We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing ...!!:)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Just amazing ...!!:)”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

I and my husband decided to stay at this hotel for our anniversary... We opted for a room with balcony & TAJ MAHAL view , which was just serene ...the first thing that comes to my mind is the excellent service they provide, the hotel is definitely the best in Agra ,staying at this hotel made our trip even more special and also admire the beauty of TAJ MAJAL ...:)having stayed in many hotels around the globe must say they offer the best and world class service ... The heated pool is huge ,breakfast is good, the fine dining restaurant is just amazing ,I can't pick any mistakes at all :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip advisor regarding your stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

Thank you for the beautiful comments regarding your stay with us. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your entire stay thoroughly. We choose our staff very carefully and ensure that they are well trained to deliver the best possible service to exceed our guest expectations.

Thank you for choosing us for your anniversary and I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you,
Ankush Mahajan,
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,561
    329
    88
    20
    13
See reviews for
616
1,529
123
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (831)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We spent one night here when visiting the Taj Mahal and had a beautiful room on the 4th floor with a balcony overlooking the Taj Mahal. The view of the Taj is better from rooms on the higher floors although the view is often obscured by the mist. Our room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable and spacious - it was a shame not to have spent more time in it as most of the day was spent visiting the Taj. The hotel has a lovely pool and garden area. The hotel staff were very polite and service faultless. The hotel has 2 restaurants - the one we ate in was OK but food pretty average compared to other meals we have had in India.

Room Tip: Chose a room on a high floor for an amazing view of the Taj Mahal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip advisor regarding your stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am most delighted to read your very beautiful comments regarding your stay with us. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your entire stay thoroughly. However, we believe that it is our people who are our greatest assets, as they endeavor to create personalized experiences for our guests which translate into memories for a lifetime. I have also made a note of your feedback for the food and the same has been taken up with the concerned team.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you,
Ankush Mahajan,
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Just recently returned from a two week trip to Rajasthan and this was the first Oberoi property of the five that we had booked. A beautiful property with immaculate gardens and outdoor areas. Only 600 metres from the magnificent Taj Mahal, our Suite terrace looked directly at it! From the moment that we arrived (travelled as a party of four) welcomed by the General Manager and his Front Desk team until the moment we departed, the entire team at this wonderful Hotel went out of their way to ensure that our stay was just perfect. As we were celebrating a Wedding Anniversary and Birthday, our accommodation was so generously upgraded to the Neru Suite - and what a Suite, about 250 square metres in size, a bathroom wth a huge octagonal shower cubicle in the middle of the bathroom, a huge free standing bath tub (which was filled with rose petals in the evening surrounded by candles) by the terrace door so it looked out towards the Tah Mahal. The bedroom and living / dining room were very spacious with opulent art deco style furnishings. There was even a small separate kitchen area with coffee machine,and home made biscuits.

The service was the best, all the staff was courteuous, polite and friendly without being intrusive, everyone was fluent in English. One of the persons in our party had an intestinal problem from home and the Executive Chef as well as the F&B Manager sought us out during all our meals and ensured that the special dietary requirements were catered for. We were surprised with a birthday cake during dinner and the restaurant staff sang Happy Birthday.

Sadly we did not have enough time to enjoy and appreciate all the faciltiies as our stay was very brief, however, if I had known that the Hotel was as wonderful as it is, I would have booked to stay an extra night. The Amarvilas is one of the most beautiful properties and I can highly recommend it to anyone who wishes to visit the Taj Mahal as it is only a short 5-10 minute ride by buggy to the entrance and then another 5 minutes walk from there. Yes it is expensive but well worth the expense and as some of the other reviewers have pointed out, you only visit the Tah Mahal once in a lifetime, so go for it and visit in style!

Room Tip: Request a room or Suite on a high floor facing the lawns and pool areas and the Tah Mahal! I can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cancer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you or taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
I am most delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed the food, service and guest facilities during your stay. Our hotel offers stunning views of the Taj Mahal from every room, the lobby and the lounge. However, we believe that it is our people who are our greatest assets, as they endeavor to create personalized experiences for our guests which translate into memories for a lifetime.

I am taking the liberty to share your comments with the team which is a great source of motivation to one and all.

Thank you for choosing us for your special occasions and we hope to welcome you again to the Oberoi Amarvilas in the near future.

Thank you,
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

When you pay a high price to stay at the landmark hotel in arguably the best location in the world you expect perfection and this review should be read in this context. This is a beautifully designed, finished and furnished hotel in an art deco style - exquisite. Our room and bathroom fully lived up to the rest of the building and we luxuriated in it and with it our 'private' view of the Taj Mahal. The one design disappointment was the forty or so steps down (and up agin) from the pool level elevator to the (wonderful) pool itself. As someone with limited mobility I really value the weightlessness of swimming so with the willing help of the staff I struggled down and up again.

Service was unfailingly helpful and sympathetic with staff whose spoken English was immaculate. Unfortunately the service was often not joined-up eg food ordered failed to arrive on several occasions, in one instance the waiter who took an order went off duty without communicating the order, a request for help with luggage was acknowledged but did not materialise.

Quality and availability of good food and interesting dishes was variable. A wonderful mixed platter of South Indian dishes for breakfast was a highlight for my wife while at the same time I growled at a dish described as scrambled eggs on toast with smoked salmon but turned out to be scrambled eggs with a few small chips of smoked, slightly warmed salmon included and two small pieces of toasted bagette on the side. Perhaps the greatest disappointment was to be told after ordering tenderloin (a rare beef delicacy in India) that the chef recommended lamb. "Do you mean you have no beef left?" I asked. The actual (very acceptable story, was the the chef did not feel that a batch of locally supplied beef was up to standard). To be fair the chef came to explain and apologise and as we left the following day arrived with two excellent picnic packs for us - well recovered!

Overall a great experience at the end of a fabulous holiday

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singasOng21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments on Trip Advisor with regards to your stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay; however we have made a note of your feedback is much appreciated and will be put to good use. We understand that it is through working on feedback received from our guests that we can achieve the highest standards of products and services which are expected from us.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you.
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a large room with balcony looking directly at the Taj Mahal only a few hundred metres away.
From our balcony we looked across a splendid lawn at the end of which were some trees and behind these the Taj Mahal rose imperiously.
This beautiful view was matched by the hotel with it's design and appointments, and the wonderful Oberoi staff that make you feel so welcome.
It is only a short ride in a hotel golf cart to the Taj Mahal followed by a 5 minute walk. So the convenience to the major attraction of Agra couldn't be better.
This is an expensive hotel, but how many times in your life will you see the Taj Mahal?

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor with regards to your stay at the Oberoi Amarvilas.
It is my pleasure to read your generous praise of the hotel and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the magnificent views of the Taj Mahal from the hotel. However, we believe that it is our people who are our greatest assets, as they endeavor to create personalized experiences for our guests to carry fond memories back home. I will be most delighted to share your review with all members of the staff as it is a great source of motivation

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Amarvilas and we hope to welcome you back to The Oberoi Amarvilas

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC area
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This hotel is opulent, outstanding, and obligatory if visiting the Taj Mahal. The walls are a bit thin, so we heard music from a festival in the neighborhood overnight, and we also heard some plumbing from the upstairs room. However, this did not lessen the enjoyment of our stay. The food was excellent; the service was prompt and excellent. I had a chicken appetizer that was probably the best preparation of chicken I have ever tasted. Staff members remembered our name, and we were greeted by all of the staff members. The pool area is breathtaking, as are the views of the Taj Mahal. Having visited many places, I can easily place this hotel among the best in which I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnc2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments on Trip Advisor with regards to your stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and your feedback is much appreciated and will be put to good use. We understand that your visit was during festive season and at that time of the year there are lots of festivals which are celebrated. Thank you so much for your feedback and working on feedback received from our guests that we can achieve the highest standards of products and services which are expected from us.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you,
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel was described in our travel guide as opulent, and it truely is!
Ideal to visit the Taj Mahal - the hotel golf cart takes you there, and the Red Fort.
However leave time to enjoy the hotel - fantastic pool and gardens, though we didn't have time to sample the spa and other leisure facilities.
The service was impeccable and all the staff are extremely helpful.
Thoroughly recommended!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review us on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your short stay with us. Our hotel does offer magnificent views of the Taj Mahal and beautifully landscaped gardens from every room and it is the endeavor of our dedicated team to personalize your stay at the hotel The swimming pool is indeed one of the most serene places of the hotel to come back to after a long day of sight seeing.
We truly believe that our trained and guest focused team members are our greatest asset and I will be glad to share your wonderful feedback with all.

Thank you for your kind recommendation and we hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many Oberoi hotels and resorts around the world.

Thank you,
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,802 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Property: The Oberoi Amarvilas
Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing