We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not pleased”
Review of Hotel Mumtaz Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mumtaz Mahal
Ranked #51 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 1 May 2014

As one of guys saying, google map cant locate this place. Lifts were not working at all. I stay 4 days and they gave me Executive room having wardrobe but after 1 day stay, AC were not working so they transfer me to another room where three pins were not working and there is no wardrobe. According to them they have only 2 such room and 1 room is occupied and another room's AC were not working. They didnt discount me anything or offer for such thing.
I dont prefer to go to that hotel again. There restaurant guys were awesome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vishal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

we passed our four memorable days in this hotel with highest service and great hospitality by the hotel stuff especially from reception desk including beautiful location peaceful environment and hygienic testy food, but driver of cave provided by hotel was not fair in mind rather they used to misguide us so be careful and ask for good and co-operative driver.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mouchi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

i stopped in mumtaz mahal hotel while traveling india, and my stop was in agra. the place is overall pleasant, nice view and location, the food is also quite nice, and the personnel is hospitable and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zoeydenisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

1. It's not Hotel's fault but Google Maps could not find this place and you may land up in some slums, so better search for Taj East Gate or Oberoi Amarvilas (next to this property)
2. No proper parking for Self Driven Cars which could be important for Delhi guys driving off Yamuna e-way.
3. Schindler elevators/lifts but not working, be prepared to climb up the stairs (restaurant is on the 4th floor), this could be a problem for families with small kids/old parents.
4. We booked Executive rooms (offcourse on higher tariff) but were given Standard Rooms? They didn't even cared to offer us Executive room
5. AC was not working in one of the 2 rooms they gave us, requested for change, other room was smelling bad coz of dampness, finally settled for 3rd room though the TV was not working in this one!
6. Rooms are very small, hardly any space to move, no wardrobe/storage space. Walls were damp and you can feel the damp smell. Thankfully bed was comfortable with clean bedsheets.
7. Toilets were clean but not maintained. Strange that you don't get Hot running water! Yes, when asked we were told that hot water is only supplied 5am-9am, so if you plan to take bath at 9:05am, ask for hot water buckets, wait for them while you have to rush for breakfast at 4th floor being served till 10:15am. Best part was that no one informs you about these timings at the time of check-in so that at-least you can plan your morning.
8. Another surprise you get when you reach Rooftop Taj View Restaurant - "No Buffet" so you order A'la Carte but with strictly 1 small potion, from Indian Cuisine you have only 2 options- Aloo Parantha with curd or Deep Fried Very Oily Poori Bhaji. If you order Eggs/Omlette make sure you ask for bread to accompany else stewards will you won't get it :D. Anything else you may need will be charged extra because they don't have enough occupancy to lay out the buffet!
9. Menu is bit expensive going by the quality and service for other meals.

The only good point I'd say is the location being close to Taj, yes it's walking distance of about 600mts only but I believe there are better options within this range around. If you don't have small kids/olds you may easily walk down. Don't fall for package being sold to us for a package of battery operated e-ricksahw for Rs. 400 Hotel to Taj and return including 4 tickets (original cost Rs. 20 per adult). I'd not recommend this hotel to anyone, even if you land up here - make sure you take of the points mentioned above beforehand!

Room Tip: You won't get rooms you will ask for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ankrute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The best part about this place is its location, its just 5 mins away from taj mahal. Room is nice if you are going for one day, We stayed on 4th floor which had terrace and awesome place to enjoy in the night. The indian food is nice but chinese is very bad. The market is also near by and we went to watch movie in near by mall. Overall very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nupur09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

hotel mumtaz mahal is perfect place in agra to stay as it is near to taj mahal in a walking distance of 400mt. as well as it has a finest view of taj mahal from its roof top restaurant. The room was good and staff also very helpful, they given us perfect itinerary for our trip in very reasonable rates. As we haven't taken any major dish but our dinner was quite good.

Room Tip: perfect stay in reasonable rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalebetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed for a few nights in late 2013 just to visit the Taj Mahal. The hotel is in a near perfect location for the Taj Mahal - just down a small side street and a short walk to the main entrance of the Taj Mahal (turn left) and the ticket office (turn right).
The room was basic but clean and the hotel safe. Used a car booked through the hotel (private or hotel owned - I don't know) to go to the train station for an early morning train. Arrived safely, although I felt at times that the driver was auditioning for the Force India F1 team!
However, the hot water (which only comes on at set times - common in India) didn't flow well to our room and each time we needed a shower we had to go to reception and ask them to fix it - which they did quite quickly, but on 2 occasions not quickly enough for us to shower before going out. The restaurant was also poor. The menu was excellent but when we tried to order found that all the lamb and fish dishes were 'off'. Restaurant and reception staff were friendly and the roof top restaurant had a distant view of the Taj Mahal. Better dining options and a full menu available at the hotels on the other side of the road. Internet also broke down for an extended period during our stay.
Perhaps surprisingly, given the above comments, I would recommend the hotel for travellers who are visiting for just a day or so to see the Taj Mahal, as the location is so good - but with a little research better options might be available at the hotels opposite, although probably not at the same price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dolphin712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Taj Inn
Hotel Taj Inn
#33 of 143 in Agra
278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rudra Vilas
Hotel Rudra Vilas
#60 of 143 in Agra
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bhoomi Residency
Hotel Bhoomi Residency
#61 of 143 in Agra
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Madhushrie
Hotel Madhushrie
#56 of 143 in Agra
84 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Avalon Taj
Hotel Avalon Taj
#20 of 143 in Agra
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#18 of 143 in Agra
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mumtaz Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mumtaz Mahal

Address: Near Shilp Gram | Taj Mahal Eastern Gate, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: £16 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mumtaz Mahal 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mumtaz Mahal is one of the finest hotels located at a short distance of 1 kilo meter from the Taj Mahal, from where you can enjoy the view of the monument soaked in moonlight from the roof top dining area. The interiors of the hotels reflect the perfection and class that we provide in our accommodation options and services. The 22 rooms are created considering the distinctive tastes of the travelers visiting the Taj Mahal. The spacious rooms are brightly lit, contained with traditional services and latest features that take your experience to the next level. Free Wi-Fi and a plethora of turn down services are the exclusive facilities that we have for our guests, to make them feel valued and pampered. To enjoy enchanting beauty of the Taj Mahal on a full moon night or under the starry night sky, with a cp of coffee or a delectable meal, to create cherishing memories with your loved ones. The in-house kitchen offers customizable menus allowing you to order food as per your choice and preferences. Our endeavor is to make your visit to the timeless, Taj Mahal, an indelible memory to last a lifetime blended with our courteous hospitality and a pleasurable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mumtaz Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing