We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had view of Taj Mahal from our bedroom window”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Ranked #15 of 145 Hotels in Agra
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Had view of Taj Mahal from our bedroom window”
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Nice modern hotel. Used as a base to explore the area but mainly for its proximity to The Taj Mahal and Agra Fort. All modern facilities. High quality restaurant on the top floor. Good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    548
    275
    85
    36
See reviews for
332
425
74
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Stayed in this hotel in February for one night and should say that my stay was quite pleasant. The hotel staff was very attentive, room was clean and comfortable, view of Taj was great. Had dinner at the hotel's restaurant and it was very good, however, breakfast options were kind of limited in my opinion. Overall, I am glad I chose this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank openhearted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

I have stayed at this simple but slightly dated hotel a few times over the past 20 years. As one of the first "five star" hotels in Agra it is well located for the main sites and a simple 10 minute ride to the Taj Mahal for that 5am start. The rooms are dated though and ensuring you get a good room is essential. Book in advance to get a good rate. If you hold in your mind that this hotel is like a 4-star early 90s business hotel you will have a good idea of the stay you should expect. There are no hidden gems in this city which is structurally designed to rip off tourists. I suggest one night, in and out.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We recently spent 17 days with a fantastic driver named Amit from India Private Driver and while in Agra we stayed at Clarks Shiraz. This hotel is great and our room had a fantastic bed, shower and bath. The staff was very friendly and although the restaurant is a bit expense the food was very good. Very, very clean and recommended.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KitesofFury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
108 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We stayed here as part of a package. The lobby and room were spacious and comfortable. Our dealings with staff were fine - we used the safety deposit service and ate at the cafe, the roof-top restaurant, and breakfast room. The food at supper was expensive for the quality. The internet charge at the business center was very reasonable. We did not use the pool. Would stay here again but suggest not eating all your meals here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Good, but not 5*, hotel. Breakfast is ok, rooms are big, but furniture & bathroom are dated and needs renovation.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Multik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

This hotel may have been a five star hotel when it was built, but it certainly is not any longer. It is currently rundown with old fashioned decor; more a three star hotel, but the restaurants and bars still charge five star prices (for example, 400 rupees for a cocktail--which is almost 9 USD). Jacuzzi and spa services are old-fashioned yet still very expensive. Gym contains old, malfunctioning equipment. Generally, service is amiable but often slow and inefficient (for example, one uses the internet at the business center but then must go down to the lobby and pay for the use in cash--no option to simply charge to the room). Breakfast buffet food includes a variety of choices but the food quality was generally poor. The hotel is located on a road without many other services within easy walking distance, so it isn't an easy option to just stroll outside the hotel property and find different restaurants, shopping, and internet options...of course these options exist in town but they are not located within easy/pleasant walking distance of the hotel. It's an ok place to stay but I don't recommend believing the 5 star story.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earplugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,800 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
1.7 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarks Shiraz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarks Shiraz

Property: Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Address: 54 Taj Road, Agra 282 001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Agra
#7 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#12 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#13 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Clarks Shiraz 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL CLARKS SHIRAZ, AGRA - 237 well appointed rooms & suites. Distance from railway station - 3 km Taj Mahal - 1 km Red Fort - 1 1/2 km Main shopping centre - 1 km Dining Options: The Mughal Room - Roof top our specialty al-a-carte restaurant, overlooking the Taj Mahal & Red Fort The Buffet - Multi-cuisine lobby level dining Hall The Coffee Shop - 24 hours The Mughal Bar- Roof top bar with variety of imported and domestic beverages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Clarks Shiraz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarks Shiraz Hotel Agra
Clarks Shiraz Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing