We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-Star? what a joke!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Ranked #15 of 143 Hotels in Agra
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“5-Star? what a joke!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

- Very expensive, slow and unreliable wifi internet
- Food in the cafe was horrible in quality and poor value for money, it's almost an insult to the customers who are more or less trapped in the compounds
- Location is not very convenient, quite far to walk to local restaurants and cafes
- Decor has seen better days
- Loads of monkeys climbing around the windows, don't leave your window open!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fizzy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    557
    282
    86
    36
See reviews for
348
437
74
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The hotel is an absolutely outdated property and needs an absolute facelift and renovation of the property as well as the staff. On entering the hotel you have a feeling as if you have entered a banquet hall property due to the pile of chairs in the gallery adjoining the garden just in front of the main gate. The checking in took almost half hour although I was alone at that time. It seems the room was not ready in spite of the hotel having my booking much in advance and my check in time being at about 2.00 PM.
The room seems ok except the fact that you seem to have come to a room of a hotel of 25 years back era. There were flies in the room. I went to take a shower in the afternoon and the water was so hot even at the cold setting that it seemed impossible to be able to take the shower. The television does not have clear transmission of most of the channels. The hotel charges you even for the toothpaste which is usually complimentary in most of the hotels of this standard.
The telephone in the bathroom had lot of disturbance and noise while talking.
The coffee shop is a very small place and does not offer much food variety.
The reception area itself is very small and is worse than a small time hotel. Also everything in the hotel including the furniture, furnishings, flooring etc. looks so old and unkempt.
I would never want to stay in this hotel again.
The quality and variety of breakfast was very basic and not something to write about.

Room Tip: Choose any room and I believe that it will not be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ankurvaish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Not too close to the Taj, but since we were getting up very ealry to see it at sunrise, the traffic was not a problem.The pool was very clean. The hotel was very busy at meal times but the staff were very professional and we had no real problems getting served. The rooms were very comfortable and well appointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of a tour with Thomson. Driving through Agra on the way to the hotel I really did wonder what the standard of the hotel would be like as the whole area is very, very run down. Thankfully this hotel was a little gem, clean, well presented and with friendly and helpful staff. There was an Indian wedding taking place at the hotel which we were allowed to watch. The room was spacious and comfortable. Staff at breakfast were very attentive and couldn't do enough for you. If you fancy some English food or cake, try the cafe in the hotel who can rustle up a burger for you. Check the cake though before you buy it, it looks lovely, but we rejected it as it had ants crawling on it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffyRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Beautiful hotel, a little far from the taj, could not get the Taj facing rooms as they were booked. The staff was very courteous and rooms were clean and spacious. The lawns were great. The bathrooms were very clean

Room Tip: ask for a view with the TAJ
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The most pathetic place to be in. The rooms are bad the staff is unprofessional.We stayed for an hour and had to check out because of the horrible room.they charged us full tariff. The managers are old and plain crude. They need to be off the 5 or 4 star grid. Very expensive for no services. Just hated it.wat a sad stay

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingalways1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The hotel is a little dated. Our room was spacious but the window was single glazed and the room smelt a little damp. However it was very clean and the bathroom was clean and well stocked, and very well placed for the Red Fort and the Taj.

We ate in the small cafe bar off reception and whilst the service was a little slow the food was good, and the staff friendly and competent. There are a few shops near the foyer.

We were allocated a room without a view of the Taj, even though the hotel was far from full and it sells it's self on having the most Taj facing rooms in the city.

The bar on the upper floor was closed when we went up at lunch time and access to the roof terrace was locked.

Room Tip: Ask for a Taj facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 143 in Agra
3,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
0.8 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarks Shiraz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarks Shiraz

Property: Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Address: 54 Taj Road, Agra 282 001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#7 Family Hotel in Agra
#12 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#13 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Clarks Shiraz 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL CLARKS SHIRAZ, AGRA - 237 well appointed rooms & suites. Distance from railway station - 3 km Taj Mahal - 1 km Red Fort - 1 1/2 km Main shopping centre - 1 km Dining Options: The Mughal Room - Roof top our specialty al-a-carte restaurant, overlooking the Taj Mahal & Red Fort The Buffet - Multi-cuisine lobby level dining Hall The Coffee Shop - 24 hours The Mughal Bar- Roof top bar with variety of imported and domestic beverages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Clarks Shiraz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarks Shiraz Hotel Agra
Clarks Shiraz Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing