We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Divine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi Amarvilas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Divine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We didn't stay here as it was beyod our travelling budget but we did do drinks here for a friend's birthday and it was lovely. The decor is sensational, stylish and just beautiful. The staff are dressed in Punjabi style, in northern patterned fabric and look just gorgeously handsome. You can sit outside and watch the sun set around the Taj Mahal, have a gin and tonic and wish that you had extra cash to spend on accommodation! Amazingly, they even gave our friend a small gift for his birthday! Talk about customer service. A beautifully elegant and stylish hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lilipealea13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Amarvilas during your visit to the hotel and a fantastic review.

Our endeavor is to be known for friendly, intuitive and personalized yet professional and it is great to know that you were impressed with the personal touch in our service delivery.

Our resort offers an excellent opportunity to relax and unwind in tranquil surroundings and this is what our guests appreciate the most about us as it balances the vibrant and bustling charm of Agra.

As they say, a place is because of its people and so is our resort. I am blessed with a team of committed and enthusiastic people.I have personally shared your appreciation with my entire team.

We all look forward to have you and your friends come and stay with us in not so distant furture. If i can be of any assistance, please feel free to write to me at ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Best regards

Ankush Mahajan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,467
    323
    87
    20
    13
See reviews for
587
1,486
122
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, ct
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

The oberoi amarvilas was perhaps the most luxurious and opulent hotel I have ever stayed at. It is the closest hotel to the Taj Mahal and each room has a beautiful view of the taj. It is the only hotel from which you can have a uniformed punjabi with a beard and turban drive you to the taj entrance by private golf cart. All the wait staff and room stewards are dressed in turbans and the Indian pajama coats and are extremely attentive and courteous. The swimming pool at the oberoi amarvilas was the most spectacular hotel pools I've ever seen. The gardens are beautiful and impeccable. It was not crowded when we stayed there, perhaps because it is expensive which made it all the more elegant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dealing46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am delighted to read the favorable review of your stay at the hotel. The hotel does indeed offer stunning views of the Taj Mahal from all guest rooms, lobby area and the Bar. The proximity to the monument as well as day long shuttle service via hotel golf cart, makes your visit as convenient as possible.

Thank you for your kind praise of the hotel, facilities, gardens and pool area, as well as of the service received from our well trained team members. The same will be shared with them gladly.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you again to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Regards,

Ankush Mahajan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
171 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed only one night at the Oberoi but it was a spectacular one. We had reserved a premier room but were given room 508 which seemed like a suite, with an enormous balcony and fabulous view. When you entered the room into a hallway there was a walk-in closet/dressing suite on the right with a huge safe and fine cotton robes. Straight ahead was one of the largest hotel bathrooms we've ever had, with a deep soaking tub, two separate vanities, and an excellent shower. There was even a view of the Taj Mahal from the toilet! The bath amenities provided were outstanding. You could walk out to the balcony directly from the bathroom. Next to the bathroom was the bedroom, with a king-sized bed, writing desk, comfy chair, and large windows with a glass door leading to the balcony. Thank goodness for the stocked minibar, as we were staying at the hotel two days before the election and no alcohol was being served anywhere! We were happy to raid the minibar and order in room service, which was fantastic. There was a pillow menu in the room. Breakfast the next morning was a lovely buffet plus you could order anything you wanted a la carte. My husband was craving banana pancakes and even though they weren't on the menu, they were happy to serve them (with whipped cream). From the bindi they placed on my forehead when I arrived to the chilled towels, all of the hotel service was spectacular. We requested a late checkout the next day due to a late flight out of Delhi, and they graciously allowed us to stay in the room until 3pm at no extra charge. Therefore after visiting the Taj that morning we had plenty of time to relax in the gorgeous swimming pool prior to checking out and also visited the four shops in the boutique area which had nice selections of gifts. Poolside service is excellent as well. I recommend this hotel most highly and would love to return someday.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor for best views. All rooms have a view of the Taj Mahal, but the view from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for staying with us and fro posting your review on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read your wonderful comments regarding your stay here. I am glad that various room facilities were to your liking. Our luxurious yet understated décor is meant to provide the perfect ambience to enjoy the stunning view of the iconic monument, which is visible from every guest room and suite.

The restaurants and pool area are a great place to relax after sightseeing. Our trained and guest focused team members are aware that every visit to the Taj Mahal is special and attempt to personalize your experience as far as possible. Your kind praise regarding the food and service at various areas will be shared gladly with the concerned team members. I am sure that it will be a source of inspiration to them.

We hope that you will soon visit one of our Oberoi Hotels and Resorts.

Regards,

Ankush Mahajan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The hotel and the grounds are beautiful, and the location is very close to the Taj Mahal. My room was well apportioned, and had very nice amenities (including a view of the Taj Mahal). I enjoyed the restaurant, and the hotel staff is very attentive and efficient. Overall, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to read the kind comments regarding your stay at the hotel. I am glad to know that the hotel location and views were satisfactory. The Oberoi Amarvilas does indeed offer unparalleled views of the eternal monument from every guest room window, while our restaurants and pool area offer picturesque views of our beautifully landscaped grounds.

Thank you for your appreciation of the service at the hotel. It will my pleasure to share the same with our team members.

We hope that you will visit us again in the not so distant future.

Regards,

Ankush Mahajan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

All rooms Overlook the Taj Mahal, and its very close to the Mosque, with a Free shuttle.
When you arrive, you will just feel like Royalty, the surrounds, the Service , the atmosphere, it is simply awesome. The food was excellent as was the highly trained staff. Its not cheap, but is good Value.
Its a 3 Minute free shuttle ride to the Taj Mahal, and you can't wait to get back to the Hotel and suck up the Opulence.
One of the best Hotels in the world. Only downside- shower water was a bit brown, that was a bit of a put off, but water did not smell.

Room Tip: Try to get close to the Elevators, otherwise a long walk - as its a spread out Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thanksmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am glad to read your favorable comments regarding the hotel ambience, décor and location. The view of the Taj Mahal from every guest room window, as well as the panoramic view from the lobby, sets the tone for a truly special stay.

I am likewise pleased to learn that you enjoyed the food and service in our fine restaurants. Your kind comments will definitely be shared with our team. I have noted your feedback regarding the coloured water from the taps. This occurs from time to time in this season and it is for this reason that we provide complementary drinking water in all our guest rooms. We are already working on the same and will be able to sort this out at our earliest.

I hope that memories of your stay will tempt you to return soon to the Oberoi Amarvilas.

Regards,

Ankush Mahajan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We went to the oberoi after the taj for Late lunch and tea... After being here for a few hours we hope to stay there next time,
The service was amazing, the pool looked great which we didn't go into.
We had the food which was delicious and good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miroslava J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing us to come and enjoy a meal and afternoon tea with us while you were visiting Agra. Thank you for taking the time to post your reviews and I am delighted to read that you plan to stay with us on your next visit with us.

My team joins me in welcoming you to The Oberoi Amarvilas is not so distant future and I will be happy to assist you with reservation for your stay, Please write to me on ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com.

Regards
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed one night on a Delhi/Rajasthan tour purely because every room has a view of the Taj Mahal. It really was magnificent! We had a Premier room with balcony. The room was similar in price to the palace hotels we stayed in later on our trip: while the room was smaller in size and its fittings more modest, the compensation was the view.

We slept well, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the service was excellent and the restaurants were very good. But at the end of the day the reason for staying here is to be able to go to sleep with and wake up to the view of the Taj Mahal.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a balcony - it is usable and to fully enjoy the view, essential!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LongPaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel does of course afford beautiful views of the Taj Mahal from every guest room.

Thank you for your kind praise of the rooms, food and service at the hotel. It will be a source of inspiration to our team at the hotel. I hope that we have been successful in helping create memories for a lifetime for you.

We look forward to welcoming you once more to our hotel in the not too distant future.
Regards,

Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,675 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Property: The Oberoi Amarvilas
Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Booking.com so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing