We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For those who know, six stars” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi Amarvilas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 146 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
119 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“For those who know, six stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Everything has been said about this hotel, from its unique location, materials used and attention to detail, service etc. I like to be surprised and here I simply list a few things that, to me, set Amarvilas apart from other top-end hotels.

The personalized service is exceptional and you don't need to have booked a top suite with five butlers to experience it. Staff are well-trained, polite and engage with the guest in an intelligent manner, hence the experience will be different for everyone although you benefit most if you feel comfortable in such surroundings.

Things I found stood out:
- Cool towels and drinks on arrival, possibly a welcome by the hotel manager, followed by:

- check-in: there is no check-in. Someone takes your passport and while showing you around everything is done for you. Nothing could be better.

- poolside service with suncream, water and cool towels, spray.

- subtle live music, large flower bouquets and arrangements

- golf buggy to the Taj, 500m away, anytime, knowledgeable guides if you wish

- The design of the building: even on the toilet (!) you can view the Taj, rooms have beautiful furniture.

- no defacing 'watch your step' etc signs

- differently flavoured honeys and chocolate ganache, breads at breakfast (exquisite but not exuberant)

- immaculate manicured gardens with labels for plant names (I would add the common English name though).


- competitively priced: perhaps surprising but given the small size of the hotel and the fact you pay similar rates in business hotel without the location and personal service I thought Amarvilas was good value, unlike some of the grand hotels in Europe.

- print on demand int. newspapers although double-sided printed PDF versions will work better than a few articles.


Things I thought could be improved:

- lights in the bathroom are from top and behind making it difficult to see yourself in the mirror for shaving etc. Did I not find the mirror light?

- caesar salad at pool is great but is no caesar (i.e. no caesar dressing)

- hairdresser is not a barber hence no beard trim / shave available

- food in the main restaurant was underwhelming. While certainly of high quality, it seemed to me 'americanized' that is undaring, no bold flavours, unsurprising. India's cuisine can tantalize your taste buds but I was not lucky enough to experience this at Esphahan. Why not have a taster menu from the different regions in India?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Your constructive suggestions are appreciated, and thank you for your complimentary review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,477
    323
    87
    20
    13
See reviews for
590
1,492
122
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (805)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

What can I say other than perfection, service like I have never encountered before, the food is excellent and its situation in relation to the Taj is perfect. It is not a cheap hotel, but it really is a must at least once in your life if you have the opportunity. You must visit the Taj, we did this at both sunrise and sunset, if you can only do 1 visit make it sunrise, it is much cooler and if you are there early enough you can be one of a handful of people there (which makes photo's just great) rather than 1 of 100's.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigfoot954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Most certainly if time permits, visiting the Taj Mahal twice at sunrise and sunset is highly recommended. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and both visits to theTaj Mahal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Apparently every room looks out on the Taj. We had a beautiful room with a balcony and thus had fantastic views (would recommend a room with a balcony). The service is great, the location is awesome, and the hotel is really jaw dropping (huge chandeliers). We only stayed one night, and would recommend staying at least 2, as there are alot of sights in Agra, besides the Taj. The Taj is just an amazing site to visit, and should be a must on anyone’s list. The service in the restaurant was awesome, and the Masala Chai one of the best I have ever had! Definitely want to come back and stay a few more nights. The pool area, with fountains and manicured plants/gardens, is just amazing, a great place to relax after a long trip to get there! We just loved our stay and felt relaxed in this busy little city!

Room Tip: Room with a balcony is a must, great to just sit out and enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
I do agree that a one night stay is not enough as there is so much to see and do here.We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyork
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

What an incredible experience. If you have to go to Agra to see the beautiful Taj Mahal ( and of course you do), AmarVilas is the only choice. It is a grand, luxurious hotel that is resplendent in its architecture and design. The service is impeccable, the food is outstanding and the decor is breathtaking. To be able to see the Taj Mahal right from your room is so moving. The landscaping is meticulous. I would have loved to stay on at this hotel to enjoy all the aspects for at least a week but it is very expensive but worth the splurge. The staff are very courteous and polite and have beautiful uniforms.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhanjhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Your kind compliments have been conveyed to our wonderful staff, and thank you for your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We only stayed here for one night during our whirlwind trip through India and while we did see other Oberoi locations, this one is truly unique. Overlooking the Taj Mahal, and being much smaller than its other locations (60 or so rooms, I believe), this hotel provides luxury, exclusivity and romance like nothing else. Almost completely filled with couples on honeymoons, anniversaries, romantic getaways etc, every detail here has been thought of. You are greeted by name in the lobby with flower necklaces and dabs of vermillion on the forehead start your visit. Our room had its own balcony overlooking the outdoor balcony bar. Simple things such as the hardware on the cabinetry was beautiful. The service was personal (we sort of had our own butler like person) and every question/demand was meet with more effort here than anywhere else throughout our trip.

Even the least romantic person would get in the mood if staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Worth splurging for a room with a balcony as these also give you views of the Taj Mahal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mogcyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were impressed with the service you received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

From The reception with a line-up of The staff, to the room with a view of the Taj, to the restaurant and the amazing pool, everything combines to make this The best hotel I have ever stayed (and I am very lucky in terms of traveling).

If you have the chance, don't even think about it. It is well worth The price. Also, ask for advice On visiting the Taj before leaving The hotel (price, currency, hours, etc)

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your complimentary feedback onTripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOOSE JAW
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

This hotel is an oasis of calm and beauty and service. Incredibly helpful, polite and friendly staff. When I first got there I wandered around and this great guy by the pool - came over to me and said, "how may I assist you?". I did get my things and come back for a swim. This has to be the most beautiful pool. Cold water and towels are brought to you - it was so nice. The view from my room was, as promised, of the Taj Mahal. It was hard to not just sit on my bed and look at it. And it was close enough to walk from the hotel to the gate of the Taj in the morning. The bed was the best bed in India. Best mattress, pillows, sheets - incredible. Beds in India can be very hard - but not here. The whole hotel was great to look at and the staff were terrific. Incredible music in the restaurant at dinner. But the gift shops are great - including a little book store with a very well-read woman who recommended books that she loved. If I have anything critical to say it is that they push going to the spa a little too much and the internet should be free. Why charge 200 rupees for 30 mins of internet when you are paying that much to stay there? It just seemed annoying. Agra is a mess of crazy traffic and what appears to be no city planning - the streets are crazy! But this hotel is so calm and beautiful it makes you forget all that and just focus on the incredible historic sites and fascinating history Agra has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aster6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 22 October 2011
Thank you for your kind compliments and constructive feedback, all of which is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 146 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#11 of 146 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,691 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 146 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 146 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Property: The Oberoi Amarvilas
Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing