We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Ranked #10 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Sunnyvale CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and good service”
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed for one night, we were upgraded to a suite. The suite was fabulous with nice bath room. The room had a nice view of Taj.

When we checked out the manager offered to pack some us fruits and sandwich as one of our kids was not very well. He was very prompt and very helpful.

Buffet dinner at restaurant was nice (Indian buffet) and morning breakfast was also fine. The service at the breakfast was a bit slow and chaotic and they forgot couple of requests, we needed to ask them again. It is a minor thing they can improve on. One other thing they could improve on is to offer internet in the room without additional charges as many of the hotels are doing it now. Also the check in process was a bit slow, as we came in after a long drive, we were hoping to get the check in done as soon as possible.

Overall we enjoyed the stay and we highly recommend the hotel.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank arun0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    737
    317
    62
    34
See reviews for
618
705
88
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
180 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Close to the Taj Mahal and fort, the simple exterior is not fancy, but the rooms were very comfortable, and came with a coffee maker.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeMfromWashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We visited to clebrate our 20th wedding anniversary and it was fantastic from the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and helpful. the meal they arranged excellent, Hotel Manager looked after us personally during the evening. The pool was so relaxing and peaceful after the long journey from Delhi. Would without question stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I had my travel agent book this hotel for me as i was under the impression that being under the Taj Group of hotels, the standard would be similar to any other Taj Hotels. I was so wrong. It took room service 20 mins to provide an extra towel. No bedroom slipper were provided.

The food however was pretty good.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdsg1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Well if you are after a hotel with a stunning lobby, this is the place for you. However if like me, you are more interested in your room than the lobby and want to get a good night sleep, this hotel was a bit of a let-down.
The rooms are ok but no way do they justify the expensive price tag. The Kothi heritage B&B's we stayed in had far better rooms for half the price.
We stayed over new year's eve and there was a lot of pressure applied for us to attend the new year eve party (at R4,000 each!). After much arguing we managed to get out of it. Which was just as well as the music from the disco sounded truely awful as did the buffet which we caught a glimpse of.
The music was so loud it was impossible to sleep even on the top floor of the hotel, sue mostly to the very shoddy double glazing (which has open gaps all the way round the glass).
I expected more from such an expensive hotel. I was the worst place we stayed at in 3.5 weeks in India.
I would not go to a Taj Hotel again after this experience, there are far more comfortable hotels in India which are less pretentious and offer better value.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveCrockers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We had a room at the front with a good view of the Taj Mahal. Hotel is large, modern and has plumbing that works. Room was fine, and reasonably clean, though was very noisy at night (especially on Saturday) due to the busy road outside, and the Hindu temple opposite that had very loud prayers at around 5 a.m. We would have preferred a quieter room at the back of the hotel, or would suggest that you bring ear plugs if noise at night is a worry.

Breakfast good in parts, nice fruit and cereals, but cooked breakfast not very appealing, though you can get eggs and pancakes made to order. Dinner buffet pretty good and reasonable value. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Internet access costs about 70 Rs for 30 minutes. Mineral water supplied free of charge to the room.

This accommodation was recommended by our tour operator, Select Connections in the UK, and was excellent, bar the noise from the road.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin_JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

We booked this hotel through Tripadvisor and got a good deal. It was not thqt cheap by Indian standards but was not too expensive for Agra either. It would stand comparison eith any hotel anywhere with consistently excellent service in all departemtns. food was good and reasonably priced (particularly recommend the English style puddings with an Indian twist!). Very good business centre to go online at a reasonable price. Lovely comfortable rooms, although no view of the Taj Mahal. Great to come back and relax after the rather frenetic experrience of visiting Agra's many wonderful attractions

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euroscrote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,807 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.8 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Property: The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
#8 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#9 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing