We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A view to the monument of love”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A view to the monument of love”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Located a few hundred meters from the Taj Mahal (with free shuttle service by electric golf cart) this splendid monument is visible from every room in the hotel allowing you to appreciate its magical beauty even in the light of dawn, sunset or with moonlight. Inspired by a style between the Moorish and Mughal architecture of the palaces of the Sultans , the hotel overlooks a beautiful garden with fountains, waterfalls and staircases surrounding a large swimming pool - making it one among of the most beautiful pools in the world. Although dated in some detail, the hotel still retains a special charm which contribute a personal and attentive service and good quality of the two restaurants.

Room Tip: On Friday the Taj Mahal is closed to the public.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magic_India2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that that magnificent Mughal designs and architecture was to your liking.

The hotel offers beautiful views of the Taj Mahal and beautifully landscaped gardens from the rooms, lobby and the lounge. I will definitely pass on your compliments to team at the both our restaurants and the culinary team.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you.
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,586
    331
    89
    20
    13
See reviews for
620
1,543
126
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (839)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I visited Agra with my parents recently and stayed at ITC Mughal (an excellent hotel) and we went to Amarvilas for dinner. There are places in India, like the Taj in Udaipur, which don't allow one to enter/visit the property if you aren't a guest there - no such information was available for Amarvilas. When we reached the receptionist informed us that both the restuarants were packed to capacity at 10.15pm on a weekday night. While it might have been true the conversation which followed indicated an attempt to discourage you from visiting the property if you aren't staying there. The issue is that if that is your attitude you should make it clear not go around it in such fashion. This especially stood out in contrast with ITC's staff's attitude which was very friendly and accomodating. While Amarvilas obviously caters to a specific audience - I would wholeheartedly reccomend ITC over Amarvilas. The attitude of the staff at the property is very important and Amarvilas falls short..

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ssaigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

It is with regret that I read your report on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I have taken note of all the concerns you have raised and I am so sorry your visit fell short of your expectations. To understand your experience better I request you to kindly share your mobile number for me to call you at a time of your convenience or your email id so I may write to you to have a better understanding as this is important for us.

I do hope that in time you will allow us the opportunity to make amends and restore your faith in The Oberoi Amarvilas.


Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
357 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Words cannot describe this beautiful hotel and the view of the Taj Mahal from our balcony! It is quite understandable why this is rated as a five star hotel. The rooms, grounds and furnishings of this hotel along with the service are impeccable. There is shopping available within walking distance of your room either at the hotel or within walking distance from the hotel. Of all my highest ratings for hotels, this hotel deserves a five star.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on trip Advisor regarding your stay at the Oberoi Amarvilas.

It is a pleasure to read that you had a memorable stay with us. We try and take special care by personalizing our services to ensure that our guests have a pleasant experience with us.
We hope that your experience at The Oberoi Amarvilas will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many Oberoi hotels and resorts in future.

Thank you,
Ankush Mahajan
Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

A magnificent hotel with a magnificent view of the Taj Mahal.We stayed at Room no 409 ,which had an excellent view of the Taj Mahal both from the bed and the balcony.Viewing the Taj Mahal,as you open your eyes is blissful.we also had a wonderful view of the pooliside area all lite up at night from our balcony. It is a beautiful property and we had an amazing and lovely time. The rooms are comfortable, the heated pool is an enjoyable place to be in and the restaurants are excellent.Will definately visit again :)

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony,high up,which has the best view.room no 409.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManishaParag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor.

I am pleased to read your detailed comment and that you had a wonderful stay with us. The hotel offers uninterrupted views of the Taj Mahal and beautifully landscaped gardens from the lobby and the rooms. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.

However, we believe that it is our people who are our greatest assets, as they endeavor to create personalized experiences for our guests which translate into memories for a lifetime.
I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you,
Ankush Mahajan
Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Beautiful. will post more pictures later. Beautiful grounds. Staff is honest, helpful and they offer a tour guide for trips to the Taj Mahal and Agra fort (among other places).

Beautiful. will post more pictures later. Beautiful grounds. Staff is honest, helpful and they offer a tour guide for trips to the Taj Mahal and Agra fort (among other places).

Beautiful. will post more pictures later. Beautiful grounds. Staff is honest, helpful and they offer a tour guide for trips to the Taj Mahal and Agra fort (among other places).

Beautiful. will post more pictures later. Beautiful grounds. Staff is honest, helpful and they offer a tour guide for trips to the Taj Mahal and Agra fort (among other places).

Room Tip: Get a room with a View of the Taj Mahal. What's the point other-Wise?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Òmó F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

It is a pleasure to read your praise of our hotel and its services. We try our best to make our guests feel comfortable so that they can enjoy their stay thoroughly. Our teams have been selected and trained in order to ensure that they exceed our guests expectations everytime.

Thank you for choosing us and we hope to welcome you back to The Oberoi Amarvilas.

Thank you.
Ankush Mahajan
Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Well what do you say about his property.
The views are what you predominately come for but the hotel will not let you down either.
The rooms are well appointed and can all see the Taj Mahal during the day.
The pool area is something else, a great place to relax after arising for the Essential early morning Taj Mahal visit.
Cocktails by the pool are great, loved the Long Island iced tea.
Check in and out was quick and easy, and loved the no tipping policy at this hotel.
If you desired a tip is paid to reception in check out which is then distributed to all staff, very well organised.

Room Tip: If you can afford, choose a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive feedback is appreciated as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests. The hotel indeed does offer beautiful views of the Taj Mahal from all rooms, lobby and the lounge. The swimming pool is one of the most beautiful places of the hotel to come back after a long tiring day of sightseeing and enjoy the delicious mock tails. We believe in making our guests stay as comfortable as possible and therefore our gratuity policy was implemented.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future

Thank you.
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I did not stay here but took lunch during my visit to Agra.
I asked to look at some rooms with the idea of staying here on a future visit.
All rooms have Taj Mahal View.
Rooms were excellent and I would definitely stay here.
Lunch was again excellent.
Beautiful pool and gardens area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WOLFSPIRITTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor which is much appreciated.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your lunch with us and liked the hotel. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the not so distant future.

If there is any assistance required to make reservations, please feel free to write to me at ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Thank you,
Ankush Mahajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 145 in Agra
3,845 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 145 in Agra
2,714 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Property: The Oberoi Amarvilas
Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing