We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay in average city”
Review of Hotel Sheela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sheela
Ranked #68 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average stay in average city”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night to visit the Taj Mahal, and to be honest, if you can get away with not staying in Agra you trip will benefit. The city itself is very dirty and full of misquotes, like no other place we visited in India. Sheela is okay if you are staying one night. Rooms are clean, it's cheaper then most other places, but so so many misquotes! The food looked average and others we were staying with got quite sick, it may have not been the food from Sheela tho.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Opiumpatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    179
    181
    89
    66
See reviews for
62
233
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife had booked a room for us for two nights at Hotel Sheela considering the reviews on this site. We had called the hotel three times to confirm that we had the rooms, because we were travelling dring a long weekend.
The day we reached Agra, the Hotel staff informed us that they were fully booked, and offered us their sister property, which was a little further away. Theyc ould have atleast bothered to call us and inform in advance, which they did not.

the other hotel did not have hot water, and the room service was terrible (they did not provide us towels or soaps ins spite of reminding twice.) And yet during checkout time, they were not willing to reduce the charges for the stay. We were so disappointed by the overall experience that we decided to leave Agra after one night.

Room Tip: Please confirm that they have not changed your hotel at the last minute. Most rooms in the old havel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

rooms not special small and dirty but very nice garden outside and close to taj mahal food not very nice, internet sometimes working sometimes not , no hot water...but still one of the best "hotels" im seen in india

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mietsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

You could not stay closer to the Taj Mahal if you tried. The location was fantastic. The room was very basic and for some bizare reason felt damp whenever we entered it. But the garden area was beautiful the food and restaurant was brilliant. Wifi was hit and miss if someone was using a laptop it used all wifi access up so everyone on phones could not get o line. Brilliant stay though.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegLovesTravel71192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Agra is a total dive, so you don't want to stay there long (if at all). Hotel Sheela was quiet, safe, clean and had good service....so it won out vs. the other rubbish we saw! The price is fine, when you compare it to everywhere else....but wi if was painfully slow, and the food in the restaurant was baaaaaad.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Of all the places I stayed on my recent trip to India..this was the worst! We had room 108 overlooking the garden. The room smelt so bad!! I commented to the man in charge and he said that it was from the previous guests burning coils for the mosquitos and that it would go soon. It didn't, it was so bad it stopped us from sleeping and contaminated all our belongings! There were so many mosquitos, I have never seen so many in one place!..and I did not see hem any where else in Agra so it must be the location. The bathroom was horrid, rusty and dirty and also full of mosquitos. I didn't shower during my stay!! I do not have high expectations, I always stay in budget accommodation and all I ask for is cleanliness. The sheets looked grubby and full of holes, no top sheet and the blankets smelt disgusting like the room! The staff
were not at all smiley. The saving grace of this place is the garden. It is a bit of a haven from the hustle and bustle of agra...but you may get eaten alive by mossies! The papaya lassi was good too. This place should not be in the LP, it is taking advantage of it. I would never recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 890Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I found the location ideal, located just a few steps from the East Gate of the Taj in an area closed to motorized traffic, so it was pleasant to stroll around. The rooms were basic, but the garden restaurant offered a pleasant respite after the toils of sight-seeing. The menu was limited but the quality was acceptable. On the whole a pleasant experience that I would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 144 in Agra
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#90 of 144 in Agra
580 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sheela Inn
Hotel Sheela Inn
#105 of 144 in Agra
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#83 of 144 in Agra
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#73 of 144 in Agra
484 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#22 of 144 in Agra
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sheela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sheela

Property: Hotel Sheela
Address: East Gate, Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sheela 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sheela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheela Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing