We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Clean room Not so great service”
Review of Hotel Taj Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Taj Plaza
Ranked #88 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Hyderabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Location Clean room Not so great service”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Unfortunately our Rickshaw walla had no clue about this place so we had a lot of trouble locating the hotel. After much trouble as we felt relieved we were asked to produce our address proofs, usually hotels would accept our pancards and be happy with it but they insisted on both of us producing our address proof. My husband had his handy but I had to dig mine out of my laptop. All the while I was worried that we might have to turn back and would loose money. Thankfully the lady at the reception found a pendrive so that she could print it. We do understand that they have to follow rules but seriously could we have atleast been shown our rooms!!
With this disappointment on our minds we went upto our room on second floor. I don't usually require hot water so can not comment on availability but we were happy to find clean room and bathroom. Now it was not a sparkly room the fixtures were old but the upkeep was decent. You can't expect much at the price we paid.
The linen was clean but still had a few stains. We also found quite a few black ants crawling on our bed the next day. Still it was a good accommodation.
The winning point of the hotel is its location-around 600m from taj and an awesome view from its roof top. We had a chowmein after we had just arrived and did not find it good but our lunch the next day was quite good and decently priced though you can definitely find cheaper places nearby but the view and breeze was worth it along with tasty food.

They also serve Beer but that's it for liquor, I can't tell you if they actually manage to keep it chilled.

I would recommend this hotel for a cheap clean stay close to taj and if you do book it do spend time on the roof top.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    153
    139
    77
    71
See reviews for
110
195
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

I booked by Internet
Because this hotel's facillities are
•hot shower
•air condition

But hot shower couldn't use!
First day hotel staff say
'We can turn on boiler anytime if you want to use hot shower'
But after 10 minutes,he said
'Boiler doesn't work,so no hot shower. Tomorrow we repair it.'
Next day,hotel staff didnt repair!!
So I couldn't also use hot shower.
This hotel told a lie for us!
It's so incredible!
Hotel information by Agoda and hotel information card write down hot shower about the facilities.
It's too bad, no good service.
Linen and towels are so dirty!
Especially ,towels are wet and smelly.
Water in washstand is smelly and salty! I didn't use it any more for my health.
I don't recommend this hotel!
You should choose another hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miffykuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

TLV
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Even though the location is close to the Taj Mahal and the view is nice from the rooftop, every single other part of this hotel is NOT nice. The staff wasn't friendly or helpful at all in terms of buying tickets to Taj or anything else in Agra. The room was moldy and smelly- walls with black mold all over. The bathroom was so gross - we didn't' want to touch anything- the faucets, spigots were all old and moldy. Since we arrived so late at night from the train we didn't have the time/energy to switch hotels if we were going to wake up for sunrise at the Taj and we only stayed one miserable night.
The rooftop offers a nice view, but the rooftop itself has nothing else to offer- the chairs are uncomfortable, bugs are everywhere, its dirty and the food was terrible.
If you can avoid staying here- DO IT. Its worth staying a little further from the Taj to have a more decent standard for hotel.
For the price you would expect something better.
Not worth it. Highly recommend NOT staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The hotel has a great view from the roof top terrace and is only 600 meters away from the East Gate of the Taj Mahal and only 2 minutes from the ticket office and nowadays there is a free shuttle service from the ticket office to the entrance of the Taj Mahal, thus, the location is great! The food was delicious and the staff very friendly. The rooms a simple but clean and the value for money is very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz-Freddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in August. We had taken the Non AC Deluxe room. First night we were given Room 302. This room was clean, spacious and very nice. There is a double bed and a coffee table with 2 single sofas present and a TV set. Bathroom is a little small. Bathroom fittings are ancient and can be improved. The second night we were given Room 203. This room was definitely smaller than the first one and the bathroom was smelling. There was also a huge pillar in the room which made the size of the room smaller.

Location wise it is the best. There is a direct view of Taj Mahal from the rooftop/terrace. Taj Mahal West gate entrance is just half a kilometer from the main door of the hotel.

The location of the hotel in Google Maps is totally incorrect. Search for Oberoi Amarvilas and you will find this hotel right next to it.

The distance from Agra bus stand is almost 15km and autos will charge anywhere from Rs.250 onwards.

Hotel staff are helpful and food available is good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snehashampur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is a nice hotel with friendly hospitality (just be prepared to give tips). If you get the right room you have a stunning view of the Taj Mahal and it is not overly expensive. There is also other things like a spa but you do have to pay extra. If your in Agra for one night its a good place to stay because Agra is full of deception. Be careful when out on the streets and buying things because they will scam you. A stunning view from the roof! They also do amazing milkshakes. One tip don't leave the air conditioning on all night as they only supply pathetic thin sheets.

Room Tip: Chose the side of the hotel with the Taj Mahal and you will have a stunning view when you wake up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The major plus for this hotel is the location which is within a few hundred yards either way of the ticket offices for the Taj Mahal and the less busy entrance gate. The road is cordoned off and so at night it is very quiet with no beeping horns or noise. The communal parts of the hotel are nicely kept and furnished and the view from the roof garden is excellent. The staff were helpful and friendly and the meal we had was good. The rooms are the major drawback as they are basic and in need of a major update. The bottom sheet on my bed was stained and didn't look laundered at all so I requested more and fresh ones were provided. The bathroom wasn't great. We were only here 1 night , but I wouldn't have enjoyed a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbertH-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#19 of 143 in Agra
621 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#85 of 143 in Agra
379 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#32 of 143 in Agra
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#102 of 143 in Agra
583 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rudra Vilas
Hotel Rudra Vilas
#64 of 143 in Agra
44 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#35 of 143 in Agra
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taj Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taj Plaza

Property: Hotel Taj Plaza
Address: Fatehabad Road | Near Hotel the Oberoi Amar Vilas, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Taj Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Taj Plaza offers 40 rooms which are divided into three categories i.E. Taj Facing Deluxe Room, Deluxe A/C Room and Non AC Room. The rooms are spacious and offer a beautiful view of the famous Taj Mahal to make your stay memorable. The hotel has a multi cuisine restaurant, Magic of Spice where guests can treat their taste buds with Indian, Chinese, Continental and Mughlai delicacies. There is a 24 hours Coffee N Taj Rooftop restaurant and Bar-Be-Que where comfort and taste come together in delectable food and gracious surroundings. Hotel Taj Plaza provides 24-hour a day, 7 days a week services of qualified personnels on duty at the front desk in the reception area. Also, qualified staff members are always alert and available to guests, walk-ins and attending telephone calls from all over the world 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Hotel has a well-equipped lobby with comfortable sitting area. A well established travel desk is committed to fulfill the travel requirements of guests. 24 hours power backup is provided for electricity outages. Guests can avail 24 hours personalized room service for a great stay experience. There is a nearby ATM cash machine for the convenience of guests. All major credit cards are acceptable and foreign currency exchange services is also available. A well spacious conference and banquet hall is available that can accommodate 10 to 100 people at a time. Various other facilities provided by the hotel are luggage deposit, internet station, family reading room, car parking, daily newspaper, laundry and dry cleaning, telephone and baby sitting services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Taj Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing