We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Ranked #15 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 3 July 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights. Service and staff very good. Excellent location to visit Agra Fort, Baby Taj and of course Taj Mahal. Room clean and fifth floor restaurant very good. Visit shop "99" in the hotel as they sell lovely dressing gowns (packaged in a pouch) - these are great for presents and cost under £5.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah-Jane39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    550
    277
    86
    36
See reviews for
334
427
74
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Beautiful hotel with luxurious appointments. The staff were friendly, helpful and unobtrusive. The rooms were impressive, comfortable and very well stocked. The restaurant had a wonderful ambience with an exhaustive menu to select from and the food was delicious, The staff were attentive and helped in selection of the menu. We loved the hotel and will definately stay there next time we are in Agra. We have recommended it to our friends and relatives and would recommend it to your review readers. A wonderful 5 star hotel.
JetPrivilege membership: 128618313

  • Liked — The service provided by all the staff and the room.
  • Disliked — No comment
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Havehotelwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

The hotel was built in 1961 and looks like it hasnt been updated since then. The location itself is average. The decor from the rooms to the exterior to the lobby screams 1960s. Though if that was the only problem, it still could get 3 or even 4 stars. The main issue for us was the cleanliness of our room. It appeared that housekeeping forgot to finish cleaning our room before we arrived. The were hairs all over the bathroom, the bed wasnt quite made. there were spiders about and the room generally did not look clean. When I pointed this out to the manager the said there were no other rooms available, which is hard to believe given that it was low season and only 1/3 of the building was even open. After our first night, the rooms as in much better shape the second day as it was actually cleaned. Though the bathroom still had brown mold throughout and everything just looked worn. On the bright side, the Indian Restaurant on the lobby level was fantastic, with some of the best food we ate on our trip. Overall though, this is one to avoid if you can.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jersey1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

We were a group of 30 friends and have booked this hotel because of its close proximity to Taj Mahal, local market and good group rate they have offered to us with some dance and live music.

Great food and rooms were clean, well maintained.

The check-in process was fast and the staff was very courteous. Overall a good experience of staying in this hotel.

Thanks

  • Liked — Great location and very centrally located.
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajatkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

There isnt really that much to say about this hotel. The food is expensive. I had room service which was high quality, and the breakfast was a bit suspect. They didnt have a non-smoking room for me which was irritating for me.

Location-wise it is close-ish to both the Taj and the Fort, in a peaceful place. You can see the Taj from the roof restaurant in the distance. There is however nothing around the hotel, so once you are there, you are stuck there unless you get a taxi or rickshaw.

The room was partially refurbished, with some highly dated features. The common areas are quite dated, but not unpleasant. It was very clean and quite spacious.

The gym wasnt very good, and the pool had slightly murky water, but neither were unusable. i dont think this is a 5* hotel, but in fairness I didnt pay 5* prices so it was not bad value.

Slightly oddly there were a lot of power cuts in my stay (about 1 per hr lasting about 15-30seconds). I have not experienced this anywhere else in India.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rndmtrvlr777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

We liked this hotel, travelling with 2 young children and an old lady aboard. Our rooms were attractive, large, clean and had great beds. The bathrooms were very clean and roomy, with gowns and a large selection of toiletries. I read that the tower has been refurbished so I think we were in that bit. There was a distant view of the Taj Mahal from our rooms on the top floor, but it was good enough really. Food: great breakfast, large buffet selection and cooked to order eggs, attentive staff. We tried the evening buffet too twice which was OK but a little expensive at around £10 a head. Room service was fantastically speedy - I recommend the dosa as a cheap and hearty snack meal. We didn't try the rooftop restaurant.

Nice pool with a baby pool too and changing facilities. Set in attractive gardens. We also used the Beauty Parlour for Indian head massage - not cheap and not particularly attractive salon - really needs updating: lots of magazine pictures of 80's celebrities!

I would say the main downside of this hotel is that it hosts conferences etc which were on continously while we were there (four days); and boy are Indians loud at their conferences and they sure party afterwards!! So if you like peace while you're trying to sleep, check that out. Also avoid the shopping mall - it is highly overpriced!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masalamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We stayed at the Clarks Shiraz for one night in January 2009 after seeing the beautiful Taj Mahal. We had booked the Taj view room, which was spacious and clean. Our view of the Taj Mahal from our room, was limited to the upper part of the dome on the main Taj building. The rest of the Taj view was blocked because of vegetation growing in front of it. When the weather is bad ( hazy etc) the view disappears. - as we experienced the next day. The gardens and pool area are very nice and clean.
The reception staff were very polite and professional at all times.
Use of the internet was not successful as they couldn't get a connection??? We gave up in the end. The young receptionist did make an effort to rectify the probelm. :)
Our dinner in the small cafe was ok. Given the fact we were the only diners - for at least 30 mins, the service was quite slow. The menu choice was fine, but the food was average and expensive. DO NOT buy the house red wine - it tastes like cheap vinegar - really disgusting.
For any travellers considering buying souvenirs from the small jewellery / gift shop - BEWARE. The young man that runs it is a con artist and a liar. We purchased a small elephant charm with red stones in it (supposedly rubies from Burma). I asked if it was 9ct gold as there was no 'stamp' marked on it. He advised they didn't put this on as there was no room / place on the elephant. We asked 3 times if it was real, and NOT gold plated. I also asked if it was a genuine item as the price was not too bad. He said they were selling the items at 50% off as they had to clear stock.
His body language indicated he was rather affronted by our question. We part paid for the item by credit card, as he insisted we pay 2,000rps in cash as part of the payment - due to high bank fees, which he didn't / wouldn't give us a receipt for.
It was unfortunate we had a driver waiting as I wasn't comfortable with this request, but he rushed the sale through, even as I was saying 'hang on a minute, don't put it through yet".
Upon leaving I reminded him again of the documenation stating it was genuine 9ct gold and 'rubies'. He did this quickly and once in the envelope, stapled it all the way across the top.
When we got back to Delhi, we opened up our purchase and documentation only to see he had written at the end of the paper work 9ct G/P, which is obviously gold plated.
The elephant has since lost its gold colour and is now a dirty silver colour.
This mans English was very good and he understood what we were asking. We could not have made our questions and itent any clearer.
If this was a seller on the streets or in a small shop, I would expect maybe some untruths, - Caveat emptor. Latin for "Let the buyer beware - but for the Clarks Shiraz to allow such a dishonest vendor to trade in their hotel speaks volumes of the type of hotel they are.
Based on this unacceptable and unprofessional behaviour by the hotel shop vendor, we WOULD NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
1.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 145 in Agra
3,845 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.6 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarks Shiraz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarks Shiraz

Property: Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Address: 54 Taj Road, Agra 282 001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#7 Family Hotel in Agra
#12 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#13 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Clarks Shiraz 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL CLARKS SHIRAZ, AGRA - 237 well appointed rooms & suites. Distance from railway station - 3 km Taj Mahal - 1 km Red Fort - 1 1/2 km Main shopping centre - 1 km Dining Options: The Mughal Room - Roof top our specialty al-a-carte restaurant, overlooking the Taj Mahal & Red Fort The Buffet - Multi-cuisine lobby level dining Hall The Coffee Shop - 24 hours The Mughal Bar- Roof top bar with variety of imported and domestic beverages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Clarks Shiraz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarks Shiraz Hotel Agra
Clarks Shiraz Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing