We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Ranked #12 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel on a short trip to agra to attend a marriage. Arrived late evening but the guys upgraded me to suite. The food was to my liking. Room was clean. I recommend this hotel. The breakfast had both variety and tasty.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wakeupsidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted at reading feedback of your stay at Hotel Howard Plaza, Agra and thank you very much.

The Howard team are very happy to receive your feedback and to learn that you enjoyed your dining experience at our restaurants.

The team and I, look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back as and when you visit Agra again.

Kind Regards,
Amrendra Karn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had shortlisted the Howard Plaza among other hotels, but decided to drive to Agra and then book...which turned out to be a great decision! Most hotels in this range are shoddy fly-by-night style operations and in a lot of cases were just haphazardly erected blocks..with no parking available!?

The front desk was really well managed and we were given our rooms with no real fuss or drama. The rooms were excellent and ours turned out to be one of the pool facing rooms which was a bonus!

Wouldn't recommend eating at the hotel though..while the food itself was excellent, the staff just weren't up to standard and that included the restaurant manager. By any chance if you happen to be in the restaurant at the time of a group booking then you are left to your own devices! ...and no amount of complaining helped!

Would recommend that you stay here for sure but eat elsewhere unless the restaurant is not booked by a group!

Have fun :)

Room Tip: While most hotels in Agra try and sell rooms facing the Taj..most of them are a big fail! At the How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Greetings from Howard Plaza Agra

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our hotel

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your compliments delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team.
Thank you for bringing restaurant slow service issue to our notice & ensure you to do better service in future.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The city of Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Amrendra Karn
General Manager
Hotel Howard Plaza Agra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Superb location. excellent rooms with bath tub in the bathrooms!! We booked for 2 adults ?& 2 children with extra bed. Breakfast and dinner was included in room rent for all of us! amazing!
very close to Taj!
Trip to fatehpur was arranged by travel desk, that was also satisfactory.

Room Tip: rooms were A.C. but corridors were not! food was excellent. staff was co operative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_harmeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We do appreciate you taking time out to share with us your experience while at our hotel.

Thank you for your positive comments. I am continuously working with my team to ensure flawless service and great product experience for all our guests. Our Chefs are continuously working to offer our guests varied cuisines and great food.

Look forward to welcome you back to the hotel.

Amrendra Karn
General Manager
Hotel Howard Plaza Agra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed there just for one night. Our room was comfortable, clean with an adequate size. The bathroom was also clean, big, but... the wall that separated the shower from the room was made of glass. Although it had a opaque blind, It was not enough to hide the shade. I may not be a problem if you go with your couple, but it could be unconfortable if you go with someone not that familiar.
There was free wifi available at the lobby with a good signal.
Breakfast was ok!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drmsol80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest
Greetings from Howard Plaza Agra

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your compliments delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The city of Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Amrendra Karn
General Manager
Hotel Howard Plaza Agra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We originally booked this hotel as we were reaching agra only around midnight and were leaving early morning at 6 am for the Taj Mahal. Hence decided that a normal range hotel should be adequate. But were we in for a surprise ???? The hotel has been recently renovated and is an excellent place to stay. Room size is large and the quality of linen, service at the reception far exceeded expectations. The staff are approachable and friendly. Only problem at this hotel is that the bathroom and the room are divided by glass (which seems to be a current trend almost everywhere) but the shades /blinds over the glass were so flimsy that on putting the light inside the bathroom, one could see through sitting in the room. So very inappropriate when travelling with family or in company of others. Did not bother us much as we had a short stay. But this needs to be corrected by the hotel or they will loose repeat customers. This hotel is walking distance from the Taj. The breakfast quality is very average, but for this kind of price it was acceptable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LataV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Howard Plaza Agra and for posting feedback of your stay through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay.

Your appreciation of our friendly staff, the scrumptious food, the splendid view and the well-appointed rooms is very encouraging.

Your generous praise of our service and facilities is very inspiring.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you back as and when you visit Agra.

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Amrendra Karn
General Manager
Hotel Howard Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Well, we had to settle for Howard plaza as most of the other hotels in Agra were sold out due to long weekend. However it proved to be much better than our expectations.

Hotel lobby is pretty grand for a 3 star hotel; rooms are comfortable and well maintained. Hotel sports a swimming pool, fitness center and a spa.

We spent most of the evening at their newly operational rooftop restaurant, which has a fantastic and elegant decor and wonderful ambiance after sunset, although you might be attacked by mosquitos (don't worry just ask the staff they'll take care of it). You can actually see the Dome of Taj from the rooftop. Infect the hotel is situated hardly a Km from the Taj entry gate.

Buffet dinner & breakfast are served at the other restaurant on the ground floor.. Food was just ok..

Although the hotel building is quite old I think there has been a significant improvement in the service after Sarovar took over, however I have one suggestion for them.. Please remove the old sofas on each of the floor, even if you can’t afford to replace them with new ones.. Just remove them they don't go along with rest of the interior (except may be the lifts which are pretty old too)

Room Tip: Ask for Pool facing veiw..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReviewerIndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We do appreciate you taking time out to share with us your experience while at our hotel.

Thank you for your positive comments. I am continuously working with my team to ensure flawless service and great product experience for all our guests. Our Chefs are continuously working to offer our guests varied cuisines and great food.

Look forward to welcome you back to the hotel.

Amrendra Karn
General Manager
Hotel Howard Plaza Agra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel in April 2014. Very friendly staff. Have a terrace bar where a waiter served us snacks and nice cold beer and Indian sparkling wine. But if going in summer make sure you take a really good mosquito repellent. Spacious bedrooms. Bathrooms were also nice but could have been cleaner.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ravinder s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We do appreciate you taking time out to share with us your experience while at our hotel.

Thank you for your positive comments. I am continuously working with my team to ensure flawless service and great product experience for all our guests. Our Chefs are continuously working to offer our guests varied cuisines and great food.

Look forward to welcome you back to the hotel.

Amrendra Karn
General Manager
Hotel Howard Plaza Agra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
1.0 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#18 of 142 in Agra
1,637 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.7 mi away
Orient Taj
Orient Taj
#110 of 142 in Agra
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Plaza The Fern Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Plaza The Fern Agra

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India (Formerly Howard Sarovar Portico)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Agra
#18 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#31 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range: £42 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Plaza The Fern Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious interiors, personalised service and Howard Plaza Agra's unique location are complemented by Agra's glittering monument to love, the Taj Mahal, this tranquil retreat is an best spot for a business or leisure stay, offering a magnificent view of The Taj Mahal from Beautiful roof top Terrace Restaurant (Terrace Grill), Rejuvenating Experience of relaxation (Elixir SPA), a mellow dramatic view of the bustling city through front tea patio (East India Company, Tea Lounge) and a fine spread of Indian Delicacies (Rendezvous). All the exclusive 86 well appointed rooms in this hotel near Taj Mahal are incorporated with safety lockers, In-room mini bar, and LCD Televisions. In order to maintain the highest standards of hospitality and luxury, Howard Plaza Agra also offers currency exchange, tour desk, wake-up service and many more facilities that make more than just a comfortable stay. Incorporating business facilities like wireless internet access, comfortable furnishing and well trained staff for assistance, our hotel in Agra is well-suited for corporate as well as leisure traveler. After a tiring day, guests can also relax at the swimming pool and spa, with sauna, steam bath and Jacuzzi. Guests can savour some sumptuous and beautifully presented cuisine at restaurants of Howard Plaza or have their favorite drinks at Terrace Grill Bar and Lounge, or just relax and have some yummy treat at Rendezvous, all day dining. Howard Plaza promotes it self as an affordable, friendly and best price option in the city with unique close location to Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and with a variety of restaurants and cafes in walking proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Plaza The Fern Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Sarovar Portico Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Agra
Agra Park Plaza
Howard Park Plaza Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing