We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Ranked #10 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Spent one night in The Gateway Hotel, which is part of the Taj chain. As with most of the higher grade hotels in India, security is tight. We were given a warm welcome and given a welcome drink on our arrival. The hotel is well located - some of the rooms have a view of the Taj Mahal. Our room over looked the pool and gardens which were very nice. The room was a reasonable size, well kitted out, very clean and had a nice bathroom. Breakfast was buffet style with a mix of Indian and continental foods. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was ok. As with all the hotels we stayed in during our trip, drinks were expensive. There are some shops just off the main reception/lounge area which were expensive and the sales assistants could be pushy! We just gave them a wide berth! There was a magician performing that evening in the reception area too. All the public areas were of a high standard and the hotel was very clean. The staff were all friendly and efficent. Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NarayanRoy, Sales Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, 8 April 2010
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Agra.

Thank you for your review. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay at our property.

We look forward to your visit in the near future and assure you of our best of services & personalised attention at all times.

Warm Regards,
Narayan Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    737
    316
    62
    34
See reviews for
614
705
88
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

The Taj View in perfectly located as it is in proximity of both, the "Taj Mahal" and the "Agra Fort", which can be reached in minutes by car. The hotel facility is well maintained and clean. The rooms are not excessive but suitable. The staff is nice and attentive. The bar area is located in the entry hall, which is not very comfortable to 'chill-out' from a busy day... the seating reminds more on 'formal dining room seating'. There is a nice Indian / Chinese restaurant located in the hotel, which provides a nice atmosphere if someone wants to stay in the hotel. The food is quite OK but not amazing (a bit too oily). One highlight to mention, try the Daal in the separate restaurant - it was one of the best that I had during the trip.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solstice07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

We had 1 night and no complaints except it is in a noisy location. The place is old but staff are welcoming, shop owners are aggressive in their selling which is off putting. We moved to clarks shiraz as they couldnt accommodate us for another 2 nights and it was of a similar standard but better value.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcgorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NarayanRoy, Sales Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, 8 April 2010
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Agra.

Thank you for your review. We have noted your concerns and would like to assure you of taking appropriate corrective/remedial actions to address the issues.

We look forward to your visit in the near future and assure you of our best of services & personalised attention at all times.

Warm Regards,
Narayan Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY and India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

I got a reasonable 2-night package price for this hotel. It's been updated since my last time there (about 9 years ago). I liked the fact that they used local handwork in the room decor and put some information up about it as well. My in-laws had a room with a view of the Taj, but it was obstructed by a building ...if they had been a few rooms to the right or left, it would be completely unobstructed. So if a Taj view is important, double check on this. It was no big deal to us, since the fog obscured it 90% of the time anyway (Delhi/Agra was having terrible fog during our trip). The Gateway is a nice hotel...very clean, the food in the a la carte restaurant was extremely good. People come and go here very quickly (as Dorothy says) and they're all pretty much doing the same thing, so there's not much atmosphere here. A very good bookshop in the lobby...do visit it...the owner is extremely knowledgeable and helpful in locating titles. It's a pity that so few people buy a book as a souvenir...and there's a great selection in this little store. My package gave me a F&B credit, and at the end, I found that the credit covered the 2 dinners I'd had at the hotel. Breakfast was included...a buffet and a perfect zoo with all the group tours getting their feed in...so try to be early for this. I liked it though (stayed at the Trident last August and that was good too...but that's another review).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NarayanRoy, Sales Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, 8 April 2010
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Agra.

Thank you for your review. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay at our property and liked the decor of the rooms, cleanliness and the food at our specialty restaurant. We have also noted your encouraging feedback for the bookshop at our lobby.

We look forward to your visit in the near future and assure you of our best of services & personalised attention at all times.

Warm Regards,
Narayan Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
España
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

We stayed in this hotel for one night when going to visit the Taj Mahal. Everything was ok, nice entrance, most of the staff were pleasent (not all). There was no free internet connection, and only for a few minutes it was very expensive even for being India.

The breakfast was fantastic like in all the hotels we stayed at in India with a big variety of food. They even had a cook who could make you a french or indian omellette if wished.

The hotel is a bit old and the room was just the basic, but we had a nice view to the Taj Mahal.

Anyway, we felt that it was not necessary to spend one night in Agra, as if you only want to see the Taj, you can do it during the day and drive on to another town.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

In the middle of the Agra Mayhem this place felt like a little Oasis of tranquility. Nice and clean and very helpful staff. I only stayed there overnight.

For dinner they had 3 options: a buffet with a good variety of food (including a pasta bar), a more classy diner setting "a la carte", and a outdoor BBQ and candlelight experience (A bit pricey). With all the kids we chose the buffet. Food was fine

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grdube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NarayanRoy, Sales Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, 8 April 2010
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Agra.

Thank you for your review. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay at our property.

We look forward to your visit in the near future and assure you of our best of services & personalised attention at all times.

Warm Regards,
Narayan Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

This hotel has probably one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in! The staff were friendly, polite and helpful. The common areas are lovely and stylish. The food was great (both dinner and breakfast). It is well located for the Taj Mahal (5 mins in hotel taxi, then electric bus / rickshaw / walk). It took a while to reach after arriving in Agra from Jaipur, since Agra is a crowded town, but it was well worth the journey. Our room overlooked the Taj Mahal, which wasn't really worth the extra money as the smog is very dense and makes it almost impossible to see the monument. Also it meant we overlooked the main road, which was very noisy. On the whole this was a great choice of hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosie1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,801 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.8 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Property: The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
#8 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#9 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing