We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better if you stayed somewhere else..”
Review of Grand Hotel Agra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Agra
Ranked #56 of 147 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Rooms were OK: good size & clean enough..but there are 2 reasons I wouldn't come back here..the food from their restaurant was awful and expensive (can easily be solved by eating elsewhere)..the real issue here had to do with the attitude of the staff..the moment we arrived there were 3 helpers who literally grabbed our bags from our hands even if we told them we could manage on our own..one of them was only carrying a plastic bag we had with cookies and nuts..after checking-in we even had the receptionist carrying our roomkey so as soon as we got to our room, we had 3 "bell-hops" waiting for their tip..we gave them INR 100 to split and right away a discussion began between them..the receptionist was smarter..he went inside our room "explaining" where the bed, light switch & mini-fridge were located..he announced he was leaving and we thanked him but since we weren't reaching our pockets, he then went on to where to find the towels, sink, tv, remote control, ashtray, and if we liked our beds (?)...we got the message and tipped him as well just so he could leave..they said they had WiFi but not working at the moment (network company's fault) but that we could use the Business Center where they obviously charged a ridiculous rate (INR 2 per minute if I remember well)...good thing we were only there for 1 night..

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buquing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

Why do operators spend so much time putting up a hotel complex but try to get chintzy on maintaining the premises? WiFi is advertised even though it apparently hasn't worked in months. Supper buffet was bland. Located out in the middle of nowhere and a 200m walk to the nearest shop.
But the biggest disappointment was the bar service; with virtually every transaction, the waiters tipped themselves - one day I ordered a Kingfisher beer for Rs180, gave them a Rs500 note, and after I'd walked away I realised that they only gave me back Rs300. Next day a friend of mine did the same but they only gave him back Rs200. Must be nice to have a job where you keep whatever you think your service was worth.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperDave47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

The rooms are large with shared balcony that extends to entire floor.

Wifi was unavailable, front desk said it was down and repairman was away, would not be available for the next few days.

Blackouts that lasted 5 mins each.

Clean and the usual amenities were in place.

OK if you are not picky.

Breakfast was decent with the usual buffet.

Quiet and away from the shopping areas but only 10 mins away.

Property is rundown but that is India for you.

Heater had some problems and staff gave a shrug and was helpless to fix it.

It seems the electrical strip is faulty.

Hotel staff insisted that there is only 1 heater but did not problem solve.

He came back with a new strip but expected a tip.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed 2 nights in Dec during our family vacation. Chose this hotel due to good experience after staying in Kochin Grand Hotel but were slightly disappointed.

Hotel is rather old property that has seen little refurbishment. One of the 2 rooms we got was a rather large room with 3 beds and the other was rather cramped.

Food was average at best but was more than made up for by the ever friendly and helpful restaurant manager. Other staff were also helpful such as the guy manning the laundry room as well as front desk staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaya99_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

we initially planned to stay here for two nights but moved out after one to Trident.. if we had our way, we would have moved out even sooner.. here's why you should stay away from Grand Hotel:
1. Rooms:
- Wi-fi doesn't work and the staff has no clue why/ when will it work
- Intercom was dead, there was no way to contact the staff and even for a bottle of water, we had to go all the way down to the reception
- No other phone
- No English channels on TV, no listing of channels anywhere either
- Dirty sheets with mud and spots
- Poor heating/ room temperature control - it was a cold night and i couldn't sleep at all
- limited toiletries even for a double room

2. Staff:
- Very cold and indifferent.

3. Service:
- Very very slow

4. Food:
- they put a lot of oil and spices in everything
- breakfast: coffee and all vegetables were cold and appeared stale

5. Value for money:
For 5 grand plus a night, the place is an absolute rip off and quite a turn off!

If you are in Agra, pamper yourself and go stay in one of the 5 stars.. you won't regret!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vartika36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We only stayed for an hour. The room was uncomfortable and the sheets were dirty.
I had the feeling the whole time that we were there that the staff wanted to get as much money out of us as they could.
My other half was unwell and when we discovered that there were no channels in English on the TV we took a taxi to Delhi. Also the wifi didn't work and we couldn't get phone reception.
I now understand why The Rough Guide recommends using the 5* hotels in Agra.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Hotel was very difficult to find. We passed it 3 times but no lighted signage. I was with a party of 2. The desk clerk came with us to the room along with the guy brining the luggage. I gave tip for both party to the clerk since he wouldnt leave and than goes to the other party thats with us and did samething. After that the luggage guy comes and wanted money too and got from both parties. The breakfast was okay and the room were decent but clean.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krishna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Avalon Taj
Hotel Avalon Taj
#22 of 147 in Agra
362 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Taj Inn
Hotel Taj Inn
#32 of 147 in Agra
282 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
#15 of 147 in Agra
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Usha Kiran Palace Hotel & Tower
2.9 mi away
Hotel Alleviate
Hotel Alleviate
#31 of 147 in Agra
241 reviews
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Agra

Address: 137 Station Road, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 147 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: £30 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Agra 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of beautifully landscaped lawns lies a colonial structure whose name aptly complements its Grand style. The Grand Hotel Agra graciously combines old world charm with modern day luxury. We ensure you a truly unforgettable experience through our warm and efficient service and a friendly atmosphere with sheer comfort at most affordable tariff.Located close to the Taj Mahal and a short distance from the city’s other famous attractions, the Grand is a delightful blend of an ideal location with a pleasing ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agra Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing