We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Property with excellent view of Tajmahal from the rooms... ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Ranked #9 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice Property with excellent view of Tajmahal from the rooms... ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

The best thing about this property is the location. It very close to Tajmahal and it clearly visible from most of the Taj facing rooms. Ours were executive room on 5th floor with clear view of Tajmahal from the bed. Interior of the room, especially the bathroom is quite old and requires up gradation. Buffet breakfast and dinner spread was good and services were fast most of the time except on 16th August when the hotel was full to its capacity. Nice puppet show at the dinner time, my kid enjoyed it very much. Swimming pool was very big and clean.
Best thing about this hotel was it's staff, most of them are very senior in age but they were perfect in what they do. Thanks for making my holiday memorable.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Abhay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to review us on Trip Advisor.. Your time and feedback is precious to us.

We are happy to note your positive comments on our product, food and service.

I have also conveyed your gracious comments to the team, for whom it been a tremendous source of inspiration.
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to Agra and to our hotel.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely,

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    714
    312
    60
    34
See reviews for
594
682
85
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Location of hotel is very convenient and is not very far from Taj Mahal. The view of Taj is obstructed by some ugly looking construction. Staff is very friendly like any other Taj property. General look and feel of both the hotel and the rooms is efficient. However it lacks the luxury feel of other Taj properties.
Food was passable though the service levels were good. Another advantage is that its walking distance from the best restaurant in town!

Room Tip: Try to take room on higher floor for unhindered view of Taj
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PunitBanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to write about us.
I have conveyed your compliments to the team, for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.
I have also taken up your feedback about the quality of food and have discussed the same with chef to further improve upon it.

It is our constant endeavour to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us.

We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Thank you and regards,

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight at the Gateway hotel in Agra. It was our first experience of staying in a Taj group property and I must stayed it was a cherishable one. We got to stay in their best room ..the Farahbaksh suite. The suite was beautiful with a view of Taj Mahal. The restaurant was great and also a nice pool allows a good relaxation.
Overall, we had a great time. Thanks to all the staff .

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rashna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our product and service.

I have conveyed your compliments to the team, for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. We are happy to note your appreciation about our Farahbaksh Suite. The Front Office team was also pleased to know that their efforts were so well appreciated.

It is our constant endeavour to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us.

We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Thank you and regards,

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights. Staff is excellent. Any thing you say is done. Cleanliness, service and everything that can be mentioned is to its best. I have always been a fan of Taj and this hotel was no different. If you think of 5 star I think there is no one like Taj... Too good and simply the best

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Syedmhuq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to write about us.

We are glad that you liked the hotel and our services. The little touches that the team does go a long way to delight our guests, your feedback has just reassured us of this fact.
Your positive sentiments have been shared with the team. I am sure this will go a long way to motivate them further to keep up the high levels of guest services.

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Warm Regards

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Gateway Hotel in Agra is a wonderful hotel. They gave us a lovely welcome and the staff are really helpful and attentive. The room was beautiful and had a lovely view. The hotel was far enough away from the road and this makes it a lot quieter than other hotels. The swimming pool is lovely and was quite empty when we were there so we had plenty of space to swim freely. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us during your visit to Agra.

We would like to covey our sincere thanks for taking time to update your experience on Trip Advisor. Your time and praise is overwhelming and precious to us.

We are delighted to read your fantastic review and sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our product, restaurants, food and services and especially the pool.

Your compliments have been shared with the entire team, for whom it will be great source of inspiration.

It is our constant effort to ensure we meet up with the services, faciliti es and products that our guests have come to expect from us. Feedback as this will encoway urage us to strive for even higher standards of service.
Me and my team look forward to welcom you back to the Gateway hotel agra on your next visit to agra

Warm Regards

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is little bit old but nice, the rooms are clean and the service in the restaurant is awesome, they gave us access to visit the kitchen and see the preparation of some Indian delicatessen so that was a good experience for us, and the dosa at the breakfast was one of the best in India, at least for me.

The price at the restaurant was reasonable and the swimming pool area is very nice.

We had a room with view of the Taj Majal and for us was important and obviously we were close to it

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pablopaz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to write about us.

We are glad that you liked the hotel and our services. Your feedback has just reassured us of the fact that the little touches that the team does go a long way to delight our guests.
We are happy to note your culinary experience with our chefs in the kitchen
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to Agra and to our hotel.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely,

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

After a terrible experience with a hotel in vrindavan we reached Taj Gateway and by the time we checked out we just forgot all our woes.

In front office Ali along with his colleagues warmly welcomed us into their property. In all our journeys our son is the focal point and he was taken care very very well. Their Room Service ensured that my son got his meals as per his likes, warm, fresh and on time always. In the evening the Room Service surprised us by sending across a piece of cake with the name of my son which he enjoyed eating. We tasted a piece and was delicious, less sugar and very well done.

This was our second visit to a different Gateway property. Earlier one was at Jaisalmer. And we must say we are a big fan of them and their impeccable service. Kudos to the team in background and fore who work tirelessly making it all happen.

Our special thanks to Ali.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitinaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Gateway Hotel Agra and for sharing your wonderful feedback with us. We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay experience at the hotel and liked our hospitality and services.
We are delighted to read your fantastic review and sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our product, restaurants, food and services.

Your compliments have been shared with the entire team,and especially Ali for whom it will be great source of inspiration
We thank you once again for your appreciative feedback and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Regards
Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#11 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,684 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.7 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Property: The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
#8 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#9 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and HostelWorld so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing