We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way above average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Imperial, Agra
Ranked #21 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 22 November 2008

It was great experience, great for the price in this historic city.

The staff were friendly and were very open to pleasing me. They are always striving to do better.

Staying at the Grand Imperial brought about feelings of nostalgia and gave me a sense of being part of history. To add to this just knowing that this is a heritage property only reinforced my historic and traditional sense. The exposed brick walls are part of the original building, very romantic. The furniture was very tastefully done providing an intimate experience.

The traditional dancing above the pool was an extraordinary experience and took me back in time.

If you are looking for an authentic Indian experience, without the frills of a five star hotel "professionalism".. Grand Imperial is the place to be.

I highly recommend it .

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rdes_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandImperial, Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2015

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your recent visit at The Grand Imperial I was most concerned to read you comment and I can assure you it will be taken up with the team and put to good use in our endeavour to provide the highest standards of service to our guests; I apologize that you were disappointed on this occasion and I hope to be able to restore your faith in The Grand Imperial in the future. Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2008

The thing about this hotel is - it could be a lot better than what it is. Having said that - it was the best within that price range. Its not a star rated hotel but a nice and simple heritage hotel with local people as their staff members; they are nice and friendly and not really trained professionally. Once we got that hang of that - we knew what to expect and after that it was fun.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank skban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandImperial, Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2015

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your recent visit at The Grand Imperial I was most concerned to read you comment and I can assure you it will be taken up with the team and put to good use in our endeavour to provide the highest standards of service to our guests; I apologize that you were disappointed on this occasion and I hope to be able to restore your faith in The Grand Imperial in the future. Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2008

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights -12/31/07 and 1/1/08. My experince overall was very poor. Though the rooms are superficially nice, there are serious problems with this hotel and the management did not seem to care about adressing them.

Firstly, when we tried to use the bathroom we discovered that our door was busted. Opening or closing it required a powerful shove and set off a screech that could be heard two rooms away (I don't exaggerate, someone else in my party had the room two doors down and heard it clearly every time). Inside the bathroom, you will find that there is no shower curtain or door, so everything gets soaked when you take a shower. The bathroom window can't be closed and lets in the odor and noise from the alley behind the hotel. Our sink also leaked profusely, adding to the flooding problem caused by the shower.

We notified management immediately about our door problem, and though they said they would take care of it no one showed. The next day I confronted the manager, Tara, about the situation with the door and the sink. She moved us to another room - where it turned out the hot water was not working. She did not seem to care about this when I spoke to her again, and did not offer to do anything to improve our experience or compensate us for the basic problems with our stay.

Other rooms in our party also had issues - several had problems getting hot water, and in more than one the heat did not work properly.

Needless to say, I did not have a pleasant experience staying here and recommend that you find another place in Agra to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marauderw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandImperial, Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2015

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your recent visit at The Grand Imperial I was most concerned to read you comment and I can assure you it will be taken up with the team and put to good use in our endeavour to provide the highest standards of service to our guests; I apologize that you were disappointed on this occasion and I hope to be able to restore your faith in The Grand Imperial in the future. Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2007

When we checked in we were told that our room had been upgraded. If that's the case then I hate to think what the others are like. A 'heritage hotel' with so much potential but let down badly by poor finish. The room (and the restaurant) had damp patches down the walls, our bath fell over because the wood block under one leg came out, the hot and cold taps were on the wrong way round for the shower. Maybe its funny and Indian but this is not a cheap hotel and has only been open a short time. Breakfast was a disgrace frankly, grey coloured scrambled egg from a dirty pan is not appetising. To be fair, the dinner buffet was good, they had some nice live music, we had a nice four poster bed in our room and it was a big room. But, overall the hotel let itself down badly. With good management and care, this would be a lovely property.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandImperial, Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2015

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your recent visit at The Grand Imperial I was most concerned to read you comment and I can assure you it will be taken up with the team and put to good use in our endeavour to provide the highest standards of service to our guests; I apologize that you were disappointed on this occasion and I hope to be able to restore your faith in The Grand Imperial in the future. Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2007

A bright spot in Agra these days is the newly refurbished Grand Imperial Hotel, part of the welcomheritage group.. While we experienced still some kinks in dining room operation, (badly made fresh lime soda, disorganization in the service staff) these will surely be worked out - we found the overall experience to be excellent - bathrooms are well furnished and beds are cushy and comfortable (especially by Indian standards!). Decorations include both interesting old pieces from an earlier incarnation of the hotel (last operated more than 40 years ago) and modern additions. the two story veranda-ed building, with only 30-odd rooms wraps around green lawn and a swimming pool. dance and music performances are held nightly. The hotel management is very helpful and will organize taxi pickups and transportation around town - very useful and pleasant in a rather difficult town.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank roudland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandImperial, Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2015

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your recent visit at The Grand Imperial I was most concerned to read you comment and I can assure you it will be taken up with the team and put to good use in our endeavour to provide the highest standards of service to our guests; I apologize that you were disappointed on this occasion and I hope to be able to restore your faith in The Grand Imperial in the future. Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: les chambres donnent ont des porte-fenetres donnant sur une galeriequi elle même donne sur les jardi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aline d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fm l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandImperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.9 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
3.6 mi away
Orient Taj
Orient Taj
#110 of 143 in Agra
1,504 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
#14 of 143 in Agra
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
3.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Imperial, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Imperial, Agra

Address: 32/107a Mahatma Gandhi Road, Opposite Dm Bunglow, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Agra
#15 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range: £44 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Imperial, Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE GRAND IMPERIAL AGRA The Grand Imperial is the only Heritage hotel in Agra, and takes you into a world of Victorian Era. The wide arches and the red Lahori brick walls are a blend of Colonial and Mughal architecture.The Grand Imperial offers enough history to keep guests engrossed for days on end. There are special rooms, old mementos, photographs and macho stories of courage and velour that can be recounted over and over again. Located in the heart of the city of Agra, the hot seat of the Mughal Empire, the 100 year old Grand Imperial is constructed of biscuit bricks commonly referred to as Lahori bricks, which were also used in the construction of the world renowned monument of love - The Taj Mahal and the Red Fort. Post World War II the Imperial Hotel, as was then known, played host to distinguished guests such as the crown princes of England and Japan, Prince Aga Khan, Shri Moti Lal Nehru, Mohammad Ali Jinnah, Jai Prakash Narayan and renowned cinema personalities such as Dilip Kumar, Madhubala and others. Its 16 chambers of princess rooms and 14 deluxe rooms are a blend of the new modern comforts with old Heritage ambience. The property consists of old heritage, Victorian style arches, rooms with large areas and ceilings, wide corridors and spacious verandahs, open gardens, etc. Enjoy the Victorian-Mughal Era, in the bar, with its array of excellent wines, and beers. The multi-cuisine restaurant, bar, health club, spa, and lush lawns, makes your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Imperial, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Imperial, Agra Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing