We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““A memorable stay” A great place to stay.”
Review of Hotel Mumtaz Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mumtaz Mahal
Ranked #68 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel is very nice and clean,the stay was very pleasant and calm,we are fully satisfy our one night stay there. Service is very good.Taj Mahal entrance tickets also provided in my room free of cost by hotel, it was amazing. The hotel is on walking distance from Taj Mahal and you can see clearly Taj Mahal from roof top restaurant .transportation is very easy to take battery bus, horse/wagon to the entrance from the hotel.

We had dinner at the hotel in the evening,food was very good.
money is back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harshpratap77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

we take lunch and dinner in this hotel with my family,all the staff of this hotel is cooperative and do good behavior,rooms beds are very comfortable,nice view of taj mahal from teri-cc,when we come in agra then we preferred this hotel for stay

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 70ruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

stayed here for a day in Dec 2013 along with my wife,after going thru the comments here got a second thought should i opt for a different hotel,Spoke to Raman he assured me the best of the services in which i was not disappointed,the hotel is walkable distance to Taj and a nice view from the Rooftop restaurant,The hotel Rooms were nice and clean,Rooms spacious enough for a couple a kid,worth the money.the water here is very salty i think its same everywhere in agra,Food was ok not that great but the complimentary continental brksft would defntly not recommend to anyone it was horrible.Dinner and lunch would suggest to have it here itself coz it hygenic (defntly a Paid one so lil bit better)and no nearby restaurants if they are a few they are not hygenic

If i have to come back to the same hotel,i would defntly because of nice and spacious rooms .
Please contact Raman before booking who is very helpful

Room Tip: Please contact Raman before booking who is very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImtiyazSyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I booked this hotel online about a month in advance. I'm not that fussy but hate when people tell lies. We arrived around 6 pm and were told that our room was leaking...and we would have to be transferred somewhere else apparently better hotel. They said they had 2 rooms left which one of them was leaking one. They couldn't explain why we couldn't have had the over one just kept saying LIES like more of them did. Had a lesson previously learnt in our life, we stopped arguing and went to the other hotel. Not sure if that was better standard. Just wasted about an hour from our holiday...
4 floors, no lift.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ebleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MumtajMahal, Manager at Hotel Mumtaz Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. We are very sorry that such inconvenience happened with you, but as per our action we investigated it and found out that two of one rooms drain pipe was overflowing due to previous guest put some kid neppy. It was overflowing. We shift you to upper class Big hotel.
And we have our sales representative’s office in New Delhi so he was unable to meet you when asked, but our whole staff and administration was present to resolve any inconvenience and we deeply regret few issues were not rectified on spot but we assure you that “our customer is our first priority” and we assure you in future such incident won’t occur. We value our customers and ask you to please feel free to continue with us. If you have any further questions or would like to discuss this matter further, please feel free to contact undersigned. We look forward to continuing serving you as a valued customer.
Thank you for your invaluable support,

Thankyou,
Prashant
09717357032

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I don't like being rude, but they tried to cheat on us by telling us there was no room available and sending us to another (cheaper and farther) hotel. This event ruined our stay in Agra. I asked the tuk-tuk boys outside and they told me this is a scam they do quite often. We had already booked and paid the room online. In addition, the day before our arrival I had made a telephone call to confirm that all was ok. When we arrived, after having us wait for long time, they told us there was no room. What would you expect if a hotel makes a mistake? Well, they give you a better room at the same price! NO! They called some guy who brought us to some kind of dusty place farther away. We returned to the hotel and asked for a refund. The room eventually appeared. So, leaving aside the poor quality of the hotel, being cheated was the worst part. Don't ruin your stay in Agra, pay a little more and go to a decent hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Guido F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MumtajMahal, Manager at Hotel Mumtaz Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear guest,

First of all we must appreciate your feedback.

First and foremost, on behalf of Hotel Mumtaz Mahal, Agra, I would like to personally apologize for your inconvenience. We accept full responsibility for the mistake and I assure you that, we are taking the necessary steps to prevent it from happening in the future. Still we had a long discussion with management & come from this problem. We deeply regret few issues were not rectified on spot but we assure you that “our customer is our first priority” and we assure you in future such incident won’t occur.
We value our customers and ask you to please feel free to continue with us. If you have any further questions or would like to discuss this matter further, please feel free to contact undersigned. We look forward to continuing serving you as a valued customer.

Thank you for your invaluable support,

Thank you,
Prashant
09717357032

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel was not worth the money,expensive rooms and expensive food .
The food was horrible and the staff watch over you while you ate and that made us feel uncomfortable . The wifi didn't work unless you go downstairs to the lobby. The rooms had a bad smell to them and the staff are very noisy while doing the duties in the night which kept us up. DONT STAY HERE

Stayed: November 2013
3  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MumtajMahal, Manager at Hotel Mumtaz Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear guest,

First of all we must appreciate your feedback.

First and foremost, on behalf of Hotel Mumtaz Mahal, Agra, I would like to personally apologize for your inconvenience. We accept full responsibility for the mistake and I assure you that, we are taking the necessary steps to prevent it from happening in the future. Still we had a long discussion with management & come out from this problem.

We regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. It is also disappointing you found the room facilities and food quality less than satisfactory. We have taken note of your valuable comments to improve, as these enables us to target problem areas and take actions accordingly.

we assure you that “our customer is our first priority” and we assure you in future such incident won’t occur.

We value our customers and ask you to please feel free to continue with us. If you have any further questions or would like to discuss this matter further, please feel free to contact undersigned. We look forward to continuing serving you as a valued customer.

Thank you for your invaluable support,

Thank you,
Prashant
09717357032

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked the room for 3 days but stayed there only for 2 days. The water was very salty. We started getting white patches on our skin after bath. The hotel is not at all professionally run. Food was not tasty. The rooms are very small which can accommodate only 2 people. As we were accompanied by children it was difficult. Bathroom was also very small and cramped. The only main advantage is it is near Tajmahal and we can see Taj from their terrace restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rakhihariharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rudra Vilas
Hotel Rudra Vilas
#64 of 143 in Agra
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bhoomi Residency
Hotel Bhoomi Residency
#56 of 143 in Agra
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#18 of 143 in Agra
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Taj Inn
Hotel Taj Inn
#32 of 143 in Agra
275 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Panna Paradise
Hotel Panna Paradise
#44 of 143 in Agra
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#103 of 143 in Agra
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mumtaz Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mumtaz Mahal

Address: Near Shilp Gram | Taj Mahal Eastern Gate, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: £14 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mumtaz Mahal 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mumtaz Mahal is one of the finest hotels located at a short distance of 1 kilo meter from the Taj Mahal, from where you can enjoy the view of the monument soaked in moonlight from the roof top dining area. The interiors of the hotels reflect the perfection and class that we provide in our accommodation options and services. The 22 rooms are created considering the distinctive tastes of the travelers visiting the Taj Mahal. The spacious rooms are brightly lit, contained with traditional services and latest features that take your experience to the next level. Free Wi-Fi and a plethora of turn down services are the exclusive facilities that we have for our guests, to make them feel valued and pampered. To enjoy enchanting beauty of the Taj Mahal on a full moon night or under the starry night sky, with a cp of coffee or a delectable meal, to create cherishing memories with your loved ones. The in-house kitchen offers customizable menus allowing you to order food as per your choice and preferences. Our endeavor is to make your visit to the timeless, Taj Mahal, an indelible memory to last a lifetime blended with our courteous hospitality and a pleasurable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mumtaz Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing