We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,450)
Filter reviews
3,450 results
Traveller rating
2,971
357
89
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,971
357
89
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf cartbellevue restaurantbalcony roomindian restaurantonce in a lifetimepremier roombeautiful hotelplace to staythe general managerpool area isbeautiful poolthalinew delhian oasistaj vieweast gateagra fort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,626 - 1,631 of 3,450 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The Oberoi hotels in India really are the premier properties in India. They are beautifully designed and the staff are trained very well. We enjoyed our stay here. A special mention goes to Prachi Sati, the front office manager, who was very helpful in forwarding a package that we were waiting for from Mumbai. The only minor complaint I would have, is that the cleaning detail in the bathrooms were not great. The sink credenza had a lot of dust below on the wicker and on the front facing - this was very noticeable and should have been taken care of by housekeeping.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is located at about at about 600 meters from the hotel and all our rooms have a view of the Taj Mahal and beautifully manicured gardens. However, I have made a note of your feedback regarding the housekeeping and maintenance of your room and please be assured these matters are being addressed with the concerned teams. Your detailed feed back is much appreciated and will be put to good use in our endeavour to provide the highest standards of care and service to our guests.

It will be my pleasure to convey your special mention to Prachi.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again.

Best wishes,

Ankush Mahajan
Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Excellent 5* hotel, old fashioned but very stylish, with impressive view on Taj Mahal. We received warm hospitality and a perfect punctual service during our stay. We felt like kings. Good spa and nice outdoor swimming pool.

We bought our entree tickets for the Taj Mahal at the concierge desk. Hotel provides golf cart shuttle to the Taj Mahal (few minutes drive), even at 05:45 at sunrise.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lord Curzon Suite. Room 523.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WithLoveFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read your generous praise of the hotel and to learn that the cuisine was to your liking. The swimming pool is indeed among one of the most beautiful highlights of the hotel. We offer complimentary golf cart services for all our guests ensuring the monument is just minutes away.

It will be my pleasure to share your comment with the team which will be highly motivating for them. I am likewise pleased that our team members were able to add to your experience with their service.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the not so distant future.

Thank you,

Ankush Mahajan

Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

What a beauty!! We stayed for two nights with the family and were given interconnecting rooms. Both the rooms had a direct view of the Taj Mahal. The check in process was incredibly straight forward being done in the room itself. The kids were given some gifts as well. The visit to Taj was a minute drive on the golf cart where we were met with the guide.
Overall excellent stay.

Room Tip: Always try to speak to the manager to get complimentary wifi
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bijayendra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor.

It is my pleasure to read of your pleasant experience with us. All our rooms have a beautiful view of the magnificent monument. We try and make our guest comfortable and specially our younger guest so they can have a memorable and enjoyable stay with us.

We also have a complimentary shuttle service to the Taj Mahal for all our guests ensuring the monument is just minutes away.

Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,

Ankush Mahajan

Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Our family had the pleasure of visiting this hotel in July 2014. We rented 2 rooms that overlooked the Taj Majal and the view was amazing from the 4th floor. Our rooms were nicely furnished with high quality linens. The service FROM ALL the hotel staff was incredible. There was not a single employee who passed by without a warm greeting "Namaste!". That really made a huge difference. We were on vacation in India for 2 weeks and, by far, The Oberoi was my favorite hotel we stayed in. Perhaps it was "off-season", but we felt like we had the hotel to ourselves. We only saw a few people in the pool and restaurant. The grounds and hotel are like a palace. Highly recommended. Final note, it is only a 5 minute golf cart ride to the Taj Mahal from the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room on 4th floor that offered a great view of the pool and Taj Mahal.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBuryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor.

It is my pleasure to read of your experience with us. The Taj Mahal is situated at about 600 meters from the hotel and the proximity allows uninterrupted views from all our rooms and most of the public areas. We also provide complimentary golf cart service for all our guest to the Taj Mahal ensuring the monument is just minutes away.

It is our endeavor is to ensure that all your needs are well catered to. It is our trained and guest focused team which is our most valuable asset. I am glad that their dedicated service has made this stay a once in a life time experience for you.

Thank you for your kind recommendation and we hope to welcome you back again in the not so distant future.

Best wishes,

Ankush Mahajan

Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

What a stunning hotel! We stayed at The Oberoi for one night and I specifically chose it for its location to the Taj Mahal.

We paid a little extra to have a balcony overlooking the Taj, which was incredible and well worth the money. Drinking Champagne as we watched the sunset over the Taj was breathtaking and an unforgettable experience.

Our room was large and well appointed. The pool area was stunning as well as the hotel entrance.

Staff were excellent - extremely polite and attentive.

I would highly recommend this hotel - it was stunning!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dace11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. The swimming pool is indeed one of the most beautiful and serene places in the hotel, while the view of the Taj Mahal from all our guest rooms is definitely unparalleled. However, we believe that it is our efficient and dedicated team which set us apart.

It is my pleasure to read that you enjoyed the sunset over the Taj Mahal along with drinks in your balcony, taking back memories for a life time.

Thank you for you recommendation and we hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Best Wishes,

Ankush Mahajan

Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews