We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and convenient location”
Review of Hotel Taj Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Taj Plaza
Ranked #100 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The best part about the Hotel Taj is its location. It is along the green eastern entrance to the Taj, both a relaxing walk to the Taj and blissfully away from the rest of Agra. The staff were nice enough. The restaurant provided calories... about all to say there. The room was a little dirty and dingy but not particularly different than other hotels in this price range in touristy locations. For the price, it is a good value.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lilacs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

My daughter and I stayed one night at the Taj Plaza in January. We found the hotel staff unfriendly and the rooms very scruffy. The location of the hotel is good for entrance to the Taj. Just a five minute walk to the ticket office and a ten minute walk to the East Gate. The noise level at night was incredible. Construction next door, dogs barking, street noise and hotel noise, people shouting, slamming doors, etc. Wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We had a VIP suite on the top floor next to the restaurant which fortunately was not very busy and so did not disturb us. The view from the rooms was very good but the windows were not very clear to take photos through. The rooms were good but the hotel has a bit of an outdated and rundown air. The hotel staff carried our bags as there is no elevator. We had room service and became in a disagreement between the kitchen and the front desk as to charging the food to our room - in the end it was added to our room bill. The disappointment was the bathroom which had a cracked bath, luke warm water in the shower and a very smelly drain.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanleeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The hotel had a very good location. You could see the taj mahal from our room. Although it was misty both mornings, you could definately see the outline. Obviously it is a very busy location with tourists all overy the world coming here. The rooms were adequate for our stay of 2 nights. We didn`t eat at the hotel, as our driver took us out to other restaurants. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shreevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

This hotel has a lot of positives. It is in a good location, the staff are friendly and it is quite good value. The bathroom was fine and the shower worked well with sufficient hot water. Our room had a view of the Taj which was lovely as that is the reason we were in Agra after all.
On the negative side, the beds were not very comfy and had these old blankets on them which I am convinced were not cleaned regularly so I would not have wanted to stay too long simply because of this.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kat1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Getting there from the train station was an adventure, (if coming by auto rickshaw, would suggest you say "VIP Road, close to Amerilas/Oberoi Hotel") but once we were there, it was fine. The view of the Taj is surreal and lovely. The room was more clean than dirty and the restaurant downstairs was convenient with charming service. Bathroom was basic, but everything worked. There was no wi-fi as advertised and internet was extra. The hotel service team was very helpful and not pushy. We also had a massage onsite from a sweet husband and wife from Kerala and it was okay.

Room Tip: Room 403 had view of Taj.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anita-msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I stayed here twice - once in the priciest room and once in the cheaper room. There is quite a bit of difference between the two rooms. The cheaper room was not as clean and the mattresses were really, really thin. While it's nice to be so close to the Taj Mahal, it was somewhat unnecessary. Given that you're likely to visit the Taj Mahal only once, it's not such a big deal to make sure you stay close. There are times in India (January, especially) were you can't see the Taj in the morning from the breakfast nook of this hotel because of the fog. So if I we were going again in January, I would probably opt for the cheeper room or stay further away from the Taj so that I'm not paying for the proximity to it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Whinniekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.3 mi away
Optimum Sheela Inn @ Taj
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sheela
Hotel Sheela
#68 of 143 in Agra
576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saniya Place
Hotel Saniya Place
#102 of 143 in Agra
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#56 of 143 in Agra
391 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#35 of 143 in Agra
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#32 of 143 in Agra
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taj Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taj Plaza

Address: Fatehabad Road | Near Hotel the Oberoi Amar Vilas, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: £9 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Taj Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Taj Plaza offers 40 rooms which are divided into three categories i.E. Taj Facing Deluxe Room, Deluxe A/C Room and Non AC Room. The rooms are spacious and offer a beautiful view of the famous Taj Mahal to make your stay memorable. The hotel has a multi cuisine restaurant, Magic of Spice where guests can treat their taste buds with Indian, Chinese, Continental and Mughlai delicacies. There is a 24 hours Coffee N Taj Rooftop restaurant and Bar-Be-Que where comfort and taste come together in delectable food and gracious surroundings. Hotel Taj Plaza provides 24-hour a day, 7 days a week services of qualified personnels on duty at the front desk in the reception area. Also, qualified staff members are always alert and available to guests, walk-ins and attending telephone calls from all over the world 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Hotel has a well-equipped lobby with comfortable sitting area. A well established travel desk is committed to fulfill the travel requirements of guests. 24 hours power backup is provided for electricity outages. Guests can avail 24 hours personalized room service for a great stay experience. There is a nearby ATM cash machine for the convenience of guests. All major credit cards are acceptable and foreign currency exchange services is also available. A well spacious conference and banquet hall is available that can accommodate 10 to 100 people at a time. Various other facilities provided by the hotel are luggage deposit, internet station, family reading room, car parking, daily newspaper, laundry and dry cleaning, telephone and baby sitting services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Taj Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing