We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of The Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Retreat
Ranked #27 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Hotel is neat, good and very spacious . Service is good. Staffs are very charming except few. Hotel is located in some interior place and even local taxis and auto drivers are not aware of this hotels location, its advisable to get proper landmark details before leaving. Food is very poor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GopinathVJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRetreatAgra, General Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Mr. Gopinath VJ


GREETINGS FROM HOTEL THE RETREAT- AGRA

Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel The Retreat Agra. At the outset, please accept our sincere thanks for taking time & writing your valuable feedback for us.
We are delighted that you chose to stay with us on your visit to Agra. Iam pleased to read that your expectations were mostly exceeded, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and services we endeavour to provide to our guests.
However, it is the attentive yet unobtrusive service of our dedicated team members which creates memories for our guests and I am glad that they were able to create memories to cherish during your stay at the hotel.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit & give us the opportunity to pamper you again with our services. I will be most delighted to share your feedback with all members of the team.

Thanking & Regards,
Manoj Sharma
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    289
    149
    52
    29
See reviews for
214
230
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I would not recommend The Retreat to anyone . The front desk has very bad service . They are very rude and have bad customer service . The sales Manager Rajiv Sharma is very nice and helpful.The room boys are very helpful. The restaurant in there has very bad food and service. The breakfast is ok. The rooms are big and the bathrooms are nice. But the air conditioner in the rooms are not cold enough and it drips water . Overall we had a very bad experience at this place and would never stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Veerapaneni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRetreatAgra, General Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sir,

GREETINGS FROM HOTEL THE RETREAT –AGRA

Thank you for taking time to post your comment on your recent stay at The Retreat .
It was indeed a pleasure to have you, We have always contributed our sincere efforts
in providing our best of the services to the guests. However, please accept our sincere
apology for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

We have noted your complains and taken your suggestions on a serious note. We assure you that an appropriate action would be taken so that on next visit you will have a better experience.

We sincerely hope that you will give us more opportunities to serve you in the future and
assure you of our personalized services and best attention.

We again regret for the inconvenience caused to you and thank you for bearing with us.
Looking forward to your next visit to our hotel.

Thanks & Regards,
Manoj Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

the hotel is right next to Tajmahal but a bit too far from city center. The hotel is not traditional in any which way, which is something that one might expect in a heritage city but is not bad at all. The rooms are spacious and clean and so is the overall property. Food is ok-- the flavors seemed to go haywire at times--but the breakfast buffet is good. The hotel also provides wi-fi services.

On the downside, the staff isn't very well trained- both at the restaurant and the front desk. The restaurant staff are not very well aware of the dishes that they serve. As for the front desk staff, I was issued the bill in incorrect name however they rectified it by sending me a soft copy of the bill.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nehaahlawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRetreatAgra, General Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Mam,

GREETINGS FROM HOTEL THE RETREAT –AGRA

Thank you for taking time to post your comment on your recent stay at The Retreat .
It was indeed a pleasure to have you, We have always contributed our sincere efforts
in providing our best of the services to the guests. However, please accept our sincere
apology for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

We have noted your complains and taken your suggestions on a serious note. We assure you that an appropriate action would be taken so that on next visit you will have a better experience.

We sincerely hope that you will give us more opportunities to serve you in the future and
assure you of our personalized services and best attention.

We again regret for the inconvenience caused to you and thank you for bearing with us.
Looking forward to your next visit to our hotel.

Thanks & Regards,
Manoj Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaca, Cyprus
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

although i stayed here only one night i thought it was a very good hotel for a 3star. the Indian food in the restaurant was one of the best i had in all of India and Nepal. clean good service and cheap

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yianoulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRetreatAgra, General Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Sir.


GREETINGS FROM HOTEL THE RETREAT- AGRA


Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel The Retreat Agra. At the outset, please accept our sincere thanks for taking time & writing your valuable feedback for us.

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us on your visit to Agra. Iam pleased to read that your expectations were mostly exceeded, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and services we endeavour to provide to our guests.

However, it is the attentive yet unobtrusive service of our dedicated team members which creates memories for our guests and I am glad that they were able to create memories to cherish during your stay at the hotel.

We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit & give us the opportunity to pamper you again with our services. I will be most delighted to share your feedback with all members of the team.


Thanking & Regards,
Manoj Sharma
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Booked here after reading the reviews.
it was worth the price, close to visit Taj mahal.
clean rooms and bath rooms with all amenities(free wifi). food was good.
Made the last day of our trip very memorable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeepaSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRetreatAgra, General Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Mr.


GREETINGS FROM HOTEL THE RETREAT- AGRA

Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel The Retreat Agra. At the outset, please accept our sincere thanks for taking time & writing your valuable feedback for us.
We are delighted that you chose to stay with us on your visit to Agra. Iam pleased to read that your expectations were mostly exceeded, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and services we endeavour to provide to our guests.
However, it is the attentive yet unobtrusive service of our dedicated team members which creates memories for our guests and I am glad that they were able to create memories to cherish during your stay at the hotel.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit & give us the opportunity to pamper you again with our services. I will be most delighted to share your feedback with all members of the team.

Thanking & Regards,
Manoj Sharma
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India, Asia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I booked rooms here after seeing lot of reviews n had lot of apprehensions since it was the last day of our long trip but all my apprehensions were windified n we had a great time. I would say this is worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nayangowda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRetreatAgra, General Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Mr.


GREETINGS FROM HOTEL THE RETREAT- AGRA

Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel The Retreat Agra. At the outset, please accept our sincere thanks for taking time & writing your valuable feedback for us.
We are delighted that you chose to stay with us on your visit to Agra. Iam pleased to read that your expectations were mostly exceeded, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and services we endeavour to provide to our guests.
However, it is the attentive yet unobtrusive service of our dedicated team members which creates memories for our guests and I am glad that they were able to create memories to cherish during your stay at the hotel.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit & give us the opportunity to pamper you again with our services. I will be most delighted to share your feedback with all members of the team.

Thanking & Regards,
Manoj Sharma
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Reasonable, clean safe and close to the Taj Mahal perfect for overnight stay. Rooms are modern and clean. Hotel provides breakfast and wifi. I will stay here next time for sure. It is not too far from Taj mahal.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chaitri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRetreatAgra, General Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Mr.


GREETINGS FROM HOTEL THE RETREAT- AGRA

Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel The Retreat Agra. At the outset, please accept our sincere thanks for taking time & writing your valuable feedback for us.
We are delighted that you chose to stay with us on your visit to Agra. Iam pleased to read that your expectations were mostly exceeded, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and services we endeavour to provide to our guests.
However, it is the attentive yet unobtrusive service of our dedicated team members which creates memories for our guests and I am glad that they were able to create memories to cherish during your stay at the hotel.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit & give us the opportunity to pamper you again with our services. I will be most delighted to share your feedback with all members of the team.

Thanking & Regards,
Manoj Sharma
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 145 in Agra
1,534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taj Villa
Taj Villa
#33 of 145 in Agra
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#19 of 145 in Agra
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Seven Hills Tower
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Taj Vilas
Hotel The Taj Vilas
#21 of 145 in Agra
444 reviews
1.1 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Property: The Retreat
Address: Taj Nagari Phase -1 | Near Prateek Enclave, Shilpgram Road, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing