We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faded but comfortable and inviting .......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Imperial, Agra
Ranked #22 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Faded but comfortable and inviting .......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed 2 nights as part of a north/South Indian tour between 7 and 9 March 2014 with the main purpose of seeing the Taj at sunset and sunrise

Our room was 206 - The Emporer Auranzeb Suite - on the first floor - which was welcomed upgrade from our original booking - we arrived off the Delhi express @ 08.30 to be greeted by this room - much appreciated and thank you

Entry is via a padlock that secures a bolt across the first set of double doors which are followed by another set - the room was spacious with separate and reasonably comfortable sitting area - there was a 4 poster large bed under a canopy - bedside tables - wardrobe - sideboard with TV - writing desk plus overhead fan and 2 working ac units - a fridge/mini bar - marble floor underfoot - bathrobes and slippers are provided - one issue in the main bedroom is rather romantically lit e.g. a little on the dim side compared to the sitting area

The bathroom is fully equipped and has an eccentric over the bath shower that always provided hot water but at different strengths - however for those with time to bathe the bath is deep and may offer the opportunity for a relaxing soak

The rooms opens onto an open fronted corridor/veranda with chairs and side tables with views of the garden - there is also a swimming pool which was not tried but comments from other guests would indicate it is not heated

There is a good restaurant - breakfast turned out to offer tasty variety plus an egg station - we ate in both nights for dinner - we had the extensive buffet which was tasty with some spicy options - in addition there is an extensive menu of Indian Italian and Chinese options - reasonably priced for the foreigner rather than the local - we ate well during our stay

The staff were on the whole very welcoming with greetings wherever you went - our experiences may differ from others but as with all reviews they are from a personal perspective - there is no room safe but a central safe which we used and our belongings were placed in a laundry bag which was then stapled before placement in the safe

The hotel is setback from a busy road and for the most part noise is not issue but then this is India and outbreaks of noise will always happen!!!!!

We enjoyed our short stay and whilst unlikely to return to Agra this hotel on balance has more merits than detractions especially if you stay in a suite - Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you. We enjoyed having you stay with us.


Thank you,

The Grand Imperial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    229
    154
    53
    42
See reviews for
177
266
28
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thrissur.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I didn't knew that heritage hotel is some place where the management use old obsolete stuff. Room wasn't that great, toilet was terrible, quality of the soaps and other items provided were terrible.

No free Wifi, Break-fast is the poorest of the lot. After having stayed in a good hotel in Delhi we really struggled.

Poor hotel, not recommended. We booked seeing the good rating , however the rating is not a true reflection of whats there. Better avoid.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krisbharath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We take it very constructively. The charm of heritage is its vintage ambiance , which is made up of many things, including the furniture.

We regret the inconvenience caused.

Thank you,
The Grand Imperial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This hotel is visually impressive from first sight. Staff are very helpful and cooperative. Rooms are good and meals are good and varied and served in the restaurant which gives you a 'real feel' of India

Room Tip: We had rooms upstairs - no problem at all. Lift to access rooms for anyone wit a disbility
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nlhAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you, for your wonderful review. Look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,
The Grand Imperial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I spent two nights with a friend visiting from the US. Thought that a 'heritage experience' would highlight the trip.

Pros:

1) Excellent colonial furniture in the room, including a four poster bed.

2) We were given an upgrade to a suite (Room 209)

Cons:

1) Front room staff (the lady) speaks poor English and not friendly.

2) Bath fittings are old world, No curtain around the shower, so the bathroom gets wet after one takes a shower. One has to spend time mopping around the bath area to make the washroom usable for the next person.

3) Tips are almost demanded by the staff. On Day 2, when we got back from the Taj, I was greeted by one waiter who said that he had made up my room and that he would not be around the next day as it was holi, implying that it was ok to tip him then!

4) Like the bath fittings, the electrical switches are old world and can give shocks / damage your charger

5) Was awoken twice in the night by waiters who were delivering orders to the wrong room!

6) There is an Reverse osmosis (RO) plant above the ceiling of Room 209 (suite) which keeps making a terrible din all night long. In spite of assurances that it would be switched off, it never was, resulting in very poor quality sleep and a tired feeling the next day.

Give this one a pass...!!

Room Tip: Avoid Suite 209!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mze100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Sometimes guests forget their room numbers, whilst ordering room service, which results in a mix up .
We do not encourage tipping, and appropriate action will be taken, against the person concerned.
For the convenience of having pure water for the safety of our guests, the plant runs only during the hours when guests are not in their rooms.
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you,
The Grand Imperial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Wonderful hotel! The rooms were lovely, high ceilings and a lovely four poster bed!! They had a lovely swimming pool - didn't swim but it was lovely to sit around it.

The restaurant was lovely, The food was great for a buffet! Very tasty! The breakfast was okay, nothing to special!

The staff were all lovely! Made the stay lovely!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhi9990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are extremely delighted with your review. We thank you for taking your valuable time off , to post your review on Trip Advisor. Look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,

The Grand Imperial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Very nice grounds, rooms were large, bathroom needs to be updated, no inroom safe. Love the colonial style room which you lock with a traditional padlock! I have travelled to over 40 countries - first room where I had to use a padlock to lock my room!
Front desk service was ok. Pay for Wifi - one of the things that really bugs me.
Buffet breakfast was ok. Decent enough selection. Only tea ? Has to pay for coffee - why? Cups were so small one has to constanly go for refill.

Room Tip: Choose one that is away from the mailm road as it can be very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IQue8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Being a heritage property, the locks are one of our star attractions. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you,
The Grand Imperial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
208 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

A nice colonial style, with large rooms. NO free wifi which is odd these days and the reception staff were a bit surly - they would happily arrange a tax but not a tuktuk - even in the rain we had to stand by the gate and the gate security helped sort one.

The style is quaint, but tatty bathrooms and not really luxury. Breakfast was average.
Ok place but nothing special

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We apologize for any inconvenience caused. We only engage taxis as we can guarantee the safety of our guests. We do not have any control on TUK TUKS,

We regret the inconvenience caused.

Thank you,
The Grand Imperial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
3.6 mi away
Orient Taj
Orient Taj
#79 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
#15 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
1.9 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Imperial, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Imperial, Agra

Property: The Grand Imperial, Agra
Address: 32/107a Mahatma Gandhi Road, Opposite Dm Bunglow, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#15 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Imperial, Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE GRAND IMPERIAL AGRA The Grand Imperial is the only Heritage hotel in Agra, and takes you into a world of Victorian Era. The wide arches and the red Lahori brick walls are a blend of Colonial and Mughal architecture.The Grand Imperial offers enough history to keep guests engrossed for days on end. There are special rooms, old mementos, photographs and macho stories of courage and velour that can be recounted over and over again. Located in the heart of the city of Agra, the hot seat of the Mughal Empire, the 100 year old Grand Imperial is constructed of biscuit bricks commonly referred to as Lahori bricks, which were also used in the construction of the world renowned monument of love - The Taj Mahal and the Red Fort. Post World War II the Imperial Hotel, as was then known, played host to distinguished guests such as the crown princes of England and Japan, Prince Aga Khan, Shri Moti Lal Nehru, Mohammad Ali Jinnah, Jai Prakash Narayan and renowned cinema personalities such as Dilip Kumar, Madhubala and others. Its 16 chambers of princess rooms and 14 deluxe rooms are a blend of the new modern comforts with old Heritage ambience. The property consists of old heritage, Victorian style arches, rooms with large areas and ceilings, wide corridors and spacious verandahs, open gardens, etc. Enjoy the Victorian-Mughal Era, in the bar, with its array of excellent wines, and beers. The multi-cuisine restaurant, bar, health club, spa, and lush lawns, makes your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Imperial, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Imperial, Agra Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing