We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical "western" hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Ranked #12 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 9 June 2011

A good hotel - could not fault it. Plush foyer with impressive chandelier, helpful staff, good rooms, superb breakfast buffet, pristine swimming pool, atmospheric sky-deck restaurant with view of Taj- even a mist jet to keep you cool. Can't comment on value as it was part of a package. However I found it impersonal - typical of a hotel chain one would find anywhere in the world. And the surrounding area is awful, but that is Agra - a very dirty place so don't linger. The doorman is a nice touch - impressively kitted out in turban and full regalia

Room Tip: I think they are pretty much all standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

866 - 872 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

Being a GoldPoints Plus member, I usually prefer checking into a Carlson property wherver available - be it Country Inn or Park Plaza. So when we decided to go to Agra, I used a points + cash offer to book a room in Howard Park Plaza (a sarovar property).

After a long drive we reached the place and the check-in was a decent experience. We were made to wait and served fresh lime juice. the lobby is impressive, spacious. But the first bad experience started when I was told to go park my own car - they do no supposedly have a valet parking service! The I go in to my room and realize it wasn't really the deluxe room that I had booked. Plus the bed linen was not up to mark...torn pillow covers in a supposedly luxury property! I came down to the reception to ask about the room and was told that I have been given an executive room and there isn't really any difference between that and the deluxe room! Firstly they give me a lower category room as against my booking and then they try to justify it! After I created a ruckus I was shifted to a deluxe room. I asked for a shower cap and was told they are out of stock!! laughable!

It did not end here. I had a spa session as part of the room deal. I called up and booked an appointment and was told to come to the spa in 15 minutes. When i reach there, the person at the counter makes me sit there and calls the reception to find out whether the spa provision is part of my package or not.....now thats insulting to say the least. I had to go to the reception again and create a ruckus...after which i was taken to the spa for the massage that was part of the package...have to admit the masseure was fantastic!

And to top off the experience the breakfast the next day wasn't anything to boast about...the restaurant was small, badly laid out, extremely crowded and the waiters just didn't seem interested in serving the guests!

All in all I am not sure I would go back and stay in this place. I even gave written feedback about my bad experience but have not heard anything from the Hotel about it. So don't think they are interested in guest feedback either. An avoid for me in Agra, there are other great properties that are more value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nandishp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had with us. With utmost concern, we have noted the issues put forward by you in your review & the same is addressed to the concerned departments. We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

The hotel room was clean and nice.
All the required facilities were available but the room service was not found to be as expected from a 4 star hotel. The towel were not so white as it should be.
However, we got the packed breakfast as requested instead of having breakfast in the hotel due to our early schedule. This is extraordinary as compared to other hotels in Agra who don’t bother to provide such services to guests.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chamaiparn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and had 2 rooms.
There were no bellboys or porters around when we arrived at the hotel after 10.30pm.
Breakfast was alright but the cutleries were not clean.
The hotel provided free wifi, but signal strength was so weak even at the hotel lobby; you can hardly went online to check your mails.
Both the rooms were old and dark as some of the lamps and lights were not functioning and the air-conditioners were not cold.
However, the rooms and bathrooms were clean.
Do remember to avoid getting a corner room next to the main street as the walls and windows are not sound-proof. We were woken up many times at night by the loud honking on the streets.

Please remember to hang the 'DO NOT DISTURB' sign outside the bedroom door. Thank goodness my room have the sign but the other room does not.The housekeeping teams (all males) could be pretty annoying and frustrating.
There were apparently 2 teams [I am not sure why; but its specifically written 'housekeeping once per day' in the hotel booklet). The morning team kept persisting us to change our towels and one of them barged into our room when we finally allowed them to come in change the towels and refill the tea-bags. The evening housekeeping team kept on knocking many times, insisting to change towels too. They even tried to force open our bedroom door when we did not answer the knocking. I was very angry with them as we were taking a short nap after a long sight-seeing day. We did not feel safe to stay in the hotel after this incident and thank goodness we left the next day.
I had highlighted this problem to the Hotel Manager when we check-out from the hotel and he had sincerely apologized.

In my opinion, this hotel does not deserved to be 3 1/2 stars, more likely 2 1/2 stars or lower. The street in front of the hotel was so dirty and looks more of a dump-site.
The positive side: the staffs at the reception counters were helpful and friendly. The location of hotel is very close to Taj Mahal.

Room Tip: Do not ever get a corner room next to main street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure having your stay with us and we are grateful for your feedback. We were especially delighted to read your positive comments you made about the Hotel and the Services.

Sincere apologies for inconvenience you had, We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Park Plaza which was the most expensive hotel during our trip. We booked it with my netbook directly on their internet site. After a very long and rough train trip from Punjab, we arrived at Howard Park Plaza. As we could not provide a printed reservation at the front desk, the check-in did not go so smoothly. But at the end we talked to the lobby manager, Robin, who is an extremely kind and helpful person.
We did not like the first room we received which was quite old and facing a building site. We asked for a different room and the second one was perfect.
The rooms are clean and spacious. In the bathroom you get complimentary soap, shower gel and shampoo. There is a TV with cabled channels. The beds are very comfortable.
We enjoyed the breakfast buffet (included) and spent hours at the lovely pool. We had a drink on the rooftop restaurant but never ate there.
I would recommend this hotel.
I liked : the staff, the beds, the pool
I disliked : the price .. but you’re in Agra !

Room Tip: ask for one on the poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madame-Minouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stayed just one night in Agra, and this hotel suited our purposes just fine. A bit dated/worn, but clean, comfortable, quiet room. Helpful, friendly staff. Excellent breakfast buffet. Room service. Could use brighter lightbulbs/more lamps in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pahill99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Stayed for 2 nights. This hotel is in desperate need of a interior makeover. Don't get fooled by the majestic chandelier at the entrance. The room was clean, but the bedsheets and the towels looked disgusting. The minibar is locked. The windows are smudged with fatty fingers. The hotel has a nice looking pool. The one time we went to use the pool, we found a big feces next it.
The handleing of the food in the hotel buffe is disgusting as all the workers walk around and touch the food with their hands. They bring out food, bread and fruits and refill the containers with their hands instead of using the tensils that are sitting there. The coffe is practically undrinkable, so bring you own Nespresso if you must have coffe.
If you stay at this hotel, don't miss on the roof terrace from which you can see Taj Mahal.

Our suggestion is that you visit Agra early in the morning and ride to your next destination thereafter. You have plenty of time to visit Taj Mahal and Agra Fort which are the 2 most important sights. If you want to do shopping, then be ready to get fooled in this city of scam and corruption.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank litamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had with us. With utmost concern, we have noted the issues put forward by you in your review & the same is addressed to the concerned departments. We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
1.0 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 143 in Agra
1,612 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.5 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 143 in Agra
4,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Plaza The Fern Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Plaza The Fern Agra

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India (Formerly Howard Sarovar Portico)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Agra
#10 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#11 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range: £44 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Plaza The Fern Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious interiors, personalised service and Howard Plaza Agra's unique location are complemented by Agra's glittering monument to love, the Taj Mahal, this tranquil retreat is an best spot for a business or leisure stay, offering a magnificent view of The Taj Mahal from Beautiful roof top Terrace Restaurant (Terrace Grill), Rejuvenating Experience of relaxation (Elixir SPA), a mellow dramatic view of the bustling city through front tea patio (East India Company, Tea Lounge) and a fine spread of Indian Delicacies (Rendezvous). All the exclusive 86 well appointed rooms in this hotel near Taj Mahal are incorporated with safety lockers, In-room mini bar, and LCD Televisions. In order to maintain the highest standards of hospitality and luxury, Howard Plaza Agra also offers currency exchange, tour desk, wake-up service and many more facilities that make more than just a comfortable stay. Incorporating business facilities like wireless internet access, comfortable furnishing and well trained staff for assistance, our hotel in Agra is well-suited for corporate as well as leisure traveler. After a tiring day, guests can also relax at the swimming pool and spa, with sauna, steam bath and Jacuzzi. Guests can savour some sumptuous and beautifully presented cuisine at restaurants of Howard Plaza or have their favorite drinks at Terrace Grill Bar and Lounge, or just relax and have some yummy treat at Rendezvous, all day dining. Howard Plaza promotes it self as an affordable, friendly and best price option in the city with unique close location to Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and with a variety of restaurants and cafes in walking proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Plaza The Fern Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Sarovar Portico Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Agra
Agra Park Plaza
Howard Park Plaza Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing