We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“aesthetically pleasing place with all amenities...”
Review of ITC Mughal, Agra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ITC Mughal, Agra
Ranked #13 of 144 Hotels in Agra
delhi
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“aesthetically pleasing place with all amenities...”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Glad we chose ITC over all 5 stars. Booked Mughal suite I guess. Absolutely delightful place and shining clean and refined surroundings. Almost near to an expressway and very good location. Next to Taj mahal. Only minus point - Prices of menu is very high and not worth it. Food is just okay. Ordered Chardonnay and pina colada and a cake. It was my Bday. Cake was below average and tasted like cake from some local bakery. I was thoroughly disappointed. No candles, nothing. Wine had some white powdery substance in the bottom. Pina colada was total yuck with no coconut milk and smooth flavour. It was strong, bitter and yuck. Asked them to replace both. And Voila, they got same colada again. Finally, I left it and my celebration was spoilt. Buffet bfast was just average with no delicious item to savor. Next day, ordered lunch which was so damn average and we ordered phulkas for 4 yrs old to go with paneer dish. believe me, those were rubbery, burnt phulkas. Had them with no option. Anyway, other things were just good. Restroom near reception was over leaking with stinky water and no space to stand in the bathroom. Only washroom working was handicapped one.
Rest, things were good. room was speck and clean. Service was good. Though I wonder how can waiters, workers stand on your head pretending to be ASKING for tip. Its so damn uncomfortable!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank himani2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCMUGHAL, Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out some of your precious time and posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay with us. Your feedback has been shared with our Managers who are taking the necessary steps to prevent this situation.

We would be very pleased to have the opportunity to receive you again at ITC Mughal Hotel, so that we can show you that our deepest concern is our guest satisfaction.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to ITC Mughal!

Regards,

Ashutosh Chhibba
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,004
    1,062
    505
    179
    91
See reviews for
1,227
1,269
150
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We booked a Royal suite and room was very nice with special focus on small things. When we checked in we were taken to a separate lounge which they had for the check-in of those who have booked a suite which was nice. We went there for our anniversary and immediately a bouquet arrive which was again a nice gesture... But after being taken to a separate lounge no welcome drink and wet towels that was a bit strange. Most of the people drive from Delhi and after that long drive the hotel must offer a welcome drink and wet towels... The food was good and service was also up to the mark... They had taken care of all the requests and also gave us the suite with massage chair as requested. Would plan to come back if we visit Agra again. Just one thing that the online booking rates should be inclusive of the taxes. About 18% taxes sound weird in Agra which they charged extra at the time of check-out. I mean when I booked online and paid the total would have been better if they had actual charged the total because we have not seen any hotel doing that ever.

Room Tip: I think the suite are definitely very good and spending that extra amount is worth it specially if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charuratra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCMUGHAL, Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out some of your precious time and posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay with us. Your feedback has been shared with our Managers who are taking the necessary steps to prevent this situation.

We would be very pleased to have the opportunity to receive you again at ITC Mughal Hotel, so that we can show you that our deepest concern is our guest satisfaction.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to ITC Mughal!

Regards,

Ashutosh Chhibba
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Not the biggest fan of this hotel - the hotel is beautiful - with nice grounds and contemporary design. The lobby is very nice - always good to make a first impression - and we were close to the Taj Mahal. This hotel also has some shopping on the vicinity which was nice as well.

The reason I wasn't the biggest fan was because some of the people working there were really after the tips. We stayed here for 3 nights and had room service for dinner all three nights - since we were traveling with kids - and the server was more into getting the tip than completing his service. For example, after delivering the dinner one night - the kids realized that they needed ketchup - so I asked the server to please get ketchup - and he pretty much wanted a tip before he left to get the ketchup - and I am all for giving tips (since I travel ALOT - have was in India for 3 weeks - and had money for tip handy - but the point was it was so obvious that it was what they wanted - that I didn't like it). Even the greeters at the ITC - kept saying hello and good bye to my husband and asked for a tip - really? Last example - asked for a drink one night at the bar - it was one price - the next night asked for the EXACT same drink and it was 100 rupees more - so let's just say - and when asked why it was more expensive - the bartender acted like he couldn't understand me - and I know he could since he works in a hotel!

Plus the floors in the room were creaky - but the rooms were VERY NICE other than that. So all in all - it was average. Lastly, the restaurant which gets touted as a great restaurant doesn't serve rice? Say what? You can't find any rice - and you are in India? I understand that they are trying to be different and may be a specific Indian cuisine - but when you have kids and they need rice to eat the curry with vs. Nan - get some rice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famtrav05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCMUGHAL, Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out some of your precious time and posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay with us. Your feedback has been shared with our Managers who are taking the necessary steps to prevent this situation.

We would be very pleased to have the opportunity to receive you again at ITC Mughal Hotel, so that we can show you that our deepest concern is our guest satisfaction.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to ITC Mughal!

Regards,

Ashutosh Chhibba
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed one night. The ambience and hospitality was perfect. The service could further be improved and the food very good.The room was speck and clean however you could see dust near corners. The battroom fittings and amenities were excellent. From the roof observatory you could see Taj although there are some trees. We were slighly disappointed since we could not Taj from our room. The checkin and checkout was very efficient and fast.
In buffet, they took much time to removed used plates. In our absence one housekeeping staffer came at odd hour and unexpectedly to replace the towels! We thought it was an interruption in our privacy and was done to earn extra tips. But the hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jassies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCMUGHAL, Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out some of your precious time and posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay with us. Your feedback has been shared with our Managers who are taking the necessary steps to prevent this situation.

We would be very pleased to have the opportunity to receive you again at ITC Mughal Hotel, so that we can show you that our deepest concern is our guest satisfaction.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to ITC Mughal!

Regards,

Ashutosh Chhibba
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This is not a five star hotel and I suspect the staff know how crap it is as no one asked if we enjoyed our stay when we checked out!
I have now read about welcome drinks and towels? Not for us, nothing offered at all.
The lobby is stunning, however the rest of the hotel is tired and worn out, the carpet in our corridor was 1980s and needed a good clean. The rooms probably were 5 star in 1985, but they aren't now. Room was not as clean as it should have been, little tell tale signs that cleaning had been hurried, I have been a chambermaid in the past and would have been sacked if I had left a room like that.
The pool area was lovely, but you should know that the pool water is very cold, I swim in the open air in the north of England, so am used to chilly water, this was 'sharp intake of breath' cold even to me.

The most shambolic experience was breakfast. I suspect the 'manager' is a relative of the manager/owner, who is clearly not up to the job, and out of his depth. The service was embarrassing and the food just a very strange selection, peas instead of tomatoes at breakfast?
What I found most shocking for a supposedly 5 or more realistically 3 star hotel was the state of the chefs tunics at breakfast, they were filthy, not just with splashes from the morning, but it looked like a weeks worth of dirt, the whole kitchen needed a thorough clean. Tables were not cleared although there are lots of staff, they just bumble about bumping into each other, we sat at 2 tables before we found a clean one. I asked for a pot of hot water, and got a cup of coffee, the waiter was confused as to why I wanted a new clean cup??
Did not try the evening menus as just too expensive, we did however discover a really good restaurant across the road opposite the hotel, called (I think) A Pinch of Spice, boomin great food and excellent service, the loos were very clean too, which matters to me! We went back for lunch the next day and had the Buffett, which was supreme, butter chicken was the best I have eaten. Nice folk too, in fact when I told him how crap the hotel was he apologised! I did point out that it wasn t his fault, he said he hoped everyone enjoyed his town and was upset to find we hadn't!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hopefulcaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCMUGHAL, Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out some of your precious time and posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay with us. Your feedback has been shared with our Managers who are taking the necessary steps to prevent this situation.

We would be very pleased to have the opportunity to receive you again at ITC Mughal Hotel, so that we can show you that our deepest concern is our guest satisfaction.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to ITC Mughal!

Regards,

Ashutosh Chhibba
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Had a wonderful dining experience at ITC Mughal during our recent visit to Agra. After a long drive we arrived tired and hungry into the city. As we drove into the property we were treated very warmly by the staff. The decor and atmosphere of the hotel were breathtaking and grand.

The dining experience was the topping on the beautiful cake, the food was mouthwatering and just right for our taste buds to relish. The people at the restaurant and the lobby were very warm in serving and guiding us. Overall it was a great experience and probably our trip to Agra wouldn't have been complete without it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snesha13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCMUGHAL, Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out some of your precious time and posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to know that the service provided to you were appreciated and also that we could make your stay a memorable and wonderful experience.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to ITC Mughal!

Regards,

Ashutosh Chhibba
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We had an awesome experience during our recent stay at ITC Mughal Agra. We had an amazing welcome at reception with open arms and left us with an unforgettable experience. The staff is ever so friendly, helpful and courteous. All our requests were obliged in no time. The ambience is superb, the landscaping is soothing to the eyes and is spread over 35 acres. And last but not the least - the spa facilities are amazing. Peshawri and the Mughal Pavilion dished out mouth watering delicacies that still linger on to our taste buds.Thanks to Mr Dhirendra Sharma to assist us and making our experience memorable a very lively personality to gel with.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCMUGHAL, Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out some of your precious time and posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to know that the service provided to you were appreciated and also that we could make your stay a memorable and wonderful experience.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to ITC Mughal!

Regards,

Ashutosh Chhibba
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.6 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.0 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 144 in Agra
2,710 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Mughal, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Mughal, Agra

Property: ITC Mughal, Agra
Address: Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Agra
#4 Family Hotel in Agra
#6 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#11 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#12 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Mughal, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Mughal, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Mughal, Agra Hotel Agra
Itc Mughal Hotel Agra
Sheraton Agra
Agra Itc Mughal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing