff of the hotel was very helpful and the food was good..It wasvery near to the taj mahal and also away from the hustle and bustle of the city...Pool was always clean and inviting.Overfall i give five stars for the hotel....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank triptinewdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

The hotel is very nice, in a very good position close to Taj Mahal (there is nothing else in the sourronding, but for sure it’s better to be ourside of the mess of Agra city center). The breakfast buffet is very good. The air conditioning was set at 17 degrees when we arrived and we had to ask 3 times before getting it fixed. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matteo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 146 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Taj Vilas
Hotel The Taj Vilas
#18 of 146 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taj Villa
Taj Villa
#22 of 146 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#21 of 146 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
1.1 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
2.6 mi away
Hotel Alleviate
Hotel Alleviate
#26 of 146 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Property: The Retreat
Address: Taj Nagari Phase -1 | Near Prateek Enclave, Shilpgram Road, Agra 282 001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 146 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing