We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice modern hotel but bad surroundings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Retreat
Ranked #30 of 146 Hotels in Agra
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice modern hotel but bad surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a day and a half (March 29, 2013). Rooms are modern, equipped with flat screens, clean, and you have a free wi-fi service. The breakfast is rich and the restaurant food is very good.
However - the street where the hotel is located is dusty, no side walk and it looks like a slam.
If you have a car/dreiver/taki that will take you to/from the hotel, i.e. that you don't have to walk in the street or the near-by streets - I would recommend it.
For kids - there is a swimming pool...
Also - the hotel staff is very friendly, helpful and nice!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    278
    142
    50
    26
See reviews for
201
218
43
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Staff friendliness was second to none. Travelled with a group ranging from my 98year old father to my 3month old baby with children in between too. The hotel staff ensured our stay was as comfortable as possible by going out of their way to help us. They also assisted with finding a booking local attractions.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mutiullah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

A family holiday thoroughly enjoyed. Stayed at the hotel for 1 night. The superior rooms are big and nice. The wash-rooms are spacious with good toiletries. Room service was fast and good. Staff was smiling and always willing to help. The 2 best things about the hotel for us were A) Near to Taj and B) It had a pool which the kids enjoyed a lot. Hotel's location is not the best but if you have a transport then KFC, Pizza Hut, etc are nearby (not more than 10 mins drive). I definitely recommend this hotel for families, friends and couples. Will definitely stay if i go back again to Agra.

Room Tip: Take the superior rooms as they are good size rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harsh_Mathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

A really nice hotel.
It was quite cold in Agra on an evening but we were able to crank up the air conditioning to get the room lovely and cosy. Very comfortable bed.
Fast free wifi available all of the time. A safe in the wardrobe.
Breakfast was hot Indian food plus some western options such as eggs to order, grilled tomatoes etc. also fruit, cereal, toast etc.
Free newspaper delivered to our door.
View from the room is directly into a construction site so you need to keep the curtains closed all of the time unless you want workmen looking into your room.
We paid approx £50 which we thought was a fair price for the standard of the hotel. It is billed at 4 star which in India I would agree is an accurate rating.
We were up very early one morning to see the Taj Mahal at sunrise. There was no hot water but to be fair we phoned reception and within 10 minutes or so there was hot water available for our shower.
Tips for the Taj Mahal
You need to purchase your ticket from the ticket office which is around 1km from the Taj Mahal. You then have an option of walking (15 to 20 mins) or taking a cycle rickshaw part of the way.
Tickets are 750 rupees, once you have this you go to the desk opposite and get covers for your shoes (for going inside the mausoleum) and a bottle of water.
There will be a queue to get in. Best time to go is sunrise and you do get the chance to take pictures without too many people in the way.
Taj was great, we really loved it and the pictures we took were amazing.
We also went at sunset to look at the back side of the Taj. You can pay 100 rupees to view from a certain area but keep going straight for about 400m and you get a brilliant view totally free.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NMnortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile


This trip to Tajmahal was long pending and I finally made my plan accompanied by my husband and my 2 year old toddler. I was anxious on the way to hotel and thankfully it was a pleasant surprise. Everything from the reception area, lobby and the room were above expectation and nicely done up. The rooms were spacious, pool was very clean,staff was courteous and food was excellent. Chef took special care of the food as we asked him to keep the little girl in mind and they even served Khichdi for the kid - last i want a health trouble for my kid to ruin our vacation. My choice of visiting Tajmahal was slight off time as its a bit tough spending longer hours in Tajmahal in such a scorching heat, though proximity of hotel was a great relief. The only thing I didn't liked was the approach and nearby area. In totality, it was a great value for money and I suggest one should try their vegetable sandwich:-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pallave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Good location in Agra - quite close to the Taj. Quite a big hotel - rooms are quite good. Found the front desk to be very friendly but delivery was a bit lacking - we had to remind them several times that we were waiting for bags in and out of storage. I guess most people would be in Agra primarily for the the Taj, and it is well suited for that....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 247Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Well, after all the negative feedback I would like to say how much we enjoyed staying at the Retreat. At first it looked a bit odd - like a modern spaceship that had just landed, as the surroundings are nothing like it. However, once welcomed inside we found it was really
comfortable and everything was to a very high standard. We liked the location - never before had I seen donkeys trotting along outside a hotel - and very near Taj Mahal. The dining room staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. The room was nice and the shower was brilliant. My only criticism would be that (like some other hotels) they miss the opportunity to celebrate India and where they are. The pictures in the rooms should show India! Lovely Indian music would be nice too. As tourists believe me we love all that stuff!! We can get inoffensive art and musak at home (yuk). We went to the Taj Mahal show and it was FAB, great value and we got a balloon and a photo with the stars!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#14 of 146 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taj Villa
Taj Villa
#23 of 146 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#20 of 146 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Taj Vilas
Hotel The Taj Vilas
#19 of 146 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Alleviate
Hotel Alleviate
#24 of 146 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.1 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Property: The Retreat
Address: Taj Nagari Phase -1 | Near Prateek Enclave, Shilpgram Road, Agra 282 001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 146 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing