We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Room with a View - of the Taj !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Ranked #8 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2009

The view of the Taj - that is what this hotel is first and foremost about - so it is important to ensure one gets a 'Room with a View'.
The hotel has an easy atmosphere about it - very efficient but at ththe same time moving at a pace where they do not intrude on your easy paced holiday.
We stayed in a nice comfortable room with a good view of the Taj - not wasy to see it after dark though. The higher the floor you take for your room the better

Very good restaurants, pleasant staff - makes for a great holiday
Not too expensive, not run of the mill

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RVivekanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,690 - 1,696 of 2,069 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2009

Great hotel in a great location

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank daqad2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

I stayed at the Gateway hotel for one night. The hotel is about a 3 minute drive from the entrance to the Taj Mahal, so it's VERY convenient.
I had a room with a City view (not the Taj view). There is a lot of pollution though, so you can't really see the Taj Mahal very well from the hotel anyway. The room was clean and well lit. Had a good set of cable television channels and the bathroom was well equipped and everything worked. There was a tea/coffee maker and the tea was excellent!
I ordered room service - a vegetarian combo meal for dinner the night of my stay and it was just MIND BLOWING!!! I would go back just to eat that "Thali". Service was fast and presentation was good.
I also used the spa for a 60 minute pedicure which was very relaxing and quiet.
The staff was very helpful and answered all inquiries about Agra/vicinity.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nspiratn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

on arrival we were upgraded to a room with a view of the Taj. As we were a group of 3, we were comfortably accommodated in a large double room with a fold out bed. pool is fab. this place is a little oasis in the hubbub of agra. with an early start to visit the Taj, the hotel prepared a takeaway breakfast for us. service was impeccable.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldelpasoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

We spent just one night here en route from Delhi to Ranthambore.

When we arrived, having booked with an internet booking agency , the hotel had no record of our reservation.We had of course various conformatory e mails and the staff were incredibly sweet and nice about the whole thing, even though the mix up was not their fault. When it was all sorted we were upgraded to a top floor room with a magnificent Taj view and given a complimentary breakfast!

The hotel is perfectly situated for visits to the Taj which really is absolutely awsome and is even more spectacular than you can possibly imagine. We went there in the late afternoon and whilst there were lots of people about it certainly did not feel overwhelming. The following morning was very foggy so we were really glad that we went the previous afternoon.

Dinner at the hotel was great , but be warned that portions in the main restuarant are enormous and the food , whilst devine, is very rich.

Breakfast was a decent buffet and before long we were off to Ranthambore by train.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ire123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

It was an ideal place to return to after a heavy day sight seeing, a dip in the pool, rest in the sun,and then drinks and food.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James_birduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

The hotel & service were excellent. Would definitely stay there again.
On arrival we did not even need to go to the reception desk, check in staff came over & knew who we were, asked us to take a seat & provided nice refereshing drinks whilst they got the paper work together. Within 10 minutes we were in our rooms.
Food was very good. Rooms more than adequate & clean. Nothing was too much trouble fro the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familytraveller050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
1 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 143 in Agra
4,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
1.2 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 143 in Agra
2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
#7 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range: £74 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing