We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Taj Residency
Nearby Hotels
US$86
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$71
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$82
LuxuryCollection
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$79
US$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$791
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$65
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$39
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Courtyard Agra(Agra)
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
8
9
10
15
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
9
10
15
24
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Hospitality is something that does not exist in their dictionary....
Rooms are clumsy ... water is terrible ( u cant even wash your mouth with the tap water)..
The bread toaster of the hotel does not work and were served with completely burned ( black toasts) .... service is terrible and they have brokers and agents following your car to get you into the hotel...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Singhamosai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We had gone to Agra on 7th Dec 2013 and stayed at this hotel.
Most of the hotels were packed to the capacity so had to stick to this hotel.
The best part of the hotel is its location (close to Taj mahal west gate and Red fort).
Rooms were decent looking, so we took a deluxe room.
But the hotel service is very poor and facilities are non-existent.
1. There is no running hot water and have to request for boiler to be turned on.
2. No guidance regarding how to request for any service
3. Room service is very very very slow
4. There were mosquitoes in room, and the staff had no idea how to tackle this problem. They assume we can live with a few buzzing around.
5. No ventilation

overall, there are lot better hotels available in the city and you can give this one a skip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flair321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

we visited taj mahal on 30th november 2013. so we book this hotel online. but online booking is too costly, so you can book this hotel at that time too @ 1500/- Deluxe room. Standard & Delux Room are same. No light back up. Water for bathing is very bad in taste.
very near to Red fort & Taj Mahal. Food is good but service will take more than 30 minutes.

Room Tip: No lift so you can choose first floor, because dining area is on first floor.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MANMEETKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Hi,

I stayed in this hotel in July 2013, with my wife. I was looking for the hotel and found many agents who recommended this hotel (acted as agent ) and would also escort you to the hotel. -- This shows how desperate they are too woo clients

As it was late in night and no idea about the place, we decided to go to this hotel with an agent and take a look.

It creates a descent first impression of a budget hotel but is heavily over priced. It is not worth , if you are taking the room at the stated rates.
Thanks to our bargaining skills, i was able to get a discount of 60% plus on the rack rate.

I would say even at the discounted price, it was an expensive deal.

We took an A/c room and was promised a 24 hr back up. However, A/c were not working and the staff will switch it off the main power source at frequent intervals ( I saw them doing that ). you have to call reception again and again to turn on the A/c power, which as very frustrating.
When we tried to reason it out with the manager, he was indifferent to our complaint and did nothing.


We paid an hefty amount for the A/c room and it is not working, we felt cheated

They also charged us for the extra fresh towels.

Food was descent but it took them over 50 minutes to serve the food, even when we were the only couple sitting in the restaurant.

In a nut shell -

Pros -

1. Ideally located near Taj Mahal
2. Descent rooms and food

Cons :
1. A/c not working in A/c rooms and thus felt cheated
2. Service is very slow
3. All the bath fittings are tarnished.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickybansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I went to Agra with my family (my wife and 2 boys) on the 20th of March 2013 and stayed at The Taj Residency, Baluganj, till the 30th.
The location of the hotel was very convenient, only a few kms from the Taj, in a quite & peaceful environment. The room we stayed in was well appointed, fresh and clean, with all the required modern amenities that one would expect from an up-class budget hotel. The bathroom was sparkling clean, much to our delight. The staff was prompt to serve and courteous.
Except for the lunch, we had all our meals at the hotel which were according to our 'Dilli wala' taste. The menu was quite extensive and we particularly loved the chilly chicken dry and masala papad they served for evening/ cocktail snacks.
Overall, an awesome experience, will certainly to back to this hotel next time we are in Agra and will recommend the property to all friends and folks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VibhorSehgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews