We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Jama Masjid

Jama Masjid
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.00*
and up
Guided Agra City Walking Tour
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 489 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

this is the perfect place to see in agra with your friends and family.this place will give you a perfect idea of ancient architecture in royal period of mughal empire.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank prince pulkit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    147
    69
    31
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Reminds Us to be Thankful”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

While i was in agra fort, i decided to come to this mosque to have a prayer. When i first looked at the mosque it was just so beautiful. The atmosphere felt different to other mosques i have visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PoncoDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“classic Mughal mosque”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Close to the Red Fort and Chandni Chowk, the mosque is located amongst the Jama (cotton) market. Spend 30 minutes walking through the market, then enter the mosque (sans shoes). The main courtyard can accommodate up to 25,000 worshippers. Plan your visit around prayer times when it closes to non worshippers.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BostonTravelers00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A very large mosque”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Beautifully preserved and plenty of room for the large number of shoeless and cloaked visitors. Interesting views of the surrounding bustling Delhi streets from the courtyard

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoolsGlasgowUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nearly Missed It”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I nearly missed this building while I was in Agra. It was only when i reached the railway station much earlier then my train was to depart that I saw it and then went to have a look at it. It is bang opposite to the Agra Fort railway station. It was built by Shah Jahan and dedicated to his daughter Jahanara Begum. Anyone catching a train from Agra Fort Station can go an hour early and pay a visit to this mosque which i believe is one of the biggest mosques in India.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DPK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jama Masjid also viewed

Agra, Agra District
Agra, Agra District
 

Been to Jama Masjid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing