We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class!!!”
Review of Bansi Home Stay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bansi Home Stay
Ranked #5 of 210 Agra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I can't say enough good things about this place, one of the best places I have stayed in (and I've travelled the world for years)! Stayed an extra night it was so fantastic.
Rooms were immaculate (ultra clean and comfortable), beautiful meals and most important to me attentive and loving service.
The guys at Bansi helped me with everything, including booking me a train to Upaipur which is almost impossible for for foreigners to do.
They also gave me a really cool t-shirt and a hug on the way out the door.
In my humble opinion, the only place to stay in Agra!
Thanks again guys

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShoelessJoe73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Bansi was the first place we stayed in India having arrived in Agra straight from Delhi. Even prior to our arrival Mr Burman was very helpful in planning our transport and onward accommodation. The accommodation itself is great, our room was massive and had a very comfy bed, just what was needed after a long journey. We also ate at Bansi for the 2 nights we stayed and the food was delicious. In all, we had a lovely stay at Bansi and Mr Burman and his staff were very attentive and polite. Would recommend anyone visiting Agra to stay here.
Dan & Rosie

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dkburman, Owner at Bansi Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Guests,
a big thank you. wishing you all the very best in life. Burman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This place was wonderful. While traveling throughout Rajasthan, this place had the cleanest and most comfortable room. Our train got in late at night but the staff was there to welcome us and made a wonderful dinner for us. The location was great, down a small quite street but within walking distance to the Taj Mahal. We enjoyed the breakfast and talking with the other guests. My only complaint was the price of the dinner, we were served a great dinner but were never told the price which ended up being quite expensive, but overall I would recommend this home stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dkburman, Owner at Bansi Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Guests,
a big thank you. wishing you all the very best in life. Burman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Although we probably stayed at the Bansi at the same time as the guest from Iowa who had a disappointing stay, our stay at Bansi was all that we could hope for and more. The location is good, right by the Pizza Hunt and the Costa Coffee on a quiet little dead-end road. The staff treated us like family, actually probably better. We chose to have our evening meal there and not only loved the food, but enjoyed the company of the owner and other guests. That was repeated in the morning. For us, the opportunity to sit down and share experiences with locals and other tourists is the one of the most enjoyable parts of travel. And we certainly had it at Bansi. We will be sure to return.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank BulldozerL2H3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dkburman, Owner at Bansi Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you for the kind review. Your review made my life a bit simpler and more enjoyable. A BIG thank you. Burman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I'm not really sure why this place got so many great reviews. While it was passable, it certainly wasn't anything special and they nickel and dime you. We didn't find the staff very helpful or friendly...maybe we just caught them on an off day. There were water bottles in our rooms which we assumed were complimentary since there were no prices listed for them and most of other lodging places in India provide water free of charge, but we were charged 2.5 times the going rate for them. We had also asked for transportation to be arranged to the train station, which they charged 3 times the foreigner rate for transportation. We expect that at nicer hotels, but not at a homestay/B&B. I don't mean to sound nit picky, but there were several other annoyances like a shower drain which didn't drain (for a good 30 minutes), previous guest’s trash left in the room, etc... which left a sour taste in our mouth. On the plus side, it is fairly quiet (for India) once the nearby hotel restaurant stops blasting music. If you take a taxi or rickshaw, ensure you are ready to give them directions (turn at the Pizza Hut) as they likely won't be able to find it. In short, there aren't a lot of mid-range lodging options in Agra; we had high hopes for Bansi Homestay but unfortunately, it was a miss.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cybertraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dkburman, Owner at Bansi Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Guest,
I can only regret that we did not match up to your expectations. Sorry for that. But even
life gives you another chance, Will you give that to us ? So we make amends and try change your
opinion. Burman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I just returned from leading a study abroad course to India. 10 students and 2 faculty. We stayed at Bansi and simply put it was perfect. The staff was great, food delicious, and the owner very helpful and knowledgeable about the Taj.

Personally, this was third trip to India and have traveled over 4 months. This is easily one of the nicest places I've stayed in India.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmergenmmergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dkburman, Owner at Bansi Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for placing us among one of the best in India. I hope the students enjoyed as much as we, having them in our home. Burman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed in Agra over the new year. Our stay with Mr Burman was an excellent one. The service he and his staff, especially Mr Kohli, gave was very good. The homestay is within walking distance of the Taj Mahal and we were given clear directions to get there. It's not particularly good for the trains but not a problem for us.

However the real plus for us was their service after we had left. They posted ahead for us a package to Trivandrum in the south of India which unfortunately wasn't collected and ended up going back again to Agra! Mr Kohli was then superb at helping us be reunited with our package (via Delhi Hyderabad and Chennai - it travelled further than us!) and we were extremely impressed with their level of service. It was lots of extra work for them and we are very grateful. Stay with them if you can when you visit Agra!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Popmais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dkburman, Owner at Bansi Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you for the kind review. We had accepted a service to perform on your behalf,
so felt morally obliged to fulfill it. We were very relieved when we heard of the package being
delivered. Burman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
0.2 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Retreat
The Retreat
#26 of 147 in Agra
813 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#4 of 147 in Agra
1,696 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#23 of 147 in Agra
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bansi Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bansi Home Stay

Address: 18 Handicraft Nagar, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range: £30 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Bansi Home Stay 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home stay is located in a best administered colony on Fatehabad road of Agra. It is approved by U.P. Tourism (Govt. of Uttar Pradesh)We have 5 AC rooms with private bathrooms divided into two setups facing each other.Our kitchen is vegetarian, an evolving art with our very own chefs. Cumin, Coriander, Cardamom, Mustard, mango, ginger, fenugreek, turmeric, tamarind, saffron, curry leaf, coconut leaf, almonds and cashews….indeed these are only the seasonings! We will cater to special requests, and typically serve fresh, organic and locally procured produce and food from the very best sources. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing