We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location”
Review of Hotel Sheela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sheela
Ranked #68 of 145 Hotels in Agra
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

You could not stay closer to the Taj Mahal if you tried. The location was fantastic. The room was very basic and for some bizare reason felt damp whenever we entered it. But the garden area was beautiful the food and restaurant was brilliant. Wifi was hit and miss if someone was using a laptop it used all wifi access up so everyone on phones could not get o line. Brilliant stay though.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegLovesTravel71192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    179
    182
    89
    66
See reviews for
62
233
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Agra is a total dive, so you don't want to stay there long (if at all). Hotel Sheela was quiet, safe, clean and had good service....so it won out vs. the other rubbish we saw! The price is fine, when you compare it to everywhere else....but wi if was painfully slow, and the food in the restaurant was baaaaaad.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Of all the places I stayed on my recent trip to India..this was the worst! We had room 108 overlooking the garden. The room smelt so bad!! I commented to the man in charge and he said that it was from the previous guests burning coils for the mosquitos and that it would go soon. It didn't, it was so bad it stopped us from sleeping and contaminated all our belongings! There were so many mosquitos, I have never seen so many in one place!..and I did not see hem any where else in Agra so it must be the location. The bathroom was horrid, rusty and dirty and also full of mosquitos. I didn't shower during my stay!! I do not have high expectations, I always stay in budget accommodation and all I ask for is cleanliness. The sheets looked grubby and full of holes, no top sheet and the blankets smelt disgusting like the room! The staff
were not at all smiley. The saving grace of this place is the garden. It is a bit of a haven from the hustle and bustle of agra...but you may get eaten alive by mossies! The papaya lassi was good too. This place should not be in the LP, it is taking advantage of it. I would never recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 890Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I found the location ideal, located just a few steps from the East Gate of the Taj in an area closed to motorized traffic, so it was pleasant to stroll around. The rooms were basic, but the garden restaurant offered a pleasant respite after the toils of sight-seeing. The menu was limited but the quality was acceptable. On the whole a pleasant experience that I would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Excellent location (50m from Taj Eastern gate) and lovely garden but HORRIBLE rooms (smelly room, bedsheets with holes) and the worst lunch I had in 6 months in India... I really don't recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Esteban F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Excellent location - you are 2 seconds from the East Gate of the Taj Mahal.
We arrived on the train and walked to the ticket office to purchase tickets for the following morning. Then in the morning you walk 2 seconds to the East Gate and it is SO EASY! We had to take back a headlamp from security check in the morning and I was able to go to the hotel to drop it off and run back within 2 minutes to still see sunrise at the Taj. The garden area is a welcome treat anywhere in India.
Menu was reasonable and if you want a quiet place to eat then this is it.
Internet didn't work while we were there so we went elsewhere.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tmingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

I booked this place as it was the top choice of LP. I have no idea what he had seen when he says spotless rooms. Rooms are with mold, dirty and depressing. There were dead insects on my bed. Moreover As a solo woman traveller I felt very uncomfortable with the staff especially the one with beard. The internet was not working and when I asked him the reason he was so rude and scary pulling me and showing me the notice on the wall saying hotel has no responsibility. I wanted to ask who is responsible then but kept to myself. Ok no internet, no signal on my mobile I had to inform homey that I arrived safe and sound in Agra. I asked him that I need to make a phone call of course paying and he said no chance and go out make a paid call. Outside is after 8 looks dark, scary, dogs around, and no one on the streets. I was so lucky that on that awful night that I met a Chinese gentleman at the door who let me use his mobile and send message to back home! I have never seen such a hostile people in India while traveling! Awful physical conditions are one thing and awful attitude is another!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Schlumpf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.2 mi away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#90 of 145 in Agra
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 145 in Agra
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sheela Inn
Hotel Sheela Inn
#105 of 145 in Agra
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#82 of 145 in Agra
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#73 of 145 in Agra
484 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#22 of 145 in Agra
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sheela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sheela

Property: Hotel Sheela
Address: East Gate, Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sheela 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sheela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheela Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing