We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Besides the rooftop pool....NOPE”
Review of Hotel Atulyaa Taj

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Ranked #19 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Besides the rooftop pool....NOPE”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Last minute change from my travel agency because the place I was supposed to go to had a big wedding function (????). The only thing I like about this hotel is that the rooftop pool and the view is amazing. Other than that:

1. Room service and breakfast buffet food is terrible. I didn't really have a choice since I was dead tired and didn't want to die of starvation
2. Only in Agra I've experienced people demanding for tips. Oh you brought my plate of reheated chicken and fries up as expected? Cool story bro. I'd rather give tips on my own accord rather than being told that I have to
3. From previous experience any room service tray should be called to be collected. I did that, he said he'll be up, and never showed. In the morning I left it out my door. Went sightseeing and came back 3 hours later.....it was still there. Wish I could take my tip back from the night before
4. Don't forget your toothbrush and toothpaste. Surprise! They don't supply those
5. Clear glass bathroom walls that face the beds are all the rage nowadays. They might want to check the functionality of the blinds periodically. Not that I bothered since I was alone, but still....

My experience in the room is not like a hotel room but more akin to sleeping over someone's guest room. I'm consider myself to be quite easy-going but the quality of this hotel leaves very little for me to write home about. Glad I was travelling alone because if I was with my wife, she'd rip me to shreds for booking this hotel.

The only thing people would say after staying here is ".......hey, at least it's really near the Taj."

Glad I was here for only 1 night. I rated this place Average, and I'm being REALLY modest here....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heyzahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    210
    120
    37
    33
See reviews for
178
225
35
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

There are some drawbacks about the hotel, I.e. rather amateur staff who were very willing but in need a training, & perhaps a few more cleaners, but the pool was very good on the roof as was the view of the taj and the food was more than ok, in fact good! The front desk was very helpful. Close ti east gate of taj. Hint to hotel: There is no need to have loud Indian pop videos or soaps playing during breakfast non-stop !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PadamChaudhary, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Atulyaa Taj, responded to this review, 17 November 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your comments about how was your stay in our hotel,
We are glad to see that our hotel meet your expectations and you had a pleasant stay.
We try our best to provide a high standard of customer service so for this reason we are happy that our team was helpful.
We will be very happy to see you again in our hotel for your next trip in Agra.

Kind Regards
Padam chaudhary
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Hotel is at walking distance from Taj Mahal and they can make the arrangment for tickets on request which saves you time... cherry on the pei is rooftop pool, view of Taj and the food is also good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Anshul_Alisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scmgpl
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Got a Good deal for our Group of Cousins on a N.India Trip.After the drive on a rickety tempo Traveller and a visit to the Taj Mahal,the best thing that could have happened was this hotel with great beds,Good Shower but an over priced restaurant that serves OK quality food.Everybody was very tired to realise that.The Swimming pool on the top had the Kids enjoying in the morning but the Breakfast was so-so.
Would recommend this everybody just for the stay and please eat outside as there are better options.As we were driving to ranthambore in the afternoon,didnt go out looking for places to eat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashokscm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PadamChaudhary, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Atulyaa Taj, responded to this review, 17 November 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your comments about how was your stay in our hotel,
We are glad to see that our hotel meet your expectations and you had a pleasant stay.
We try our best to provide a high standard of customer service so for this reason we are happy that our team was helpful.
We will be very happy to see you again in our hotel for your next trip in Agra.

Kind Regards
Padam chaudhary
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We chose this hotel based on tripadvisor comments and we have become big fans of this place. Special mention of Front Office always pleasant with big smiles, very accommodating and courteous, they became people we looked forward to meeting everytime we set foot in the hotel..almost like family
The Hotel is just a foot away from Taj Mahal.the The Hotel is quiet and clean. Simplicity at its best :)
The rooms are clean and have very, very comfortable beds. Free wifi even in the rooms is a big plus point. Great breakfast, The staff were very pleasant and accommodating. It felt like home away from home. Two thumbs up!! Personal recommendation! Will definitely be back on my next trip to Agra :)

Room Tip: Rooms on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravishukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PadamChaudhary, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Atulyaa Taj, responded to this review, 17 November 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review of Hotel Atulyaa Taj. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Padam Chaudhary
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Germany, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, hotel Atulyaa Taj is wonderful place for the guest to the Taj Mahal only 500 km approx (walking distance). our rooms was comfortable, with tea, coffee facilities and good shower in bathroom with round the clock hot water.

Front desk was excellent and took only 3 minutes to our check in. our rooms on 2nd floor and have enough space, clean,
hygienic and well maintained. breakfast was very good and specially live omelet. staff was very helpful and courteous.

All in all, the most luxurious hotel in Agra, a good hotel with all the amenities and clean spacious rooms and you can also
enjoy the rooftop outdoor pool……

Room Tip: Try to get a room on higher floor for see the Taj View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glenn e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PadamChaudhary, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Atulyaa Taj, responded to this review, 17 November 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your comments about how was your stay in our hotel,
We are glad to see that our hotel meet your expectations and you had a pleasant stay.
We try our best to provide a high standard of customer service so for this reason we are happy that our team was helpful.
We will be very happy to see you again in our hotel for your next trip in Agra.

Kind Regards
Padam chaudhary
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengbu, China
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Pros: good location, smelly rooms, very expencive, poor wifi, service is ok.
Cons: the whole place smells like overboiled eggs. The corridor, the lift, the room. It seems to come up through the drains. Once we closed the toilet lid and door it was mildly better, but still pretty gross. The food in the restaurant is pretty expensive and pretty terrible.

Room Tip: Dont stay here !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gb218161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.1 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atulyaa Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atulyaa Taj

Property: Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Address: 538, near Shilip Gram | Taj Mahal (eastern gate), Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Atulyaa Taj 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in proficiency awaits you at the city of Taj Mahal as you plan and host your holidays, recreation and business trip. It is a boutique hotel at Agra and combines profit with pleasure, style with substance and form with function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Atulyaa Taj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing