We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Imperial, Agra
Nearby Hotels
ITC Mughal, Agra(Agra)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Trident Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Agra(Agra)
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$38
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$529
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (821)
Filter reviews
821 results
Traveller rating
274
269
173
60
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
269
173
60
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheritage propertyfour poster bedcolonial styleantique furnitureswimming poolsitar playerrooms are hugepuppet showshower curtainupgraded to a suitebeautiful rooman upgradebusy roadthe ground floorhotel restauranttaj mahalreception area
Filter
Updating list...
456 - 461 of 821 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Very nice grounds, rooms were large, bathroom needs to be updated, no inroom safe. Love the colonial style room which you lock with a traditional padlock! I have travelled to over 40 countries - first room where I had to use a padlock to lock my room!
Front desk service was ok. Pay for Wifi - one of the things that really bugs me.
Buffet breakfast was ok. Decent enough selection. Only tea ? Has to pay for coffee - why? Cups were so small one has to constanly go for refill.

Room Tip: Choose one that is away from the mailm road as it can be very noisy
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IQue8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Being a heritage property, the locks are one of our star attractions. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you,
The Grand Imperial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

A nice colonial style, with large rooms. NO free wifi which is odd these days and the reception staff were a bit surly - they would happily arrange a tax but not a tuktuk - even in the rain we had to stand by the gate and the gate security helped sort one.

The style is quaint, but tatty bathrooms and not really luxury. Breakfast was average.
Ok place but nothing special

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We apologize for any inconvenience caused. We only engage taxis as we can guarantee the safety of our guests. We do not have any control on TUK TUKS,

We regret the inconvenience caused.

Thank you,
The Grand Imperial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel is a good place to catch your breath after visiting Agra, a hectic city. The garden is a real asset! Hotel staff is very friendly. The restaurant is decent enough. Don't let the decoration throw you off.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tosca_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We aim to please all.

Thank you,

The Grand Imperial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The hotel itself is shabby and smells damp, the staff are bored and slovenly and the food - especially breakfast, very disappointing.
I suspect that they feel they don't have to try too hard because people will stay here just to visit the Taj Mahal at dawn which IS wonderful but I wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nrb186367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We take your views seriously, and constructively, We shall look into the matter, and assure you that all steps will be taken to rectify the same. Please do keep in mind, that we are a heritage property, which is 100 yrs old.

Thank you,

The Grand Imperial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

A one night stop off as a base for the Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and Fataphursikri. Very first impression - a step back in time to a bygone era, essentially Indian-Raj era, which goes with the year of construction 1905. Visually, very attractive, the guest rooms occupy an L-shaped colonnaded building on two sides of a manicured and surprisingly green lawn, where a puppeteer and his ?son were setting up their theatre and musical instruments (interesting performance!). Staff were pleasant from the outset and continued to be so throughout our 1 night stay. The room was spacious, cool/shaded and nicely decorated in classic Indian/Raj style with some attractive and I imagine original features. The beds were firm and comfortable, and my night's sleep perfect. The bathroom was 'quaint', and I'm being forgiving here as it had old, probably original fittings, some leaky water supply pipes, and was pretty shabby. However, the bath was comfortable and the hot water was...very hot! We only went to have a look at the pool area which was well laid out and attractively lit.

The bar and restaurant area, again classic style of a time gone by - I had a Pimms pre-dinner which seemed appropriate. We went for the buffet dinner, with a good range of choices and buffet self-serve, so you could freely look at what the options were. When I went to get my pudding, I was flattered and a little surprised to be told that I was very tall and broad shouldered and therefore I must be strong. These little quirks in people contribute in part to why I love India so much. I wasn't offended; it was just endearing. I hope this quality isn't lost as India gathers its corporate momentum (See Poona/Pune, and the O hotel). Breakfast was well prepared for our early travel start, again buffet style with eggs to order. All in all, delightful with an acceptable shabby feel to it. Loved it. Price: part of a 7 day tour of the Golden Triangle and Ranthambore National Park, all accommodation, hotel food, travel and a few other things like elephant rides up to the Amber Fort at Jaipur + guides for £355 per person. So, great value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Being a heritage hotel, with authentic old furniture, we try to take our guests back to a forgotten era.
We are extremely delighted with your review, and look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,

The Grand Imperial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews