We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of The Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Retreat
Ranked #24 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights.

The room was big and clean. The bed was very comfortable.
Staff was helpful. Wifi is free and available in the room.

However the restaurant was expensive for the quality...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRetreatAgra, General Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Sir,


GREETINGS FROM HOTEL THE RETREAT- AGRA

Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel The Retreat Agra. At the outset, please accept our sincere thanks for taking time & writing your valuable feedback for us.

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us on your visit to Agra. Iam pleased to read that your expectations were mostly exceeded, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and services we endeavour to provide to our guests.

However, it is the attentive yet unobtrusive service of our dedicated team members which creates memories for our guests and I am glad that they were able to create memories to cherish during your stay at the hotel.

We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit & give us the opportunity to pamper you again with our services. I will be most delighted to share your feedback with all members of the team.

Thanking & Regards,
Manoj Sharma
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    298
    153
    53
    30
See reviews for
231
238
46
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jaipur
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Hotel is neat and rooms are fully equipped with amenities but the service is really very bad, they are focussed only on revenue generation and do not consider the comfort and convenience of the in house guests, though they have a swimming pool but mostly its closed for the resident guests as they book it for private parties where local people from Agra come and party. The music played is so loud that the window glasses tremble and one cannot sleep. On repeated request they might consider your problem and address it. Room service is pathetic, we had to call for 6 times to get a change of dirty towels and toilet rolls.

Room Tip: stay as away as possible from the swimming pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaid007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRetreatAgra, General Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Sir,

GREETINGS FROM HOTEL THE RETREAT –AGRA

Thank you for taking time to post your comment on your recent stay at The Retreat .
It was indeed a pleasure to have you, We have always contributed our sincere efforts
in providing our best of the services to the guests.

However, please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. We have noted your complains and taken your suggestions on a serious note. We assure you that an appropriate action would be taken so that on next visit you will have a better experience.

We sincerely hope that you will give us more opportunities to serve you in the future and
assure you of our personalized services and best attention.

We again regret for the inconvenience caused to you and thank you for bearing with us.
Looking forward to your next visit to our hotel.

Thanks & Regards,
Manoj Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a good-average modern hotel in Agra: location is ok, room size was very good and the food was also very good. One of the best bathrooms and showers we've had in India. It is a good choice for 1-2 nights just to visit Taj Mahal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 33GGggb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRetreatAgra, General Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Ms. Gabriela,


GREETINGS FROM HOTEL THE RETREAT- AGRA

Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel The Retreat Agra. At the outset, please accept our sincere thanks for taking time & writing your valuable feedback for us.

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us on your visit to Agra. Iam pleased to read that your expectations were mostly exceeded, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and services we endeavour to provide to our guests.

However, it is the attentive yet unobtrusive service of our dedicated team members which creates memories for our guests and I am glad that they were able to create memories to cherish during your stay at the hotel.

We will make a improvement as by your suggestions & will assure you next time you will have good food with ecstatic taste .

We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit & give us the opportunity to pamper you again with our services. I will be most delighted to share your feedback with all members of the team.

Thanking & Regards,
Manoj Sharma
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Hotel is neat, good and very spacious . Service is good. Staffs are very charming except few. Hotel is located in some interior place and even local taxis and auto drivers are not aware of this hotels location, its advisable to get proper landmark details before leaving. Food is very poor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GopinathVJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRetreatAgra, General Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Mr. Gopinath VJ


GREETINGS FROM HOTEL THE RETREAT- AGRA

Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel The Retreat Agra. At the outset, please accept our sincere thanks for taking time & writing your valuable feedback for us.
We are delighted that you chose to stay with us on your visit to Agra. Iam pleased to read that your expectations were mostly exceeded, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and services we endeavour to provide to our guests.
However, it is the attentive yet unobtrusive service of our dedicated team members which creates memories for our guests and I am glad that they were able to create memories to cherish during your stay at the hotel.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit & give us the opportunity to pamper you again with our services. I will be most delighted to share your feedback with all members of the team.

Thanking & Regards,
Manoj Sharma
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I would not recommend The Retreat to anyone . The front desk has very bad service . They are very rude and have bad customer service . The sales Manager Rajiv Sharma is very nice and helpful.The room boys are very helpful. The restaurant in there has very bad food and service. The breakfast is ok. The rooms are big and the bathrooms are nice. But the air conditioner in the rooms are not cold enough and it drips water . Overall we had a very bad experience at this place and would never stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Veerapaneni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRetreatAgra, General Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sir,

GREETINGS FROM HOTEL THE RETREAT –AGRA

Thank you for taking time to post your comment on your recent stay at The Retreat .
It was indeed a pleasure to have you, We have always contributed our sincere efforts
in providing our best of the services to the guests. However, please accept our sincere
apology for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

We have noted your complains and taken your suggestions on a serious note. We assure you that an appropriate action would be taken so that on next visit you will have a better experience.

We sincerely hope that you will give us more opportunities to serve you in the future and
assure you of our personalized services and best attention.

We again regret for the inconvenience caused to you and thank you for bearing with us.
Looking forward to your next visit to our hotel.

Thanks & Regards,
Manoj Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

the hotel is right next to Tajmahal but a bit too far from city center. The hotel is not traditional in any which way, which is something that one might expect in a heritage city but is not bad at all. The rooms are spacious and clean and so is the overall property. Food is ok-- the flavors seemed to go haywire at times--but the breakfast buffet is good. The hotel also provides wi-fi services.

On the downside, the staff isn't very well trained- both at the restaurant and the front desk. The restaurant staff are not very well aware of the dishes that they serve. As for the front desk staff, I was issued the bill in incorrect name however they rectified it by sending me a soft copy of the bill.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nehaahlawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRetreatAgra, General Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Mam,

GREETINGS FROM HOTEL THE RETREAT –AGRA

Thank you for taking time to post your comment on your recent stay at The Retreat .
It was indeed a pleasure to have you, We have always contributed our sincere efforts
in providing our best of the services to the guests. However, please accept our sincere
apology for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

We have noted your complains and taken your suggestions on a serious note. We assure you that an appropriate action would be taken so that on next visit you will have a better experience.

We sincerely hope that you will give us more opportunities to serve you in the future and
assure you of our personalized services and best attention.

We again regret for the inconvenience caused to you and thank you for bearing with us.
Looking forward to your next visit to our hotel.

Thanks & Regards,
Manoj Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaca, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

although i stayed here only one night i thought it was a very good hotel for a 3star. the Indian food in the restaurant was one of the best i had in all of India and Nepal. clean good service and cheap

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yianoulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRetreatAgra, General Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Sir.


GREETINGS FROM HOTEL THE RETREAT- AGRA


Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel The Retreat Agra. At the outset, please accept our sincere thanks for taking time & writing your valuable feedback for us.

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us on your visit to Agra. Iam pleased to read that your expectations were mostly exceeded, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and services we endeavour to provide to our guests.

However, it is the attentive yet unobtrusive service of our dedicated team members which creates memories for our guests and I am glad that they were able to create memories to cherish during your stay at the hotel.

We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit & give us the opportunity to pamper you again with our services. I will be most delighted to share your feedback with all members of the team.


Thanking & Regards,
Manoj Sharma
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#19 of 143 in Agra
622 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 143 in Agra
1,566 reviews
1.1 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Taj Vilas
Hotel The Taj Vilas
#21 of 143 in Agra
455 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Alleviate
Hotel Alleviate
#27 of 143 in Agra
231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taj Villa
Taj Villa
#32 of 143 in Agra
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Property: The Retreat
Address: Taj Nagari Phase -1 | Prateek Enclave, Shilpgram Road Near Taj Mahal, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing