We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Ranked #14 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 26 April 2012

An amazing hotel with a great view of the Taj Mahal. Awesome. We only stayed one night but the service was good and the food very tasty.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pross1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a nice hotel to stay with cool air con and clean bathroom. The room size is generous and it is pretty new (heard that it has been renovated not long ago).

The hotel restaurant serves nice foods too and I recommend this hotel to all tourists.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

What this hotel loses out in with its facilities, it more than makes up for in service.
The staff are very nice and more than willing to help and food is great.
But the hotel is showing its age a bit, but you can accept this as it is a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms a single glazed so they can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_G61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We only stayed at the Clarks Shiraz hotel for 1 night, but we would have been happy to stay here for longer.
Our room was clean, a good size and had a view of the Taj Mahal in the distance. The hotel's in a great location for seeing the sights of Agra, yet is far enough away from the traffic noise.
There's a rooftop bar which seems to be quite under used, which is a shame as its a nice spot for a cold beer as the sun's going down. The restaurant next to this is lovely - we had some very good curries in there and the service was attentive. Despite being the only people in there at the time, the live band still played which was a nice touch without being intrusive.
All in all a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Taj
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynseyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I had the displeasure of staying at Agra's Clark Shiraz along with a tour group this past October.

It all began well enough, but in the middle of the night, actual 1:30AM, two fellow tourists were roused by security and forcibly evicted by the hotel staff, who claimed that their submitted passport photo copies were not adequate to reserve a room. The proceedings of this were viewed by everyone because of the ruckus created by men banging on the door with night sticks.

As many hotels in India require passports, this is somewhat understandable. But I stress that this eviction took place more than 5 hours after a "successful" check-in the hotel's acceptance of payment, ~$150. The tourists were then informed that no refund would be provided, since it was after 9 PM, and the hotel staff ordered a cab, the driver of which was visibly intoxicated, and insisted the tourists leave the premises. They did leave (not with the stumbling driver), and ended up having to sleep on the curb, as by now it was 3 AM and the chance of finding new lodgings were slim.

To boot, a few in the group that remained had large red and purple bumps all over their bodies, so perhaps a forcible eviction without refund was favorable to a "good night's' sleep.

Bed bugs and bureaucracy are part of travelling, but at the very least I would expect a refund if I'm going to be allowed to unpack, get in bed, fall asleep, and then be evicted.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Puddin1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This was the second city hotel on our Golden Triangle Tour so we were only booked in for one night (22 November 2011).

CHECK IN: we arrived late afternoon and check in was very efficient.

ROOM: the room we were allocated was just average, nothing special but more important it was nice and clean. Some of our group were not impressed with the room location, but I’m guessing we were allocated these as the hotel was very full because there was a large Indian wedding (which looked fabulous) taking place that evening. To be honest for one night the room was more than adequate.

LOCATION: I can’t really comment on location other than to say it did seem to be in easy reach for all the attractions.

FOOD: because we were late arriving and had already enjoyed a very late lunch we didn’t really need or want a full dinner. Instead we used the coffee shop for a light snack. The service was very good, the food nice and tasty and we felt it was reasonably priced. We stayed B&B so had breakfast the next morning before more sight seeing. The dining room was huge, so rather impersonal, but the food was good and there was plenty of choice available. Eggs were freshly cooked to order.

OVERALL: maybe because of size this seemed the most impersonal of the city hotels we stayed in, but it was a pleasant stay and we’d be quite happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Nice grounds, good food, good location (for Agra) and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDwalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
1.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 143 in Agra
4,070 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarks Shiraz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarks Shiraz

Address: 54 Taj Road, Agra 282 001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Agra
#7 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#12 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#13 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range: £55 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Clarks Shiraz 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL CLARKS SHIRAZ, AGRA - 237 well appointed rooms & suites. Distance from railway station - 3 km Taj Mahal - 1 km Red Fort - 1 1/2 km Main shopping centre - 1 km Dining Options: The Mughal Room - Roof top our specialty al-a-carte restaurant, overlooking the Taj Mahal & Red Fort The Buffet - Multi-cuisine lobby level dining Hall The Coffee Shop - 24 hours The Mughal Bar- Roof top bar with variety of imported and domestic beverages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Clarks Shiraz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarks Shiraz Hotel Agra
Clarks Shiraz Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing