We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel near taj mahal”
Review of Hotel Amar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Amar
Ranked #48 of 145 Hotels in Agra
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“nice hotel near taj mahal”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

i stayed here for 2 nights in april.rooms were quite big, and clean, and the breakfast was ok.swimming pool was good,hotel is just 5 mins drive from taj mahal.pizza hut,costa coffee outlets just on 5 mins walk.u have to pay for internet.staff is just ok.this hotel is value for money.all in all i would recommend this hotel if ur on tight budget.

Room Tip: good for 1-2 nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indian_rover33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    186
    140
    73
    70
See reviews for
162
144
47
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It was a wonderful experience altogether ranging from amicable and timely room service to cleanliness. Admin and Reception people were very helping. The only concern was the WiFi (Rs100/hr which seemed too costly without even disclosing the exact speed provided) Other then that everything was good specially the food.! :)
A thumbs Up to this property.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Gaurav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melaniehookuk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed staying in this hotel very much. We picked it out of the guide book as arrived late by train to Agra. Our room was excellent , large clean with a very good bathroom and we had a superior room at a reduced rate.

We particularly liked the friendly waiters in the restaurant where we ate an evening meal for three nights. Their service was also excellent for the delicious breakfast and unusually they did not seem to be looking for tips like the rest of the people we came across. The hotel arranged us a taxi back to Delhi which worked well.

Thanks you for your hopitality -it was a hot time and the hotel was a welcome refuge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melaniehookuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel was very good, nice reception and lobby area, very nice pool area and room was nice spacious but missiong mini bar in the room. The bathroom was neat and clean but there was problem of having hot water on continuous basis. The disappointing part was havign wifi on chargeable basis where at present times everyone provide it complimentary to their guest. The staff were very nice and courteous and service was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MridulGehlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had stay in this hotel during two days visit in the Agra city in jul-2013 .This hotel is very beautiful .The room was very clean. Staff was very cooperative ,friendly etc. Food was very good at very reasonable rate. Room have coffee/Team maker equipment. All monuments from this hotel not too far just 5 to 15 min drive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonesh Ranjan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My title says it all. This place is very well kept and the staff,food and of course service is just GR8.

Keep it up.

I have been staying here since 2003 every time i visit Agra for work and every time I stay here I feel the staff takes care of me the way I would like to be looked after.

The food quality is great. The swimming pool is well kept and you will always find the water clean and the surroundings are also looked after well.

Only one thing I would like the housekeeping to take care is the towels, they should look milk white but sorry to say please look at them and if they look yellow pls change them.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th and 5th floor are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANJAY11D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

First three positive things about this hotel: the poolarea with sunbeds, good location and breakfast was ok (if you like indian breakfast)

The room and service was terrible! There was no hot water in the shower and we got almost no toilet paper. An there was no safe deposit locker and mini bar/refrigerator as stated on their website. But these things are insignificant compared to the fact that it was extremely noisy at night, as our room was located next to the restaurant and there was a big party right outside our paperthin door, so we got only 2 hours of sleep before we we’re going up at 5.30 to see Taj Mahal at sunrise. We complained about this to several staff members, and they did nothing to meet our needs and solve the situation. At first they did not even apologize, just saying «we will fix this next time». As if we would come back there again! We suggeted ourselves that we should get a late check out so we could catch up lost sleep before taking the night train to our next destination. After talking to the manager a couple of times, he eventually agreed on this.

They also charge 100 INR per hour for wi-fi, which is very expensive by Indian standards!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 1st floor, especially the ones close to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ida H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.1 mi away
Amar Yatri Niwas
Amar Yatri Niwas
#103 of 145 in Agra
260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Taj Inn
Hotel Taj Inn
#31 of 145 in Agra
256 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Pushp Villa
Hotel Pushp Villa
#37 of 145 in Agra
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Taj Villa
Taj Villa
#33 of 145 in Agra
291 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Retreat
The Retreat
#28 of 145 in Agra
719 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Royale Residency
Hotel Royale Residency
#34 of 145 in Agra
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amar

Property: Hotel Amar
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amar 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Amar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amar Hotel Agra
Hotel Amar Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing