We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location, awful bathroom”
Review of Hotel Taj Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Taj Plaza
Ranked #96 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The hotel is hardly a km away from Taj's East Gate. This could be a winner hotel if refurbished and modernized with a reform. Our room, 306, had a Taj view! Staff polite and professional enough. Bathroom, despite hot shower available, had a shared escape window to next room's bathroom! If you look for just a night to drop and sleep dead for a close and easy access to the Taj, than go for this one. Other than that, run away.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Emil_Unzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Derty room with derty windows carten look like never washed before and in the room electronic devices as stablizer dangers for children, bathroom are so derty is not look like from any angel deluxe ac room.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank puranrayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Filthy table cloths (should have walked out then but, hey, this is India). Filthy crockery and cutlery. Food was cold, poorly prepared and we sampled each order before deciding the taste was a warning not to continue !
Made the mistake of dropping in on the way out of the Taj for late breakfast without checking trip advisor !!! Staff seemed nice and suggested we ate on roof top. Nice view. Order took 25 min (only eggs, toast, tea, coffee, etc.) and was cold and incorrect order.
Left most behind....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbournian1950s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Very basic hotel and quite dirty.
Some of the porters were very friendly.
The breakfast was so bad we could not eat it but were still charged.The roof top restaurant was not open and the view of the Taj Mahal was a reason I chose this hotel.
Hotel position was okay but the reception staff did not even tell us that we had to buy tickets in the opposite direction of the Taj Mahal.

Agra is a ugly, dirty place and should be cleaned up as it is the site of one of the Wonders of the World. Very glad we were only 1 day there. We had planned to visit the Taj Mahal twice but the traffic was so appalling nearby we got there too late. The next day was full of smog so views were very disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Very good hotel, very beautiful location, very friendly all staffs of hotel, very testy food served, rooftop restaurant is amazing you can enjoy world's wonder taj viewing from rooftop. Nice experience. Thaks Taj Plaza & Cleartrip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Sailesh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Very basic hotel with rooms and corridors that have seen better days. The first room we were given the door handle fell off - but to their credit they changed us pretty quickly.

Neither of these rooms had any topsheets on the bed with only a very scratchy fleece blanket. It was so scratchy my wife slept under a towel rather than the blanket and we're not fussy generally but it was particularly uncomfortable. Noisy throughout the night too

The only reason this hotel wasnt given "poor" is because you get an amazing view of the Taj Mahal from the roof terrace. Plus you are maybe 500 metres from the East Gate entrance so for a 5:30am walk to be 10th in queue for the openieng saved it from the "poor" but it was pretty close.

Room Tip: Dont bother paying extra for a Taj View room - just get up to the roof terrace and get a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The Taj east gate is the best access - it is the cleanest and the best managed entry/exit point so if you want to stay the night close to the east gate and not pay a few 10s of thousands in Oberoi Amar Villas, you aren't spoilt for choice.

Staying close to the east gate makes sense if you want to visit the Taj at Sunrise.

Given that, the Taj Plaza is located fairly close to the gate and the ticket counters. The rooms are basic and the service barely passes the muster. The stairs are steep but if you can climb them, some of the rooms on the higher floors have a very good view of the Taj.

So I would recommend this place for the budget traveler who just needs a pit stop for the night close to the Taj.

Room Tip: Higher floors with a view of the Taj
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.3 mi away
Optimum Sheela Inn @ Taj
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sheela
Hotel Sheela
#79 of 142 in Agra
573 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rudra Vilas
Hotel Rudra Vilas
#64 of 142 in Agra
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#61 of 142 in Agra
389 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saniya Place
Hotel Saniya Place
#104 of 142 in Agra
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 142 in Agra
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taj Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taj Plaza

Address: Fatehabad Road | Near Hotel the Oberoi Amar Vilas, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: £9 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Taj Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Taj Plaza offers 40 rooms which are divided into three categories i.E. Taj Facing Deluxe Room, Deluxe A/C Room and Non AC Room. The rooms are spacious and offer a beautiful view of the famous Taj Mahal to make your stay memorable. The hotel has a multi cuisine restaurant, Magic of Spice where guests can treat their taste buds with Indian, Chinese, Continental and Mughlai delicacies. There is a 24 hours Coffee N Taj Rooftop restaurant and Bar-Be-Que where comfort and taste come together in delectable food and gracious surroundings. Hotel Taj Plaza provides 24-hour a day, 7 days a week services of qualified personnels on duty at the front desk in the reception area. Also, qualified staff members are always alert and available to guests, walk-ins and attending telephone calls from all over the world 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Hotel has a well-equipped lobby with comfortable sitting area. A well established travel desk is committed to fulfill the travel requirements of guests. 24 hours power backup is provided for electricity outages. Guests can avail 24 hours personalized room service for a great stay experience. There is a nearby ATM cash machine for the convenience of guests. All major credit cards are acceptable and foreign currency exchange services is also available. A well spacious conference and banquet hall is available that can accommodate 10 to 100 people at a time. Various other facilities provided by the hotel are luggage deposit, internet station, family reading room, car parking, daily newspaper, laundry and dry cleaning, telephone and baby sitting services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Taj Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing