We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice garden but horrible room”
Review of Hotel Sheela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sheela
Ranked #82 of 146 Hotels in Agra
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Nice garden but horrible room”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Excellent location (50m from Taj Eastern gate) and lovely garden but HORRIBLE rooms (smelly room, bedsheets with holes) and the worst lunch I had in 6 months in India... I really don't recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Esteban F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    179
    182
    89
    67
See reviews for
62
234
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sammamish, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Excellent location - you are 2 seconds from the East Gate of the Taj Mahal.
We arrived on the train and walked to the ticket office to purchase tickets for the following morning. Then in the morning you walk 2 seconds to the East Gate and it is SO EASY! We had to take back a headlamp from security check in the morning and I was able to go to the hotel to drop it off and run back within 2 minutes to still see sunrise at the Taj. The garden area is a welcome treat anywhere in India.
Menu was reasonable and if you want a quiet place to eat then this is it.
Internet didn't work while we were there so we went elsewhere.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tmingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

I booked this place as it was the top choice of LP. I have no idea what he had seen when he says spotless rooms. Rooms are with mold, dirty and depressing. There were dead insects on my bed. Moreover As a solo woman traveller I felt very uncomfortable with the staff especially the one with beard. The internet was not working and when I asked him the reason he was so rude and scary pulling me and showing me the notice on the wall saying hotel has no responsibility. I wanted to ask who is responsible then but kept to myself. Ok no internet, no signal on my mobile I had to inform homey that I arrived safe and sound in Agra. I asked him that I need to make a phone call of course paying and he said no chance and go out make a paid call. Outside is after 8 looks dark, scary, dogs around, and no one on the streets. I was so lucky that on that awful night that I met a Chinese gentleman at the door who let me use his mobile and send message to back home! I have never seen such a hostile people in India while traveling! Awful physical conditions are one thing and awful attitude is another!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Schlumpf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Has a nice garden, rooms are average, wifi is wanting, location is good, the reception could havebeen more hospitable it is only a short walk to the taj but the ticket office is a ten minute walk away, the tourist office need to address this, it has to be remembered that this is india

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Freedom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We booked this hotel because of the recomandations in "Lonely-Planet" and "Rough-Guide".
To be honest we expected much more! The room was small and the bathroom was really dirty. The whole room had a terrible smell (something moldy...), which restrained us from sleeping. And the sheets weren't as clean as discribed in the guides...
Dinner was horrible, everything tasted bad and it was very greasy (really not what we were used to in Indian food).
The breakfast though was surprisingly good. Great Omeletts and good chai masala.
The biggest plus is the location, incredibly close to the Taj Mahal (but you can't really see it from the hotel). And the garden is really nice and quiet.
Staff was okay and the Wifi worked good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelzkugels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esslingen am Neckar, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Yes, close to the Taj Mahal - but the ticket counter is a mile away so that benfit is gone...If coming to Agra again I think I will look for another place. Not very friendly reception when I arrived, unpleasant smell of the room. Havent tried the restaurant I have to say.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights a few years back and i still tell people going to india to make sure they book here. First, its right next door to the taj, second its cheap and third the restaurant serves some amazing food not to mention the amazing staff. If this hotel was double the price i would still stay here

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ReeceN89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.2 mi away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#101 of 146 in Agra
581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 146 in Agra
478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sheela Inn
Hotel Sheela Inn
#112 of 146 in Agra
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#89 of 146 in Agra
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#85 of 146 in Agra
485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rudra Vilas
Hotel Rudra Vilas
#70 of 146 in Agra
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sheela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sheela

Property: Hotel Sheela
Address: East Gate, Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 146 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sheela 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sheela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheela Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing