We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view at affordable prices”
Review of Hotel Taj Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Taj Plaza
Ranked #108 of 147 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We only stayed here for 1 night which is plenty as apart from the Taj, Agra is one of the filthiest places I've ever been too in my life & having been in the military & to warzones, then I don't say this lightly.

The locations & view from the rooftop is what makes this hotel & nothing else, however the rooms are basic but clean & comfortable & certainly do the job if you just want to rest your head for just 1 night before moving on. We found the reception staff to be perfectly fine & very friendly & cheerful. They also offer free WiFI which can accommodate multiple devices being logged in simultaneously (a common problem we found in India for some reason). We didn't dine here but at the hotel over the road, after reading some reviews I'm glad we did.

Room Tip: Try & get a view on the top floor as the place is quite loud, this should also get you a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Hello I am a doctor I was here in Agra with my wife for holidays. We booked this hotel just because they had taj facing super deluxe room. The receptionists were highly irritating, manner less the checkin time was at 12 noon and they kept us waiting for 3 hrs n during this no one came to attend us everyone seemed very busy in god knows what. Everyone was talking like they don't care about our comfort. Finally we entered our taj facing super deluxe room but it was not actually taj facing we had to peek through the corner of the window to get small glimpse of taj n thats all. The rooms were dirty, the toilets wouldn't flush. The bedsheets were used. There was a battery kept below the table which was of some rusty metal, best part is the room had no earthing. Not at all safe for kids. When ever we called reception we used get to here one arrogant tone. The room service was poor n if we complained anything no one would bother listening. Staff has no respect for women n they consider foreigners as money bank , charge any ridiculous amount to them n still no politeness or courtesy. I didn't bother to argue with receptionist the female receptionist was having obnoxious body odour which I couldn't stand. Clearly these are fraud people, they sell just because the hotel is just half km from taj east gate but there r many good hotels in this area , so Finally we got highly frustrated n checked out on the same day unfortunately though we had booking for next 2 days. But everything about this hotel was so disgusting that we had to let go out money n we went to some other hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drrajeevdahiwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We decided to go with a budget option (by Agra standards) since we were only in Agra one night.We prioritised Taj views over hotel facilities. I was not disappointed in either respect, the Taj views were great both from our room and from the roof terrace, and the facilities were poor.

Room: great view of Taj, dodgy sockets, limited bed linen (deployed own emergency sleeping bag inner and pillow covers), "wet" style bathroom i.e. water goes everywhere and soaks everything, generally dilapidated and needs some maintenance but didn't find it dirty.

Breakfast: toast, black tea, black coffee and omelette just fine.

Service: painfully slow, but old gent who hosted the roof terrace more than made up for it. His coffee had a distinctive, earthy taste, served from a little travel kettle. However, it was hot, strong and came without sugar, so just what we were looking for. Once he knew we liked the coffee we were offered a whole pot to ourselves for no extra cost and were also treated to a lesson in Hindu philosophy. Worth the price of the room alone!

If you want to prioritise location and views of the Taj over anything and can cope with hostel level facilities at budget hotel prices then don't let the rating put you off (I would pay money to stay there again). However, there will be a lot of people that don't like this place and I'm sure you could find better facilities for the same or lower price but you will clearly be sacrificing location and views. Sadly we can't have it all!

Room Tip: We did pay a little extra for Taj views, ours was dead on, probably worth doing given the price diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodInsecure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The hotel is hardly a km away from Taj's East Gate. This could be a winner hotel if refurbished and modernized with a reform. Our room, 306, had a Taj view! Staff polite and professional enough. Bathroom, despite hot shower available, had a shared escape window to next room's bathroom! If you look for just a night to drop and sleep dead for a close and easy access to the Taj, than go for this one. Other than that, run away.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Emil_Unzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Derty room with derty windows carten look like never washed before and in the room electronic devices as stablizer dangers for children, bathroom are so derty is not look like from any angel deluxe ac room.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank puranrayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Filthy table cloths (should have walked out then but, hey, this is India). Filthy crockery and cutlery. Food was cold, poorly prepared and we sampled each order before deciding the taste was a warning not to continue !
Made the mistake of dropping in on the way out of the Taj for late breakfast without checking trip advisor !!! Staff seemed nice and suggested we ate on roof top. Nice view. Order took 25 min (only eggs, toast, tea, coffee, etc.) and was cold and incorrect order.
Left most behind....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbournian1950s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Very basic hotel and quite dirty.
Some of the porters were very friendly.
The breakfast was so bad we could not eat it but were still charged.The roof top restaurant was not open and the view of the Taj Mahal was a reason I chose this hotel.
Hotel position was okay but the reception staff did not even tell us that we had to buy tickets in the opposite direction of the Taj Mahal.

Agra is a ugly, dirty place and should be cleaned up as it is the site of one of the Wonders of the World. Very glad we were only 1 day there. We had planned to visit the Taj Mahal twice but the traffic was so appalling nearby we got there too late. The next day was full of smog so views were very disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.3 mi away
Optimum Sheela Inn @ Taj
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#52 of 147 in Agra
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sheela
Hotel Sheela
#62 of 147 in Agra
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mumtaz Mahal
Hotel Mumtaz Mahal
#64 of 147 in Agra
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#33 of 147 in Agra
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#18 of 147 in Agra
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taj Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taj Plaza

Address: Fatehabad Road | Near Hotel the Oberoi Amar Vilas, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 147 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: £7 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Taj Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Taj Plaza offers 40 rooms which are divided into three categories i.E. Taj Facing Deluxe Room, Deluxe A/C Room and Non AC Room. The rooms are spacious and offer a beautiful view of the famous Taj Mahal to make your stay memorable. The hotel has a multi cuisine restaurant, Magic of Spice where guests can treat their taste buds with Indian, Chinese, Continental and Mughlai delicacies. There is a 24 hours Coffee N Taj Rooftop restaurant and Bar-Be-Que where comfort and taste come together in delectable food and gracious surroundings. Hotel Taj Plaza provides 24-hour a day, 7 days a week services of qualified personnels on duty at the front desk in the reception area. Also, qualified staff members are always alert and available to guests, walk-ins and attending telephone calls from all over the world 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Hotel has a well-equipped lobby with comfortable sitting area. A well established travel desk is committed to fulfill the travel requirements of guests. 24 hours power backup is provided for electricity outages. Guests can avail 24 hours personalized room service for a great stay experience. There is a nearby ATM cash machine for the convenience of guests. All major credit cards are acceptable and foreign currency exchange services is also available. A well spacious conference and banquet hall is available that can accommodate 10 to 100 people at a time. Various other facilities provided by the hotel are luggage deposit, internet station, family reading room, car parking, daily newspaper, laundry and dry cleaning, telephone and baby sitting services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Taj Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing