We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of The Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Retreat
Ranked #26 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 3 June 2014

we were there in May-14. it was very good experieance. Staff is very courteous. food is perfect. it is WOW hotel. Mr Rajiv of reservation was good to deal. TAJ is also very near to such place. you can walk also.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manish s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards
The Retreat Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

The retreat offered a warm and pleasant stay in Agra. The staff was very courteous, the room had all amenities. Food was scrumptuous and the ambience was good. Slight concern was that although the door's latch lock was working but the chain was broken.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Carmin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards
The Retreat Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I visited this property and my 1st reaction was "WOW." I was taken away by the interiors for a hotel of this category. The employees were very warm and welcoming. A welcome drink to quench my thirst; (Isnt this facility in 5 star hotels?). I was clean bowled when I saw the room. It was spacious, comfortable, plug points strategically stationed such that I could use my laptop and charge the cellphone at the same time. This is the kind of place I will want to stay when I come for business trips.

The washrooms were big, neat and clean. Did have minor plumbing issues, but got rectified and can be ignored. The room service was prompt, and catered to all the requirements.

The Swimming pool area was fantastic with the Pool Bar in the corner... (Not seen this concept in many hotels)

Free WI FI is always a bonus. The food was simply delicious specially the baked kababs.... Im surely staying in this hotel every time I come to work in Agra....

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same... just hop into any of those... (atleast the one's i stayed in...)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aimlad007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards
The Retreat Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed in March for two nights to visit the area and for my husbands 50th birthday. The hotel is lovely and pool area very clean, we spent an afternoon relaxing by the pool on our busy travels. The staff even laid on a special birthday celebration by the pool for our party, with a cake and flowers for my husband, they couldn't have made our stay more special! lovely room and food in the restaurant was very good, excellent breakfast choice and very good staff.
we were astounded by the rudeness of some of the guests to waiting on staff, totally unnecessary!
Top class hotel, would definatley stay again!! Idea for visiting the Taj Mahal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadinefiveacreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards
The Retreat Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Reached the hotel after a long, traffic filled drive from central Delhi. Very refreshing to be welcomed with cool drinks and the swimming pool. The attendant was only available until 7pm, however, so we didn't have that long in the pool, but it became dark anyway, No problems with the rooms, three in all. Very clean with nice bathrooms and big comfortable beds. We had a tasty, filling breakfast in the morning to set us up for a long day of sightseeing and then another long drive to Jaipur.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anybody who wants a base to explore Agra from.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMareblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards
The Retreat Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The accommodation was comfortable. The hotel is close to the Taj Mahal, which is the main reason we booked it. There wasn't much of a variety on the breakfast buffet and the available selections from the bakery were not fresh. However dinner was very good at the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badenhorst339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards
The Retreat Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I choose this hotel on 25th April checkin for two nights stay and travelled as a couple. Upon entering the hotel we have to help ourselves with the bags as there was no one available, however the Checkin experience was nice and made us feel welcoming. We have been escorted by the bell boy to our room #219. The room ambeince was nice and met our expectations. Room service food was really nice and delicious.

Coming upto the negative outlook.....

1. Wi-fi service horrible, really hard to feel connected to wifi.

2. Hotel staff use the guest lifts which is really not a sign of good hospitality.

3. Majorily the breakfast services and vareity was pathetic needs huge improvement no personalise services, no one to offer tea or coffee, we have to go by ourselves and ask even for a glass of water, cold chicken sausages, pancakes and coffee was terrible; we were there for around half n hour and no one asked for our feedback both the days.

Last to end it up i would like to thanks the front office executive can't remember the name who did asked for our feedback upon checkout but i only mentioned about wi-fi as i was not looking for service recovery but for good services.

Hope my review will make some difference to the services!!!!

Room Tip: Look for a room with view as we din't had one!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GB0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely sad & disheartened to acknowledge that you had a not-so-great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat Hotel. We thank you for your feedback and have made a note of the displeasure caused to you . But we assure you that we will leave no stone un-turned to ensure that all the guests who stay with us leave the hotel with pleasant memories to share back home. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends again for a memorable experience.

Wishing you & your family a pleasant & healthy life ahead !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.1 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 143 in Agra
1,612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#18 of 143 in Agra
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Taj Vilas
Hotel The Taj Vilas
#23 of 143 in Agra
463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Orient Taj
Orient Taj
#110 of 143 in Agra
1,504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taj Villa
Taj Villa
#29 of 143 in Agra
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Address: Taj Nagari Phase -1 | Prateek Enclave, Shilpgram Road Near Taj Mahal, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: £38 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing