We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, dated hotel”
Review of Hotel Taj Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Taj Plaza
Ranked #73 of 145 Hotels in Agra
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well located, dated hotel”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed here for one night. Bear in mind we did ask for the cheapest room at this hotel (still more expensive than guest-houses we stayed in); the first room we were given was dirty and had clearly not been given to guests in a long time so the staff insisted we moved to another cleaner room. It was fairly run down but was clean enough for a night stay. The staff were helpful and friendly. The communal areas were all clean and fairly modern. An okay place for a night in Agra. I would rather have gone to a guest house up the road, on reflection. The Taj ticket office is within 2 minutes walking distance and when you buy the ticket there is a free bus for the 500m to the Taj entrance.

Room Tip: If you want a nice room, don't get a cheap one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    153
    138
    77
    67
See reviews for
110
192
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bankura
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

booked online. found no lift/elevator on the hotel and understood that cleartrip.com had taken me for a ride. so i had to be content with a non a/c room (# 102) on the ground floor and was given no refund and poor room service. no drinking water was supplied. bath had no geyser. only one towel for two guests. smelly room. filthy, poorly ventilated toilet. expensive onsite restaurant. feeling let down.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ansu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Infrastructure and location is good. However, the rooms are not very clean and the bathroom too. Food is very expensive with low quantity and average quality. The best part of the hotel is its price and location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Subhamalya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel has a prime location on the East gate side of the Taj Mahal with splendid views of same from the rooftop terrace and restaurant. It is bookended by newer and far more expensive hotels, so for much less you get the same view. The hotel and our room was very clean, the service was attentive; in fact excellent. Thanks to Neena for a clear and professional check in. After reading earlier reviews I was reluctant to book here. But we had a simple no A/C room and our experience was excellent. The area around the hotel is very quiet and calm. The hotel has no lift, so stairs can be an issue, but the staff will take your bags to your room. Wifi is available, but the signal was weak in the room and on the terrace, but ok in the common areas. The food was very good, and reasonably priced, pleasant staff and a congenial manager. We found the beer a tad expensive at 220, but could have chosen not to drink one or get one from the beer store just down the street.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spiritedbolderwomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The room (Taj Facing Superior Room) was good except for the Washroom, which required to be more clean and ventilated. The food quality served in the restaurant was good. The charges for car hire from the Hotel's travel desk, however proved to be quite costly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Raja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Nothing fancy here. The rooms are basic at the most and not that clean but it's a cheap hotel so don't expect it to be more. Yet, the Taj ticket center is next to it, you can walk to Taj East entrance as it is only short walk down the street and from the roof top restaurant you can even see the Taj (not illuminated at night apparently).

So if you're travelling on a budget or are just in Agra for the Taj, then this place is okay.

Room Tip: No elevator but there are 4 (or 5?) stories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baboon15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Agra was my last stop of my Delhi-Jaipur-Agra trip. I visited Agra from 18-20 Oct 2013. The hotel is located on a calm & quiet road and just 10 mins by walk from the Taj east gate. But the main problem of the hotel is the service, which is lax to say the least. You have to ask repeatedly for towels & water. The economy rooms are very small. The hotel has both positive & negatives & probably at equal proportions. But I will still recommend the hotel for the excellent location.
Plz plz bargain hard for everything on the streets of Agra. Otherwise you will be duped. In this regard the fixed priced shops are worse. Always quote 60% of the price they are asking for.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are good. There is a small sitting area from where the view of The Taj is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SumanBag1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#40 of 145 in Agra
178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 145 in Agra
474 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#19 of 145 in Agra
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Krishna Haveli Hotel
Krishna Haveli Hotel
#35 of 145 in Agra
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 145 in Agra
1,534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#83 of 145 in Agra
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taj Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taj Plaza

Property: Hotel Taj Plaza
Address: Fatehabad Road | Near Hotel the Oberoi Amar Vilas, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Taj Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Taj Plaza offers 40 rooms which are divided into three categories i.E. Taj Facing Deluxe Room, Deluxe A/C Room and Non AC Room. The rooms are spacious and offer a beautiful view of the famous Taj Mahal to make your stay memorable. The hotel has a multi cuisine restaurant, Magic of Spice where guests can treat their taste buds with Indian, Chinese, Continental and Mughlai delicacies. There is a 24 hours Coffee N Taj Rooftop restaurant and Bar-Be-Que where comfort and taste come together in delectable food and gracious surroundings. Hotel Taj Plaza provides 24-hour a day, 7 days a week services of qualified personnels on duty at the front desk in the reception area. Also, qualified staff members are always alert and available to guests, walk-ins and attending telephone calls from all over the world 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Hotel has a well-equipped lobby with comfortable sitting area. A well established travel desk is committed to fulfill the travel requirements of guests. 24 hours power backup is provided for electricity outages. Guests can avail 24 hours personalized room service for a great stay experience. There is a nearby ATM cash machine for the convenience of guests. All major credit cards are acceptable and foreign currency exchange services is also available. A well spacious conference and banquet hall is available that can accommodate 10 to 100 people at a time. Various other facilities provided by the hotel are luggage deposit, internet station, family reading room, car parking, daily newspaper, laundry and dry cleaning, telephone and baby sitting services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Taj Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing