We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aura Mumtaz Mahal

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Aura Mumtaz Mahal
Ranked #82 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed for a few nights in late 2013 just to visit the Taj Mahal. The hotel is in a near perfect location for the Taj Mahal - just down a small side street and a short walk to the main entrance of the Taj Mahal (turn left) and the ticket office (turn right).
The room was basic but clean and the hotel safe. Used a car booked through the hotel (private or hotel owned - I don't know) to go to the train station for an early morning train. Arrived safely, although I felt at times that the driver was auditioning for the Force India F1 team!
However, the hot water (which only comes on at set times - common in India) didn't flow well to our room and each time we needed a shower we had to go to reception and ask them to fix it - which they did quite quickly, but on 2 occasions not quickly enough for us to shower before going out. The restaurant was also poor. The menu was excellent but when we tried to order found that all the lamb and fish dishes were 'off'. Restaurant and reception staff were friendly and the roof top restaurant had a distant view of the Taj Mahal. Better dining options and a full menu available at the hotels on the other side of the road. Internet also broke down for an extended period during our stay.
Perhaps surprisingly, given the above comments, I would recommend the hotel for travellers who are visiting for just a day or so to see the Taj Mahal, as the location is so good - but with a little research better options might be available at the hotels opposite, although probably not at the same price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolphin712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    31
    27
    20
    36
See reviews for
37
59
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The Hotel Mumtaz Mahal was a splendid experience for us. We expected our hotel in Agra to be a bit shabby, seeing as it is quite a touristic place (no business hotels). We were proved wrong after arrival at The Hotel Mumtaz Mahal.The hotel is, for Indian standards, very good.
The room and bathroom were clean and in a good state.Breakfast was included and was good.
The staff at the hotel were very pragmatic, and we even sometimes had complementary drinks and free internet (only hotel in India where this happened)

Another great advantage to this hotel, is that it is only 5 minute away from the Taj Mahal and on walking distance to the shopping mall of Agra.

If you're looking for an up-scale hotel in Agra, I would recommend this.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyNomad77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Uncooperative staff.. they do not provide room which we booked.. we booked executive room for rupees 2500 on phone one day before but when we reached hotel they provide normal room at 2500rupees... rooms are too smaller in size, their food prices r very high 30rs per simple chapati... we don't have any option at night for dinner so we decided to take dinner at hotel.. their restaurant at top floor decoration is nice but lots of mosquitoes destroyed all of enjoyment... we order food but they provide that dinner after 45 minutes... thier restaurant at top floor and kitchen of hotel at basement.. each thing we demand they take minimum 30 minutes to serve that order for extra two chapaties they took 40 minutes... their kitchen staff behave like rude... the lift of their hotel was not working... owner of hotel is very arrogant n rude type.. over all it was very bad experience at that hotel.. next day we checked out from hotel n took another hotel... very bad experience..

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank ahjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

Marsden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This hotel is in a very god position within walking diatance of the Taj Mahal.
The room was comfortable and clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly, advising us of the best way to get to the Taj. I would like to particularly mention Ranjeet who was on duty in the evening and made our dining experience a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneP74-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had stayed for one night. The rooms are clean and well managed. The hotel is situated at around 300 mtr from the Taj Eastern Gate. One can enjoy the view of The Taj from the roof top restaurant. The food is nice and one can easily choose from their wide variety of menu.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Arpitscd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I just stayed at the hotel and they were extremely nice! They went out of the way to do everything cold to accommodate me! They took me to the room top which was a nice taj ciew from roof top ! I really have never had such great service from a hotel !I feel it's a value for money to stay in Hotel Mumtaz Mahal,Agra

Occan view in morning & evening at the roof top of Hotel Mumtaz Mahal......

Room Tip: “Please request for the rooms on the upper floors!”
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariya_rosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Everyone in the group were very pleased with the food, the staff and the rooms. Many requested we do future retreats at the Hotel. We were pleased with everything. "Money well spent." The view from the terrace or shall i say from the terrace restaurant is breathtaking. Be proud of your hotel. It is a world class hotel and everything from start to finish is absolutely first class.The reception is welcoming and friendly, the rooms are clean and spacious, and I can’t think of a single negative. We look forward to visiting again.”

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank astha2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bhoomi Residency
Hotel Bhoomi Residency
#57 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Taj Inn
Hotel Taj Inn
#31 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rudra Vilas
Hotel Rudra Vilas
#46 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Optimum Rooms Tara Palace @ Taj
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#69 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#20 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aura Mumtaz Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aura Mumtaz Mahal

Property: Hotel Aura Mumtaz Mahal
Address: Near Shilpi Gram | Taj Mahal Eastern Gate, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aura Mumtaz Mahal 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mumtaz Mahal is one of the finest hotels located at a short distance of 1 kilo meter from the Taj Mahal, from where you can enjoy the view of the monument soaked in moonlight from the roof top dining area. The interiors of the hotels reflect the perfection and class that we provide in our accommodation options and services. The 22 rooms are created considering the distinctive tastes of the travelers visiting the Taj Mahal. The spacious rooms are brightly lit, contained with traditional services and latest features that take your experience to the next level. Free Wi-Fi and a plethora of turn down services are the exclusive facilities that we have for our guests, to make them feel valued and pampered. To enjoy enchanting beauty of the Taj Mahal on a full moon night or under the starry night sky, with a cp of coffee or a delectable meal, to create cherishing memories with your loved ones. The in-house kitchen offers customizable menus allowing you to order food as per your choice and preferences. Our endeavor is to make your visit to the timeless, Taj Mahal, an indelible memory to last a lifetime blended with our courteous hospitality and a pleasurable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Aura Mumtaz Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing