We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location with Average Standards” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Plaza The Fern Agra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Ranked #14 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Location with Average Standards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed at this place for around #days with a group of around 100. Hotel has great location but lacks in lot of things.
1. No one was present either at entrance of the hotel or at reception when I arrived at around 6.30 am. I had to carry my baggage myself. ( though at this time a group was checking out)
2. The room was pretty good and well designed but bath had drainage problem
3. Toiletries were bare minimum but they were of GOOD quality. Hotel can definitely improve in its house keeping.
4. Break fast spread was great and I enjoyed it to the max but lunch and dinner served on day one were great disappointment but quality and variety was much better on day 2.
6. STAFF WAS QUITE ACCOMMODATING AS THEY ALLOWED ME AN EXTENDED CHECK OUT TIME ON DAY OF DEPARTURE.
Over all I will say YES you can always have a try at this place

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank upsingh2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hotel Howard Plaza !!!

At the outset allow me to thank you for your patronage towards Howard Plaza , Agra.
Your feedback is very valuable to us as 'moments of truth' never cease in our business and it is most important to immediately rectify our shortcomings and listen to feedback to ensure corrective measures.

I look forward to your benevolence in not allowing this experience to color your impression of our usual standards and services. Your feedback is been shared with the concern departments and will be addressed accordingly.

We look forward to have you staying with us in the future and allowing us to take care of you in the manner that you so rightfully deserve.

Warm Regards

Vinay Puri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    419
    243
    91
    55
See reviews for
304
344
70
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carcassonne, France
Level Contributor
176 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was not our original choice as there was a large conference taking place in the city - the hotel did not match the others in which we stayed during our short trip around India. However, it served the purpose of providing accommodation at a reasonable standard with the staff trying hard to please - it all felt a little past its best.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Howard Plaza ,Agra

With reference to your feedback on trip advisor we would like to express our gratitude for your valuable feedback.
Hospitality is always a work in progress and it is customers like you who give us the regular reality check and keep us on our toes.
I would also like to Inform you that we are in a process of phased renovation to upgrade the product
We look forward to welcome you back at the hotel Howard Plaza ,Agra on your next visit to Agra.

Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards

Vinay Puri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I traveled to india several times. the country really has great hotels. Sincerely howard plaza was the less popular one for me and for my group. I stayed in this hotel with a group of 20 people as a tour leader. after staying good hotels in mumbai, delhi and jaipur, our standarts might be a little bit high but unfortunately a 4 stars hotel must do better. because i have seen far more better 4 stars hotels in india. the bathrooms were old and bathtub neglected. restaurant was nice and the food was okay. Might be reasonable for staying one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serhat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Hotel Howard Plaza !!!

With reference to your feedback on trip advisor we would like to express our gratitude for your valuable feedback.

I would also like to Inform you that we are in a process of phased renovation to upgrade the product in order to make the future stay of our guests more comfortable and delightful .

We at Howard Plaza thank you for your business and apologize for any discomfort caused to you.

We look forward to welcome you back at the hotel Howard Plaza ,Agra

Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards

Vinay Puri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Rooms were not very clean stained everything, from bed sheets to the bathroom when we first walked in to our room the toilet seat had a urine stains on it, Got house keeping to come and sanitize everything, The gent cleaning decided to use the same towel he used to wipe down the floor and toilet with to wipe down the counter before we told him other wise. they really need to be trained on how to clean the right way and hygienically But we had to stay here for a night since all the other places were booked up. I do not know if it value for money but it's definitely not up to the mark of a star hotel in any part of the world, if at that it should just be a lodge.

It is however close to the the down town area, a lot of restaurants and shops are just near by. Free wifi in the lobby . that's about it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dthmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest
Greetings from Hotel Howard Plaza !!!

At the outset allow me to thank you for your patronage towards Howard Plaza , Agra.
Your feedback is very valuable to us as 'moments of truth' never cease in our business and it is most important to immediately rectify our shortcomings and listen to feedback to ensure corrective measures.

I have made a note of your comments with regards to the cleanliness of the room . I would like to profusely apologize for inconvenience caused to you during your stay .On this occasion an acceptable standard has clearly not been met, and we have not succeeded in meeting your expectations.

Customer feedback has always been an integral part of our learning curve ,understanding and catering to the needs of the esteemed guests. We would like to know what we did right and where we went wrong?

I look forward to your benevolence in not allowing this experience to color your impression of our usual standards and services. Your feedback is been shared with the concern area's and will be addressed accordingly.

We look forward to have you staying with us in the future and allowing us to take care of you in the manner that you so rightfully deserve.

Regards
vinay Puri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for our last night on our trip around rajasthan.A very good hotel with views of Taj Mahal from the roof top bar.Restaurant food excellent we had buffet with many tasty dishes to choose from.Quite close to Taj and easy to get there.Our only complaint is that on departure we had trouble using our credit cards tried x4 unsuccessfully very embarrassing our Guide had to pay our Bill for us.Not what I would expect for a upmarket Hotel the ONLY time we had problems in 3 weeks of travel in India

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hotel Howard Plaza, Agra.
Thank you for choosing Hotel Howard Plaza as your preferred destination.

We are extremely delighted to receive positive feedback from you.

Regarding the matter of your credit cards let me assure you that credit card processing is strictly between the the credit card companies and the bank servers .Sometimes the servers are down which results in non clearing of CC transactions.The hotel absolutely has no role in this matter.

However we are apologetic for the distress caused to you.

On behalf of our entire staff here at Howard Plaza we thank you for your business and we hope to see you on your next visit to Agra.

Sincerely
Vinay Puri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

i stayed 2 nights in Howard Plaza Agra with my group members. As per my experience, Howard Plaza is best 4 star hotel in Agra. Rooms are excellent and food quality are also good. Mr. Sharma, Restuarant Manager, looks all guest personally in the restaurant. Best of luck for Howard Plaza.

Room Tip: Excellent rooms in first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 555MANOJ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hotel Howard Plaza, Agra !!!

Thank you for choosing Hotel Howard Plaza as your preferred destination.

We are extremely delighted to receive such a positive and heartwarming feedback from your end.

It's customers like you who give us the boost and make this job such a satisfying experience.

On behalf of our entire staff here at Howard Plaza we thank you for your business and we hope to see you on your next visit to Agra.

Sincerely
Vinay Puri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

The hotel was okay for a 2 night stay. Had some issues with blocked shower plumbing. Bathroom floor was flooding. Were offered a different room. But it was at the front of the hotel, facing the street and seemed noisy. It was also a lot smaller. We decided to stay where we were. Plumbing was attended to, but was not completely fixed.

The hotel was kept in reasonably good order, but is getting a little tired. Furniture was chipped. The room was quite clean and neat on our arrival. However, we noticed a tray of food from room service that had been left outside one room on our floor. It was shifted to a common area near the lift and there it stayed for three days. Was still there when we left.

Staff in dining room were not particularly helpful when dishes were not replenished. Mostly Indian food, which we could not eat as we were not feeling well. Indian guests were given favouritism in the restaurant. Staff lied to us outright, and it escalated to the manager being called by us to mediate. The problem was rectified immediately in our favour. Staff involved were reprimanded. Breakfast food was poor in variety and quality. Many items so poor they were inedible.

All in all, a difficult place for Westerners. We did not have a good experience with staff, but the hotel itself is more than adequate for most guests.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LRMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hotel Howard Plaza, Agra.

Thank you for choosing Hotel Howard Plaza as your preferred destination.

The concerns highlighted have been duly noted and will certainly be addressed. Your feedback is appreciated and taken very seriously. Some changes are already being implemented even as we speak.

On behalf of our entire staff here at Howard Plaza we thank you for your business and we hope to see you on your next visit to Agra.

Sincerely
Vinay Puri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.7 mi away
Orient Taj
Orient Taj
#76 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Plaza The Fern Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Plaza The Fern Agra

Property: Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India (Formerly Howard Sarovar Portico)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Agra
#11 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#12 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Plaza The Fern Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious interiors, personalised service and Howard Plaza Agra's unique location are complemented by Agra's glittering monument to love, the Taj Mahal, this tranquil retreat is an best spot for a business or leisure stay, offering a magnificent view of The Taj Mahal from Beautiful roof top Terrace Restaurant (Terrace Grill), Rejuvenating Experience of relaxation (Elixir SPA), a mellow dramatic view of the bustling city through front tea patio (East India Company, Tea Lounge) and a fine spread of Indian Delicacies (Rendezvous). All the exclusive 86 well appointed rooms in this hotel near Taj Mahal are incorporated with safety lockers, In-room mini bar, and LCD Televisions. In order to maintain the highest standards of hospitality and luxury, Howard Plaza Agra also offers currency exchange, tour desk, wake-up service and many more facilities that make more than just a comfortable stay. Incorporating business facilities like wireless internet access, comfortable furnishing and well trained staff for assistance, our hotel in Agra is well-suited for corporate as well as leisure traveler. After a tiring day, guests can also relax at the swimming pool and spa, with sauna, steam bath and Jacuzzi. Guests can savour some sumptuous and beautifully presented cuisine at restaurants of Howard Plaza or have their favorite drinks at Terrace Grill Bar and Lounge, or just relax and have some yummy treat at Rendezvous, all day dining. Howard Plaza promotes it self as an affordable, friendly and best price option in the city with unique close location to Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and with a variety of restaurants and cafes in walking proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Plaza The Fern Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Sarovar Portico Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Agra
Agra Park Plaza
Howard Park Plaza Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing