We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A middle of the road hotel”
Review of Hotel Ganga Ratan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ganga Ratan
Ranked #104 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 28 October 2008

I can't say I found anything really wrong with this hotel, or anything really positive about it either! The rooms were reasonably large, the air conditioning worked, and the staff were OK. The only complaint I have is that breakfast was a bit chaotic and it took about 45 minutes just to get some toast.

On the plus side, it was near the ATMs, coffee shops, some restuarants, and internet places. I probably wouldn't have stayed there by choice but since it was all part of my tour I didn't get a choice.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgblai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2008

I really don't like this hotel. All of facilities looks old and not clean, especially sheet and bathroom was very dirty. Furthermore, the water was not hot enough when I took shower.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2008

Pros: great restaurant, staff was responsive at claim of dirty sheets and they were chaged ASAP.

Cons: The place was dated and the room was not very clean. It had a funny smell and lots of mosquitos. I would look for a better place to stay in this price range Rs 2300, but if your desparate you will get a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texas_n_Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2007

This was the only city in Agra that we hadn't pre booked a Hotel in - and were we sorry!
This was a large rambling overpriced hotel, devoid of atmosphere, fairly dingy corridors, rooms not too bad all of which would have been quite bearable if not for the overpowering smell of drains,sewerage or both that crept in everywhere.
It was made worse by the management"s futile attempts at disguising it with strong smelling camphor balls in all the rooms - what a cocktail!
We felt a bit sorry for them as presumably the Agra drainage system isn't the hotel's responsibility - but I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harryhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2007

I stayed in this hotel just a couple of days back. Firstly their room service was painfully slow. I ordered a chicken sandwich and after apporimately 30 mins I was informed that the hotel didnt have the required ingredients. But the worst was yet to come, we were harrased by the hotel staff at the time of check out, coz their check in procedures were not right. We were travelling with a 80 year old woman. Their staff was rude and I had the most harrowing time of my life during this stay. I will recommend these guys to do a crash course in hospitality and start respecting their guests. And I would like to request the travellers to keep away from this hotel coz these guys can be dangerous.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank mrs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2007

This is a value-for-money hotel. It's very close to the Taj Mahal, the rooms are large and have modern TVs. Bathrooms are shabby, but clean, and the staff are wonderfully helpful. Price is about USD 23 per night.

The great thing about this hotel is the staff. They are genuinely solicitous and kind. I had trouble with hot water the first night and the staff went out of their way to help. Within minutes they had the hotel plumber and electrician in my room trying to fix the problem.

I never obtained really hot water but the nice attitude of the staff has remained in my mind as a feature of the hotel.

This hotel was sold to me by a shonky travel agent (Travel Dreamz in Channah Market area of Delhi, don't deal with them) as a 4-star hotel. It wasn't by any means a 4-star...maybe a 2.5 star.

Nonetheless, I recommend it to people planning their own trip who are looking for a comfortable, decent and cheap hotel within a few hundred metres of the Taj Mahal.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Here'n'There
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank マッキー1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Madhushrie
Hotel Madhushrie
#60 of 142 in Agra
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prema Palace
Hotel Prema Palace
#58 of 142 in Agra
8 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Taj Inn
Hotel Taj Inn
#32 of 142 in Agra
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taj Villa
Taj Villa
#29 of 142 in Agra
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Taj Galaxy
Hotel Taj Galaxy
#37 of 142 in Agra
197 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Avalon Taj
Hotel Avalon Taj
#20 of 142 in Agra
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ganga Ratan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ganga Ratan

Address: Fatehabad Road | Tourist Complex Area, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: £14 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ganga Ratan 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ganga Ratan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganga Ratan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing