We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, cleanliness can be improved”
Review of Hotel Sheela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sheela
Ranked #73 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Paris, France
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Perfect location, cleanliness can be improved”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel is very well located, 700m from the Taj Mahal ticket office and 100m from the Taj entrance. The personnel is friendly, the food is decent and the price correct. The rooms are very basic and a little humid, but they all have hot water. Maybe the cleanliness of the rooms could be improved. We had a mouse in our room (a very small one, luckily not a rat)... We tried to get it out but we didn't succeed. And we didn't ask to the personnel to get rid of it because we were afraid that they would had killed it... So, it's a little our fault, too, if we cohabited with it for 3 nights...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicetq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    179
    181
    89
    66
See reviews for
61
233
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Close to east gate BUT as the ticket office is one kilometer in the opposite direction, there's no benefit.
Room and sheets were less than clean, however, the resident mouse didn't seem to mind!
Staff are not able to advise on trains, buses or correct opening time of ticket office.... or catch mice!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank English-Gent007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

Durban
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel Sheela was a very nice retreat from the busy city, and if you want to be close to the Taj, this is the place to stay! The restaurant had free WiFi which is always a plus. The rooms were veeery basic and a little cold but for the price I couldn't really complain.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We are really disappointed with the "help" we got to rent a Car + driver. The restaurant straff hade been very friendly so we decided to ask the management/reception help us get a Car to Delhi instead of the train cause our daughters was ill. My husband asked how long the trip would be by car and he was told 3 hours! We paid Rs 4200 and got picked up at Sheeia Inn, whwere we'd been staying. (Same owner). An hour in we asked the driver if it was two letft, when he said no, it takes 5 hours to Dehli, the old way. The hotel had told him not to go the expressway! We called the hotell several times and finally we got Rs 1000 back but we demanded 2000 back.
Really bad service in that particular case!
Tove

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mikael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

For the price, this is a good place to put your head for the night and right by the entrance to the taj so it's possible to wake up early and see the taj at sunrise. It is a little smelly as right next to a smelly river and the rooms are a little damp and very basic. But for r800 for a room with piping hot water, you can't really expect more!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2013

sheela was very quiet, green and the peaceful..u feel really nice and have a rest at the garden..also the management was great!..my mobile net did not work and the manager called the vodafone and talk with them and helped me..
thx for everything!
highly recomended..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElvanEgemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We visited this hotel in December. We found the room basic, damp and cold. However it was clean and the staff happily provided extra blankets. There was hot water which is OK for the price.The hotel really does need to fix its drains which are "wiffy" and it could do more to tackle the flies and mosquitoes.
The location is superb, very near the East Gate. The manager and restaurant staff are helpful. The restaurant is decent and the hotel has a pleasant and peaceful garden.
The hotel is fine for those on a very limited budget.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkofBalham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#85 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#37 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#97 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Krishna Haveli Hotel
Krishna Haveli Hotel
#36 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#22 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sheela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sheela

Property: Hotel Sheela
Address: East Gate, Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sheela 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sheela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheela Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing