We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with incredible view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with incredible view”
Reviewed 20 March 2009

My wife and I stayed in the Amarvilas one night while we were in Agra to see the Taj Mahal. The hotel is superb - beautiful, with excellent, friendly staff. Our room was moderate in size and very well appointed, although - nice as it was - the highlights were the balcony, overlooking the hotel's gorgeous gardens and pool and, in the distance, the Taj itself, and the lovely bathroom. We had a delicious room service dinner which was beautifully served on the portable table on which it was served. The breakfast buffet was excellent. I was pleasantly surprised that the loud chanting we heard all evening while on the balcony (from a nearby mosque perhaps) was absolutely inaudible when we closed the sliding glass door. We paid handsomely for this room and the other hotels during our stay in India, but I must say that they were all among the very finest hotels we have experienced anywhere in the world. Having stayed at two Oberois, we would interpret the brand as a very strong endorsement for future trips.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEW15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,615
    333
    89
    20
    13
See reviews for
635
1,553
126
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (848)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2009

After staying at this hotel, I have a hard time giving any other hotel a "5" rating. The oberoi really does steal that rating. Every detail was amazing- from the room, to the view of the Taj mahal, to the spa...and the service was amazing as well. I realize this hotel is expensive, but I have stayed at a lot of expensive hotels and this is the first time I felt it was worth it. Usually you don't get all that much for your money, but at the Oberoi, you are paying for the experience, not just the room. We had one of the staff members walk us through the grounds, and explain the history of Agra. The next day, we were personally escorted to the Taj mahal, where they enlisted local police to walk us to the door so we wouldn't be harassed by people trying to sell us things. The grounds are beautiful, and the architecture almost as pretty as the taj mahal (though not quite!). Seriously, just spend the money to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragonlady15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Amarvillas while visiting India in transit to Bhutan...We arranged for the hotel to meet us at the airport in Delhi...They met us as we cleared customs and drove us to the hotel...The driver was very courteous and we arrived at the hotel around 4 in the afternooon...The hotel is located within walking distance of the Taj Mahal and is finished in great detail...There is a view from the Taj from the back of the hotel, the grounds and the pool...Our room had a balcony and a view of the Taj...It was finished in the same style as the hotel and with all the modern amenities...There was also a spa/fitness center and a business center...We took a quick visit to the Taj (literally a 10 minute walk and a 5 minute golf cart ride) and vowed to come back in the morning, for the sunrise...The Indian restaurant (there is also a Western one) was very tasty and had fantastic decoration...On the way back to Delhi the hotel car drove us to various sights on the way and in the city itself...I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else and think that the Amarvillas is one of the most unique hotels in the world

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Words cannot describe this hotel! Waking up in the morning with a view of the Taj Mahal in the distance is beyond breathtaking. And it wasn't just the views- the service, the rooms, the food, everything!

The hotel was simply exquisite. The layout, lobby, pool, and of course, the views from every single room. This must be one of the nicest hotels in the world I've ever had the pleasure of staying it. It is worth every penny of the exorbitant cost. I knew we only had one night in Agra, and we had to stay at the nicest hotel- I have no regrets!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccnolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2009

Even though the hotel was beyond my usual budget, spending a night here was worth every penny!! Fantastic service, priceless view, pool(and teddy bear gift from the hotel) my 5 year old daughter really enjoyed and a massage my wife raved about. For the Taj Mahal experience, this is it!

  • Liked — The view and the service. The balcony was a great place from which to gaze at Taj Mahal
  • Disliked — For the money, the rooms could have been a little better.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AwesomeSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2009

We stayed three nights here, and loved the hotel. Our suite was very comfortable, and had a magnificent view of the Taj. The staff were very friendly and efficient. In fact, our stay was really perfect. Food was good; public spaces lovely; location great. (This hotel is in great contrast to the Rajvilas, which was not good). The property really is spectacular and well managed.

My only issue is with the no-refund policy for changes in reservations. I understand this policy when hotels are full, as the hotel loses out on revenue it otherwise would have if there is a cancellation; but the policy is simply unjustifiable when hotels are half empty as they are at present.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crulezim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

This hotel really is as amazing as it appears on their website. A balcony room is an essential as the view is breathtaking. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and you really feel as though you are miles away from the dirt and noise of Agra. The hotel takes you to the entrance of The Taj Mahal by golf cart and collects you in the same way. The food is lovely and although there were a few slip ups with my food allergy, they did everything they could to make up for this! Although the hotel is beautiful it is not worth the £700/night that we paid but you are paying the premium for the view which you can't get from any other hotel. If I went back to Agra I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairmont123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 145 in Agra
3,900 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 145 in Agra
2,735 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Property: The Oberoi Amarvilas
Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing