We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst TAJ Hotel ever and double the price of TAJ Delhi” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Ranked #9 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst TAJ Hotel ever and double the price of TAJ Delhi”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Taj should take off their name from this hotel.
Very expensive, worst value for any amount of money, basically a motel.
ITC hotel in front was a lot better, will discourage anybody from staying here, The only bad stay in our trip. Rest of hotels such as Taj Mahal Delhi, Taj Jai mahal and oberoi vanyavilas were miles ahead.

We got duped by the Taj name. I know you will say that its only a budget chain of Taj and not comparable ....BUT the price was double of Taj Mahal Delhi, a premier property. DISSAPOINTING.....never have we stayed at a worst hotel.

This hotel /motel is a stigma on TAJ brand while the Oberois have gone miles ahead.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandeep j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PulkesinM, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Sir

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel Agra

At the onset please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations

We would like to inform you that the room tariff during the last week of December tend to be on a higher side as the inventory of the city is low in comparison to the demand of rooms. As per your suggestion we have also planned a detailed renovation of rooms for the upcoming year.
I deeply regret the inconvenience & discomforts caused to you and hope that this incident will not diminish your otherwise favorable regard for the Gateway Hotels & Resorts.
I would also request you to please feel free to contact me for any future reservations so that we can try to make up for your experience o this visit
We look forward to having you stay with us again in future. Please do get in touch with me for any further assistance.

Warm Regards

Amit Tandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    714
    311
    60
    34
See reviews for
593
681
85
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Really enjoyed our night here - hard to believe we stayed in the same hotel as some of the negative reviews below!

Staff were courteous and welcoming throughout, check-in and check-out were quick and easy. Our room was extremely comfortable (just what we needed after a long overnight train journey), the food was delicious and the drive to the Taj short

The gardens and pool looked lovely, sadly in January it's a bit cold so not really the right time to enjoy all of the facilities. We didn't have time to use the spa either. We ate dinner in Jhankar, the Indian restaurant off the lobby, and had a few drinks at the bar - the prices are high, but we were not disappointed with the quality or experience, and the chef gave us a tour of the kitchen after our meal and showed us how the various breads are made which we enjoyed. Breakfast was the best selection of our trip to India

We had a Taj view room on the 4th floor - it was very nice walking into the room and seeing the Taj for the first time, but it is a bit distant and on a foggy day it disappears entirely! Perhaps therefore not worth fussing too much about which side you are on, if anything the city side of the hotel is probably quieter. If we had one complaint, it was that quite a bit of traffic noise which seemed to be down to a window not sealing properly. Not disruptive enough to stop us sleeping

A great base to stay for the Taj too, which was obviously the main point of our trip. We went once in the afternoon and once at opening time the next morning - can't recommend this highly enough as it is so much better to see the building without the crowds and the early morning lighting is beautiful

Thanks for a great stay, highly recommended for anyone spending a night or two in Agra. It is quite an expensive hotel, but for a short stay and in a touristy city we certainly felt it was reasonable value

Room Tip: City view probably quieter, cheaper and the Taj view rooms don't have a very impressive Taj view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OL_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra
I would like to express our gratitude for your valuable feedback.
I would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the entire hotel team and this will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra

Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards
Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
199 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

The title of the review refers to how it felt when I was in the pool area in the back garden of the hotel, very old style feel, luxurious yet not modern ? The hotel had a nice lobby, secured entry way, however, was not impressed with the rooms. Tile floors, wooden furniture, things is poor repair, extreme street noise, poorly sealed windows. In all honesty everything was just too old and needed a complete overhaul, the prices they charge do not match what you get. We did have a great view of the Taj Mahal, however, there is a massive neighborhood of ugly buildings between the hotel and Taj Mahal. There are better hotels nearer the Taj Mahal, probably even cheaper.

Room Tip: Taj facing rooms are more expensive and subject to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Sir

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel Agra

At the onset please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations in terms of the product

I would like to assure you that we are taking necessary corrective action and are planning a phase wise renovation of the 4th and 5th floor on which you would have stayed.

I deeply regret the inconvenience & discomforts caused to you and hope that this incident will not diminish your otherwise favorable regard for the Gateway Hotels & Resorts.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in future. Please do get in touch with me for any further assistance.

Warm Regards

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at the Gateway for two nights and checked-in exactly on New Year Eve. This is a lovely hotel to stay at and a very pleasant oasis in the middle of quite noisy and dirty Agra very close to Taj Mahal. We enjoyed every minute of our stay there. Despite of not very nice exterior, inside you find very friendly and cozy environment. Hotel is not new but well-kept with its unique charm in every even the smallest detail. Staff is far beyond all praise. Everyone is very attentive, helpful and highly professional. Rooms are quite spacey with very nice decoration. Everything is very clean. Somebody might say that design is a little bit tired, but old-fashioned furniture, incrusted red sandstone bed-heads, carved marble panels and marble flooring create very cozy atmosphere. You feel here like at home. Beds are very comfortable. At first I was afraid of street noise (our room was overlooking the street), but then I understood that many complaints about it were very much exaggerated – street sounds did not bother us at all and even added some charm :-). But if you would like to avoid them at all – choose garden view rooms. But in this case you’ll have no chance to see Taj Mahal from your window. On our last morning fog dispersed and we managed to see its dome – a magnificent view. I liked the grounds – vast lawns and very pleasant-looking pool, unfortunately, it was very cold for swimming and sun bathing. Breakfast in GAD restaurant was excellent. Live sitar music in the mornings was very nice detail. We did not have usual dinner in the hotel, but stayed there for New Year Gala Dinner. The variety and quality of food were beyond expectation. And they offered unlimited IMFL, but you have to pay extra for Champagne and wines. Overall, this is a very good hotel and I would recommend it without any reservations.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anechka_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra

I would like to express our gratitude for your valuable feedback.

I am delighted to know that we ahve been able to meet your expectations with your stay at our Hotel. I have shared your appreciation for our services with the entire hotel team and this will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.

I look forward to welcome you back at The Gateway Hotel Agra In the near Future

Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here for one night in October 2013. This was very much a western hotel with lots of floors in the tower block overlooking an amazing pool almost Olympic size and when we were there to our astonishment unused by the other guests. Our included breakfast was enormous with options from cooked Indian dishes to fresh fruit. Our room was very clean with a big bed and great bathroom which had a glass wall with a blind that when opened offered a view out across the city while in the shower.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sgcf48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra
I would like to express our gratitude for your valuable feedback.
I would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with our coffee shop team and the Housekeeping team and they were delighted to know that they were able to provide you the service as per requirement .

These Kind words of yours will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra

Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards
Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Quite a large hotel in a good area and near the sites of Agra.
Easy walk to the city shopping area but be prepared for the usual sellers following you when walking about the town.
Rooms are the standard size large hotel chain design, of a reasonable size with satellite TV and either a view over the pool or a supposed view of the Taj Mahal. The view of the Taj, if it is not foggy, is probably not worth having, as nothing will beat the views when visiting the monument.

Very small gym, large pool and friendly staff, so much so that I managed a visit to the kitchen with Balkan who was a good host showing me the very clean and well appointed kitchen cooking area along with the Tandoori ovens.
Breakfast is buffet and was adequate with a cooking station giving fresh cooked eggs to you requirement. Plenty of fresh fruit available and large selection of food. Overall a reasonable standard hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel with a supposed view of the Taj Mahal can be noisy as they face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra

I would like to express our gratitude for your valuable feedback.

I would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the entire hotel team and especially with the Kitchen team for showing the kitchen to you and this will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.
We would also like to inform you that we are undertaking the soundproofing of rooms and assure you that the Taj facing rooms will be noise free by your next visit

We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra
Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Very happy with our stay here. Rooms were spacious and clean and we felt safe with the security in place downstairs. However the bathroom
Was really run down and let down this hotel. It felt clean enough to use but attention to this detail would improve ratings. There are a number of restaurants to choose from with the Indian downstairs being quote nice as was breakfast. Strangely there was a magician and puppet show for entertainment in the foyer. Check out the gift stores off the foyer as the prices for marble items were much better, and less pushy than where our tour guide had taken us. A Taj facing room had a faint outline of the on a foggy day - it is no where near as close as the hotel photos suggest

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank webbsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Mam

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel Agra

At the onset please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in the quality of Bathroom of your room.

I would like to assure you that we are taking necessary corrective action , as we have planned a detailed renovation of the rooms to ensure that the product, especially the bathrooms are upgraded.

I deeply regret the inconvenience & discomfort caused to you and hope that this incident will not diminish your otherwise favorable regard for the Gateway Hotels & Resorts.

I look forward to having you stay with us again in future. Please do get in touch with me for any further assistance.

Warm Regards

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,675 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.7 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Property: The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
#8 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#9 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing