We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Ranked #7 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2006

This was great hotel. I selected it after reading trip advisor and I was so glad I had read about it first.

We arrived with our car and driver from Delhi late at night and we were greeted with flowers and a complementary drink. The manager gave us a tour of our hotel while he had his associates check us in to our room. Once we got up to our room we were even more pleased by the ammenities in the suite we selected. The two room suite had a dinning table, desk, sofa, and Flat screen tv in the living room portion. The bedroom had a king bed with a little sofa to sit on and a nice closet. But the best thing was the shower and tub in the bathroom. They were SPA styled. The shower shot water at you from head to toe and the bathtub had a hand held shower attached to its fawcet. This was great because I was traveling with my handicapped mother. She was able to bathe with ease. Then we all enjoyed the complementary massage oils in the bathroom and the perfume olis in the living room. Then they served us dinner in the room and it was exceptional. They have a great dinning on site but since my mom was not walking well we opted for the in room service. It was all great. Once the sun came up the next day we were amazed at the spectacular view of the Taj. It was all well worth the stay. I can't wait to return to the Taj View with my husband. This place really exceeded my expectations. Go for the suite and the view, it is well worth the extra dollars.

2  Thank sybilphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,008)
There are newer reviews for The Gateway Hotel, Agra
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,730 - 1,736 of 2,008 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2006

We stayed two nights in June. We arrived late and went directly to our nicely appointed Mughal style rooms on the 5th floor. The following morning I was treated to a majestic view of the Taj Mahal.

The restaurants were adequate, although the breakfast buffet was very good. The Indian restaurant did have some good dishes.

The service was very friendly. Upon losing a button of a shirt that was laundered, the staff attended us until a replacement was found and re-attached. A delightful hostess tracked down a recipe from the chef that we commented that we liked.

The pool was mysteriously closed and we were taken to the Sheraton for pool use instead.

We got a great summer rate and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sfmwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2006

Given the chaos in Agra, the Taj View was an oasis of comfort. Compared to other Taj hotels, however, this is easily the worst property I've stayed at. We had a nice Taj Mahal facing room. First problem, the hotel forgot to pick us up from the train station despite numerous reminders. If you've ever been the the Agra train station, you'll know why this can be a problem--you get harassed by "agents" of other hotels begging you to give them business. Then, the hotel tried charging us $5 more than the booking price and claimed that the "system" did not include 2 people when quoting rates. This was despite the fact that my booking confirmation clearly indicated two adults. Finally, the manager agreed to charge us the original amount, but after I checked out, I noticed we'd been charged $5 more anyway. Now $5 is a really small amount, but I was annoyed at the incompetence more than anything. The actual room was nice and the bathroom was really clean. If I were ever forced to go back to Agra, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank busybee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2006

Six of us had two pool facing rooms and a Taj-facing suite between us, for two nights in April. We found a really good deal on theTaj website whereby we paid around half the usual price for the rooms, got breakfast included and also got a free 'tour' (which was use of the hotel car for a couple of hours to do whatever we liked) and 20% discount on food and drinks - worth looking out for.

The hotel is fine overall. The staff are well-intentioned and helpful: I asked a housekeeping guy outside our room for some extra towels and he came in, wiped down the entire bathroom, brought a full fresh set of towels and toiletries and tried to take my shoes from the floor and clean them! When I asked a barman if he could find out what the main spice used in one of our snacks was, the chef came out, told me in detail how to make the dish, disappeared and returned with printouts of the recipes for several of the dishes we had, and then gave me a box of one of the specialist ingredients! Restaurant service was again well-intentioned and friendly but a little confused: the six of us couldn't agree which of the two restaurants to eat in so I asked if we could sit in the a la carte Chinese restaurant but order from both menus. I was assured that this would be fine, but the staff found it confusing: food arrived at all different times, and when the final dish arrived - some pasta - it was incorrect. My daughter said she would eat what had been brought rather than wait even longer; but she asked for a fresh Coca-Cola. After several more requests, when we had all finished eating, the Coke still didn't arrive - but another bowl of pasta did! While we were all still laughing at the random nature of the service, another waiter arrived with three Cokes (one for each time we'd reminded him I think!). It certainly wasn't the place for a formal dinner, but it was friendly and good-natured and we found it amusing. The quality of the food was mixed: snacks in the bar were excellent, the Indian and Western food in the restaurant was okay but not brilliant, and the Chinese dishes were disappointing. The breakfast buffet had a wide range of foods but the quality was so-so.

The rooms were clean and satisfactory; they smelt a little damp (air conditioning problem maybe?), and although they had supposedly been recently refurbished, some of the furnishings looked a bit dated. The suite was nothing like the description on the website: it had a nice spacious bathroom but the sitting room was rather odd - the furnishings and style there seemed even more dated than the standard rooms... The Taj view is interesting though - for once you get to see the Taj Mahal surrounded by the reality of the whole town instead of the usual tourist pictures taken close up where you can't see the rest of Agra (which is pretty unattractive): we were glad to see it in this context.

In short, this was excellent value and we enjoyed our stay because it was friendly and even the lapses made us laugh: but don't stay here if you like formality in your hotels or if you lack a sense of humour.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank hmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Yorkshire
440
Reviewed 27 May 2006

We stayed in the Taj View for two nights in a room with a veiw of the Taj Mahal, the room was clean and tidy, the beds were large and comfortable. The staff were courteous and polite. While the foyer was a little dark, it was ok. There was plenty of choice for food, Indian, Chinese, English and was all very good and fresh. The pool was clean and not crowded, the service was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2006

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BrownbearBeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2006

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trudie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 142 in Agra
3,999 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.7 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
1.2 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 142 in Agra
2,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
#7 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range: £57 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing