We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taj Mahal from the Bedroom !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Taj Mahal from the Bedroom !”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

This is a wonderful hotel where we spent 2 fantastic days & nights in November 2011.
The incredible setting., the style of building & the staff welcome all exceeded our dreams.Add the view of the mystical Taj Mahal from all rooms & you realise how this hotel merits its high ranking in Asian & World rankings. The Indian menus ( there is also an impressive International menu ) gave us both choice & fantastic quality but then it is an Oberoi hotel !
The pool is a great relaxing area & the personal welcome by the General Manger set the tone for our stay but the special joy was the view from our room of theTaj Mahal at Sunset & Dawn.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Tone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the magnificent views of the Taj Mahal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,586
    331
    89
    20
    13
See reviews for
620
1,543
126
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (839)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
157 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I have been to many luxury hotels in India. In my opinion Oberai Amarivilas is one of the top 5 best hotels in India. Offers a great view of one of the 7 wonders of the world " Taj Mahal".

I stayed at Oberoi Amarvilas for three days and it was suppose to be the best days of my life. Great hospitality, Super luxury, amazing comfort, mindblowing interiors.

Truly a commendable hotel. For foreigners must visit hotel in India.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RajeshUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Thank you for sharing your complimentary feedback on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We loved this hotel and its breathtaking views over the Taj Mahal. Our room, whilst not one of the best in the hotel, was perfect for us in terms of decor and comfort. We ate in the Indian restaurant and had a delicious and generous meal. The service throughout the hotel was great with the friendly and willing staff that the Oberoi Hotel group train so well. However, there was one thing that should be mentioned - we noticed a faint smell of what we presumed to be sewage, which was worse at one end of the hotel than the other. It wasn't enough to spoil our stay but it was there.

Room Tip: Aim for a higher floor, overlooking the Taj
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjtWindsor_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
The views of the Taj Mahal are indeed breathtaking! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for complimenting our wonderful team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

From the moment you walk into this hotel, you are able to see the Taj Mahal and you can't take your eyes off of it! From our room, the view was of the Taj and overlooking the beautiful pool and gardens. Service and food were great and the location allowed us to visit the Taj at both sunset and sunrise! Highly recommend, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dentaldivaLPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Your positive recommendation is much appreciated and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This beautiful new hotel, with views of the Taj Mahal (when the smog lifts), is a world class facility with every service one might want for an overnight or for days of luxury. The physical facilities work perfectly but the service is oddly inconsistent. There are plenty of people around and there is no shortage of good will. In the "multi-cuisine" restaurant staff seemed confused about who was serving whom. (Not the case in the pure Indian restaurant, which is smaller and more focused.) When we arrived we were smothered by greeting staff, yet later in the afternoon we walked to the front steps and no one was there. You have to recommend this hotel and hope the bumps were temporary!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for sharing your feedback and for your kind recommendation. I am so sorry that you experienced a shortfall in service during your stay. We are striving to be more consistent and our young and enthusiastic team are responding well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China (US Expat)
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We arrived around 18:00 and the reception was first rate. A welcome drink on the balcony with the Taj Mahal in view in the distance. The grounds and service are beyond description. And, it is so convenient to travel by golf cart to the entrance of the Taj Mahal.

We had a wonderful dinner in the India restaurant and I would recommend the set 3 course meal if you are new to India. It was way too much to eat in one meal but a great sample of Indian cuisine from appetizers to dessert.

We had breakfast the next morning in the buffet and my husband developed a terrible case of food poisioning. We communicated with the hotel and they are investigating. But it has been a damper on our trip for the past 3 days. We live in China and travel across Asia and are VERY careful ... this is the first time we've had such terrible "tummy troubles".

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful ... I wouldn't upgrade to a room with a balcony since we didn't spen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank china_mom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for your kind review. I was most concerned that your husband was unwell and very much hope that he has made a full recovery. Food safety continues to be our main priority and everything possible is maximise this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

The view from our bedroom was stunning.
The Hotel grounds and setting was amazing. The staff were always attentive without being intrusive, Food was good but not exceptional, the swimming pool however was!.
Definately recommend this hotel and a visit to the glorious Taj Mahal

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSBank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Your kind review is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 145 in Agra
3,846 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 145 in Agra
2,714 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Property: The Oberoi Amarvilas
Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing