We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Utkarsh Vilas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Utkarsh Vilas
Ranked #106 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Mumbai
1 review
“poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

service part of utkarsh vilas was a absolute nightmare .even petty requests were not being honoured . the hotels claims to be 4 star but its service is below average .it has two positive points only . one is the property is clean and second its md is courtious .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Ranjit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    48
    86
    45
    53
See reviews for
65
99
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

The foyer and dining area of this hotel have been upgraded but the rooms are shabby. We were a group of 5 people so had 3 rooms. The furniture is old and tired. None of the fridges worked and when we reported this to reception, we were told that they weren't fridges; they were mini bars and their mini bars are at room temperature. What??!! They had ice boxes at the top and there was nothing in them anyway so how were they mini bars?! Our room overlooked disgustingly dirty, vacant land. The food was very average which was unusual for India. Almost every other hotel we stayed in, (even budget hotels), served excellent food. We arrived down for breakfast after the peak hour and there was little choice left. There was no effort made to replenish anything for us. I couldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m0dam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

The first impression to the hotel was cold and old. For a four star hotel the overall condition did not live up to its billing. As for the room, the bed was hard, there was no free water. Ottle, the tea/coffee set was incomplete, the TV reception was mostly snowy, and worse, there was no WIFI. The lights on the corridor were too dimmed and worse, I didn't see other guests (considering it was on Holiday season). The foods were nice, but again, the restaurant ambient was cold and looked 'abandoned'. It was sad to know that they couldn't provide free water either during the meal time. So, I would not recommend this hotel for those who wish to stay in Agra, unless the hotel is willing to upgrade their service and "four star" facilities.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sib0nt0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed for one night and was booked as part of a tour.
Was welcomed politely and check in was easy. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable.
We did request a wine bottle opener, this was declined.
Food was below par for india standards particularly the buffet breakfast, the fruit was average. We also had lunch which was ok, the dhal dishes were their best!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank panamanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We only spent one night here, while in Agra. What a beautiful clean and well kept place it was. The rooms were spacious and had everything that we needed. Beautiful clean linen etc. The dining room was lovely and the breakfast was really good. They offered all types of Indian cuisine as well as western food, which was lovely. Would really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

My family stayed in this hotel on Dec 17 after a long drive from Delhi. We were in a heritage category. The room was spacious, and comfortable. There was no wifi in the room. This is already the era of inet communication and wi-fi is a come-choose-us thing for accommodations. And the TV stations/channels? no English channel. So the stay became so boring. The food during breakfast just didn't have much choices and drinking water, you have to pay! And there was no receipt after we paid for a bottled water. On the lighter side though, the hotel is clean and gave us an easy feeling too. The manager was very playful... at least to my daughter. He gave her 2 boxes of cadbury chocs. Daddy was happy coz I'm the only one eating sweets in the family. This place is probably for the "oldies" who just come home to hotels and hit the sack due to backaches and foot strain during the tour.

Room Tip: check the amenities with your travel agent when they give you the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hor_heManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Besides the atmosphere of the hotel and restaurant which were 'cold' and non-welcoming, we had numerous bad experiences, i.e. the lifts did not work, the room windows were covered in paint, there was no heat possibility, the so-called basement spa was not clean, no heat and very basic for Rs 2,000 for one hour (most expensive we paid on our trip). We had to pay for WIFI, also a first on our 2.5 week's Rajastan holiday at the cost of Rs 100 per hour which when paid went straight in to the reception manager's pocket...no receipt nor the pincode was given...huhuhu. But the worst came when this same so-called reception manager wanted to charge us 12.5% extra for using our credit card and no charges for paying cash.....(I wonder where that money is now....). Even our guide was so surprised about this enormous charge that he immediately called his local agent to complain. Needless, to say we will never stay there again and no one should either.

Room Tip: Do not stay there, it is truly not worth it. There are plenty of other hotels around that are close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RemcoDanielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.3 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
1.4 mi away
Mansingh Palace, Agra
Mansingh Palace, Agra
#24 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pushp Villa
Hotel Pushp Villa
#46 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Bhawna Clarks Inn - Agra
4.5 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#95 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Grand Imperial, Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utkarsh Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utkarsh Vilas

Property: Utkarsh Vilas
Address: Fatehabad Road | Opposite TDI Mall, Basai, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Utkarsh Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Utkarsh Vilas is located 1 Kilometer from the Taj Mahal. An interlude at the Utkarsh Vilas is truly unforgettable. Enriched by the royal service makes an interlude at The Utkarsh Vilas exclusive and unforgettable. Come and stay at Utkarsh Vilas for a true luxury. Hotel is centrally located and all the monuments are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Utkarsh Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utkarsh Vilas Hotel Agra
Utkarsh Vilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing